We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location in Sydney”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Ranked #61 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent location in Sydney”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We had a three night stay , and thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. Excellent pricing, for both lodging and dinner. Quiet room on the 9th floor - only complaint is that mattress was VERY soft - not good for a 61 year old back! Location was perfect - centrally located for everything, especially Circular Quay. Concierge was MOST helpful - service was excellent. Note that there is a strong flower aroma in lobby - may be problematic to someone with allergies. Room was spotless - large tub/shower combo in bath.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTH2225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Bonjour,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth. I was delighted to read that you would choose stay here again and that you were happy with the Hotel’s location and service. Our Sofitel ‘My Beds’ are a feature of all Sofitel Hotels and can be customized to suit individual preferences should you find your bed too soft. On your next visit to Sofitel, please do not hesitate to discuss your requests with one of our friendly Team. Your wonderful feedback in regards to our Concierge team is most appreciated. I will certainly share your feedback to our team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth next time you are in Sydney.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,337
    1,752
    915
    371
    177
See reviews for
709
2,659
398
1,214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (748)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stay here quite regularly, on business. Plain rooms, with beds which are too soft. There's no separate shower cubicle and you need to shower in the bath tub. Call me spoilt but I hate that. However, I keep coming back for one reason - the central location in the middle of the CBD. Can't best that.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy68688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Bonjour,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at the hotel. Our Sofitel ‘My Beds’ are a feature of all Sofitel Hotels and can be customized to suit individual preferences should you find your bed too soft. On your next visit to Sofitel, please do not hesitate to discuss your requests with one of our friendly Team.

In regards to our guest rooms, we do have a few choices for you in regards to the separate shower. We do have rooms which have a handicap accessible bathrooms having a walk in shower and no tub. Another option is we do have Prestige Suites which the tub and shower is separated. We also have rooms with showers only. Please mention this request upon arrival.

We hope that we will be able to meet you need in your future visits. Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
638 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed here one night as we were going to the Handa Opera on Sydney Harbour and it was a 20 to 25 minute walk from the venue. Hotel is also convenient to Circular Quay, the Library and several museums.

We were upgraded to a large room on level 17 with a view out of the small window onto the road at the front of the hotel. King-sized bed that was very comfortable, good pillow selection, bed-side tables with lights on both sides, a desk and chair but no other chair or lounge or elsewhere to sit other than on the bed. The room was very sparsely furnished. Good sized wardrobe that also had a safe.

Bathroom was a reasonable size. Shower was in the bath and had good pressure.

Both the room and bathroom were very clean.

Wifi was available but it was also expensive unless you held the appropriate ACCOR membership level.

Breakfast buffet was excellent with a good range of hot and cold food (though surprisingly no grilled tomato) but expensive at $40. Barista coffee was available at no extra cost.

Staff at check-in and in the restaurant for breakfast were very good. Unfortunately there was only one person at 8-30am on the desk arranging check-outs - quite surprising given the time of day.

Car parking (valet only) is available for hotel guests (entrance at the back of the hotel) but the car park is not operated by the hotel. Cost is very expensive at $50 for a night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Bonjour,

It was an absolute pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth. Thank you for taking the time to share you feedback and I am delighted that you enjoyed the change from your usual locations. It is also pleasing to read that you enjoyed the Hotel’s location and its proximity to various products and services.

It was most pleasing to read that you enjoyed your Sofitel experience and that you had a comfortable stay. The ‘My Bed’ is a brand standard in all Sofitel Luxury Hotels and we are very happy that you liked it.

I appreciate your feedback in regards to the carparking charges at the hotel. Unfortunately the carparking company is separately owned and operate. We do not have any control of the charges and operations but we will certainly share your feedback with them.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The Wentworth was a great place to stay. It was central, a 10 min walk from the Airport train (at St James), 10 minutes from Circular Quay and 10 from the NSW Art Gallery. Reception and Concierge staff were helpful and efficient and really friendly. The bed was comfortable and we found the free WiFi very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Footlloose31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Bonjour,

I was absolutely delighted to read your comments regarding your recent stay, particularly those regarding our Reception and Concierge team. am also glad that the Hotel’s location was suitable for your visit. At Sofitel Sydney Wentworth we constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and it was most pleasing to read of your satisfaction.

I am grateful for you taking the time to write about your Sofitel experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Have stayed at the Sofitel Sydney Wentworth twice this year. First time the room smelt strongly of paint fumes, we informed reception and were moved within half an hour.
Second visit room was fine.
Beds are comfortable.
Buffet breakfast is good with a nice view to the front of the building across gardens.
The location is perfect for tourist's and business people as the hotel is right in the middle of the Sydney CBD.
Parking station under building with concierge to park and return car.

I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkF54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Bonjour,

It was an absolute pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth. Thank you for taking the time to share you feedback and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. It is also pleasing to read that you enjoyed the Hotel’s location and its proximity to various products and services.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

4 reasons why this hotel is not a 5 star hotel:

1) Room
The rooms are dated and relatively small. Especially the bathroom is small and the doors are inconvenient. The beds are very soft and when you lie down you sink. Poor soundproofing of the doors to the hallway as well as the windows to the road where noisy busses drive by.

2) Room facilities
Poor TV - poor channel selection - for example no CNN or BBC and worst of all terrible picture quality. Makes you wonder what signal they are using.
No complementary in room water bottle at your bedside. This is almost standard now with 5 star hotels around the world. Off course one is welcome to spend 9 dollars for the Evian bottle which Sofitel has strategically placed next to the bed.
Terrible / slow WIFI quality.
My mini bar was not restocked once in my 3 night stay.

3) Breakfast
Selection is good if you take the full buffet selection at 40 dollars. Overall Service is fine as well. However don't be surprised if you end up standing in line to get in as the registration process is very slow and inefficient. Not acceptable to guests regardless if you are a business man in a hurry or a family with small kids.

4) Fitness
Average facilities and equipment at best. Little room and lots of equipment crammed into a small space. But worst if all the opening hours. When I arrived on Sunday opening hours were only from 9am until 12 noon! Sorry Sofitel - this is not good enough.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthias W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Bonjour,

Thank you again for taking the time to write. It is through feedback such as yours that we can improve our offering for our future guest. I hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We took a mystery booking with wot if last fri our wedding anniversary we had heard great reports of mystery bookings from family and friends.so we booked fri morning for that night when we got hotel went on line to check it out. I found this review looked up how to cancel but because hotel did not send booking confirmation to my email address could not find out there cancelation policy so went with the romance of the day. Very disappointed yes small room with bathroom in a cupboard and a very bad smell to the room.told reception at check out so next guest didn't have problem.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Bonjour,

Thank you for your feedback during your recent stay at the hotel. I apologize for your experience and I will certainly share your feedback with our Reservations Manager.

In regards to your reservations with Wotif which is an online reservations, the terms and conditions of the reservations is sent to you with your confirmation. Most reservations have a cancellation policy and normally with online reservations such as Wotif, reservations once booked and paid are non refundable and non transferrable. I will certainly have our Reservations Manager share your feedback directly with Wotif.

It is also advisable if you ae celebrating a special occasion to give the hotel a call directly or advise us on check in and we will do our best to provide you with a memorable experience such as a complimentary upgrade or amenity for your special occasion which we have done to a lot of our guests. I am very sorry if you were not offered this during your visit.

Thank you once again for your feedback. We look forward to your next visit.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#25 of 178 in Sydney
4,370 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#34 of 178 in Sydney
3,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Property: Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Address: 61-101 Phillip St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Sydney
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#32 Business Hotel in Sydney
#56 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Sydney Wentworth 5*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney's time-honoured five-star hotel in the heart of the shopping and business district has a solid reputation for impeccable service and incomparable elegance. The recent renovations artfully combine the latest in modern convenience with the old-worldcharm that has made it an architectural icon. The hotel boasts premier conference facilities,a fabulous health club. Experience haute cuisine at the restaurant or slip into the lounge for an afternoon tea or an intimate night cap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Sydney Wentworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney Wentworth
Sydney Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing