We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hassle free business service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Ranked #64 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Unlike their Rio de Janiero counterpart, this Sofitel excels at service. Faultless from beginning to end. Friendly staff who listen, respond and get it right first time.

Set up very well for business travellers.

Easy check in, looked after my bags which were later delivered to my room with no hassle. Very easy check out.

Lovely spacious room, good amenities, gorgeous comfy bed (mattress possibly a bit too soft for me) and pillows, good desk and recharge points. Wifi worked well.

Bathroom good, bath a bit small, but OK.

Not much storage space if you are there for more than 2 nights, otherwise fine.

Breakfast was excellent and lots of choice. A bit pricey if you have to pay full rate: cheaper alternatives in the neighbourhood.

Not the best location in terms of views or public transport, but easy walking distance to George St, Bridge St and Martin St business locations.

Improvements:
Would have liked to have known that there was no pool :-( and about the gym especially the yoga classes, which sound awesome.
An explanation of the hotel facilities on check in would have been good (location of dining room, gym etc.)

Overall, great and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spikethecat17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Bonjour,

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth and I thank you for taking the time to write. Our guests’ satisfaction is of great importance to us at the Hotel and it is through feedback such as yours that we are able to improve our offering to enhance our guests’ overall experience. I am delighted that you were pleased with the Hotel’s location, staff and dining options and am glad to inform you that we have recently upgraded our Internet and Business Centre offering for our guests.

Again, thank you for sharing your feedback and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,590)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,291 - 2,297 of 5,590 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

After a smooth check-in we found ourselves in a small odd-shaped room looking out through wire-gauze safety glass onto the walls of a light shaft. We asked about a change but the hotel was ‘full’. It felt more like a prison than any hotel we’ve ever stopped in. The bedroom was clean but the bathroom had had only had a surface wipe, with mould evident in tile grout and some sticky mess on a wall. Breakfast was a disaster. We joined a queue of around 20 people waiting for a table, which must be common as the hotel sets up a coffee station with pastries for 'queuees' to munch on as they wait. Once seated we were not offered anything to drink, so after waiting 15 minutes or so we asked, but still waited another 10 minutes for tea to arrive. While waiting I took in the scene, which was strange, as there were plenty of vacant tables awaiting a clean-down and re-set, and plenty of staff to do it. What were they doing? One of us had cutlery, the other did not. No fresh juices. Depleted supplies only slowly replenished etc. - it all added up to a disappointing affair for a 5-star hotel. To be fair, we’ve stayed at the Sofitel three times previously and the rooms have mostly been decent if not ‘special’, but the breakfast chaos seems to be pretty usual if you arrive at peak times. On this occasion it was far from 5-star value. We won’t return, even though the location is fantastic.

Room Tip: Specify you do NOT want a room looking into the light well (what might euphemistically be called the...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petercorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Bonjour,

I was disappointed to read of the condition of the bath in your Room. This is in no way indicative of the standards that we strive for a Sofitel Sydney Wentworth and I have brought your comments to the attention of our Housekeeping and Engineering Teams to ensure that such issues are rectified immediately.

Thank you again for taking the time to write. It is through feedback such as yours that we can improve our offering for our future guest. I hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We had a three night stay , and thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. Excellent pricing, for both lodging and dinner. Quiet room on the 9th floor - only complaint is that mattress was VERY soft - not good for a 61 year old back! Location was perfect - centrally located for everything, especially Circular Quay. Concierge was MOST helpful - service was excellent. Note that there is a strong flower aroma in lobby - may be problematic to someone with allergies. Room was spotless - large tub/shower combo in bath.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTH2225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Bonjour,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth. I was delighted to read that you would choose stay here again and that you were happy with the Hotel’s location and service. Our Sofitel ‘My Beds’ are a feature of all Sofitel Hotels and can be customized to suit individual preferences should you find your bed too soft. On your next visit to Sofitel, please do not hesitate to discuss your requests with one of our friendly Team. Your wonderful feedback in regards to our Concierge team is most appreciated. I will certainly share your feedback to our team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth next time you are in Sydney.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stay here quite regularly, on business. Plain rooms, with beds which are too soft. There's no separate shower cubicle and you need to shower in the bath tub. Call me spoilt but I hate that. However, I keep coming back for one reason - the central location in the middle of the CBD. Can't best that.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy68688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Bonjour,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at the hotel. Our Sofitel ‘My Beds’ are a feature of all Sofitel Hotels and can be customized to suit individual preferences should you find your bed too soft. On your next visit to Sofitel, please do not hesitate to discuss your requests with one of our friendly Team.

In regards to our guest rooms, we do have a few choices for you in regards to the separate shower. We do have rooms which have a handicap accessible bathrooms having a walk in shower and no tub. Another option is we do have Prestige Suites which the tub and shower is separated. We also have rooms with showers only. Please mention this request upon arrival.

We hope that we will be able to meet you need in your future visits. Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed here one night as we were going to the Handa Opera on Sydney Harbour and it was a 20 to 25 minute walk from the venue. Hotel is also convenient to Circular Quay, the Library and several museums.

We were upgraded to a large room on level 17 with a view out of the small window onto the road at the front of the hotel. King-sized bed that was very comfortable, good pillow selection, bed-side tables with lights on both sides, a desk and chair but no other chair or lounge or elsewhere to sit other than on the bed. The room was very sparsely furnished. Good sized wardrobe that also had a safe.

Bathroom was a reasonable size. Shower was in the bath and had good pressure.

Both the room and bathroom were very clean.

Wifi was available but it was also expensive unless you held the appropriate ACCOR membership level.

Breakfast buffet was excellent with a good range of hot and cold food (though surprisingly no grilled tomato) but expensive at $40. Barista coffee was available at no extra cost.

Staff at check-in and in the restaurant for breakfast were very good. Unfortunately there was only one person at 8-30am on the desk arranging check-outs - quite surprising given the time of day.

Car parking (valet only) is available for hotel guests (entrance at the back of the hotel) but the car park is not operated by the hotel. Cost is very expensive at $50 for a night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Bonjour,

It was an absolute pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth. Thank you for taking the time to share you feedback and I am delighted that you enjoyed the change from your usual locations. It is also pleasing to read that you enjoyed the Hotel’s location and its proximity to various products and services.

It was most pleasing to read that you enjoyed your Sofitel experience and that you had a comfortable stay. The ‘My Bed’ is a brand standard in all Sofitel Luxury Hotels and we are very happy that you liked it.

I appreciate your feedback in regards to the carparking charges at the hotel. Unfortunately the carparking company is separately owned and operate. We do not have any control of the charges and operations but we will certainly share your feedback with them.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The Wentworth was a great place to stay. It was central, a 10 min walk from the Airport train (at St James), 10 minutes from Circular Quay and 10 from the NSW Art Gallery. Reception and Concierge staff were helpful and efficient and really friendly. The bed was comfortable and we found the free WiFi very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Footlloose31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Bonjour,

I was absolutely delighted to read your comments regarding your recent stay, particularly those regarding our Reception and Concierge team. am also glad that the Hotel’s location was suitable for your visit. At Sofitel Sydney Wentworth we constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and it was most pleasing to read of your satisfaction.

I am grateful for you taking the time to write about your Sofitel experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 178 in Sydney
4,419 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#33 of 178 in Sydney
3,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Address: 61-101 Phillip St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Sydney
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#33 Business Hotel in Sydney
#57 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £121 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Sydney Wentworth 5*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney's time-honoured five-star hotel in the heart of the shopping and business district has a solid reputation for impeccable service and incomparable elegance. The recent renovations artfully combine the latest in modern convenience with the old-worldcharm that has made it an architectural icon. The hotel boasts premier conference facilities,a fabulous health club. Experience haute cuisine at the restaurant or slip into the lounge for an afternoon tea or an intimate night cap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Sydney Wentworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney Wentworth
Sydney Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing