We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay in Sydney” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Ranked #53 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent stay in Sydney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Fantastic service from the first time you enter with charming porters to a very welcoming front office staff. Rooms were very nice. I would suggest an upgrade in bathrooms however everything else was fantastic. Big mention to the comfy beds. Awesome!!!

Room Tip: Register as an Accor silver member for upgrades.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Bonjour,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the hotel. I am glad our staff and accomodation rooms met your expectations. We acknowledge areas such as the bathrooms are showing age, this is as our bathrooms are made of Historic Marble. We are constantly reviwing and maintaining these items to ensure our guests expectations are met. Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,229
    1,681
    870
    354
    166
See reviews for
675
2,552
385
1,144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (713)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Vivid light show was on, the long weekend was on and a stay at Sofitel made sense. It's central location ideal for checking out the shows various sites not to mention a hotel of reputation.

Forgotten there was no valet parking and the car park is on the other side of the Wentworth, but were greeted and luggage taken politely with directions for the parking provided.

We were staying 3 nights and as we checked was advised of an upgrade option which included a credit for the bar or Restaraunt for the same amount. Good deal so upgrade it was. The room great and the view and "balcony" was ideal for checking the weather before we went out.

Our room was comfortable with all the fittings you would expect of a 5 star hotel. The king size bed dominates the room, but the comfortable lounge chair ( I'm sitting in it now) and desk/ chair all appreciated. The bathroom had the shower/bath, with the " green friendly" shower fitting that I do not appreciate( well documented on trip advisor - I want to have a shower not a sprinkle. ) the king size bed seemed to have an extra soft topper that made the bed incredibly soft, incredibly comfortable and incredibly difficult to turn over. It was an interesting experience that we still aren't sure about.

Need to also mention breakfast. Stayed at several of the Accor hotels and the breakfast here is outstanding from the pastries, the full frame of honey comb (who does that), the range of choices was almost overwhelming, cold meats including salmon, cereals, fruits, breads, juices, yogurts let alone the cooked options, including their pancakes on request. Should also mention the champagne, bottled flat and sparkling water. Give your self plenty of time and be aware that Accor members just do breakfast here too, not just the hotel guests. We would do it too if we lived in Sydney and coming to the CBD. It was so busy Saturday, yet you still had great service from taking your coffee orders from the table, taking your used plates and making sure the food was being kept up.

The private gym is down stair near the car park and excellent. I needed it from the breakfast let alone the evening meals in the Restaraunt which were also outstanding. We enjoyed 3 courses on both visits and can only use a range of "Master Chef" cliches to describe our satisfaction with our "culinary encounters" .

Our only real disappointment was we seemed to be under an "elephant", for our last night anyway, who seemed to be pushing around a wooden chair on a wooden floor, even though the rooms were carpeted, or so we thought. Go figure?

Room Tip: Check out the deals and consider joining Accor advantage
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyaspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Bonjour,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the hotel.
I am very happy you enjoyed our Food & Beverage offering, something we are very proud of.I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards
Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level Contributor
292 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Sofitel Sydney Wentworth was our home for three days on a recent visit to Sydney. A lovely hotel with a beautiful lobby and friendly welcoming reception. My wife and i arrived a little early but were checked in straightaway. Offered an upgrade with a difference- the upgrade cost was discounted against restaurant and bar costs in hotel. This effectively resulted in a free upgrade for us. Very nice. Our room was comfortable and quite with a classy and relaxing decor. We also appreciated the inclusive Wi-Fi. The lobby lounge bar, Soiree, provided a very pleasant spot for quiet drinks and a range of light meals and snacks. The staff in the lounge bar were professional and friendly and made us feel welcome. We particularly like the location of the Wentworth- a 5 minute walk down Phillip Street to Circular Quay, the Opera House, and great views of the bridge. Some lovely quayside eateries as well. Also a 15 minute walk from darling Harbour. All in all a very comfortable, pleasant, and relaxed stay. Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: Upgrades are good value-for-money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonrock1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Bonjour,
I appreciate you taking the time to write regarding your Sofitel experience and thank you for your feedback. I am glad that your stay was pleasant and the location met your needs. I am also pleased your upgrade was well spent as this is our new promotion available on arrival at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back soon to the hotel soon.

Kindest Regards,
Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

For the price small pokey room shower in the cupboard with mould . View to a brick wall out the window . Only saviour is the buffet breakfast. Small television with out of focus picture size so couldn't see the footy score. Staff were nice all polite.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BBssv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Bonjour,

Thank you for sharing your experience. Our hotel is a Heritage listed hotel and our standard rooms can be smaller than others due to this. We do have affordable upgrades available if you would like a much bigger room.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards
Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the sofitel on the 1st of June for a night,
We were welcomed with a smile by a Frenchmen who checked us in sorry cant remember his name

The hotel is well looked after, and Erkin the GM is a Gentleman

For Breakfast on Monday, The supervisor or Team leader wearing a suit & specs wasn't very welcoming, straight face no smile, head down no eye contact, besides that other staffs on the floor was friendly and pleasant, good selection for breaky and beautiful coffee

the Bed wasnt the best, too soft for us (personal liking)

Well done to Erkin's & team

Tish n Nish

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Bonjour,

Thank you for sharing your lovely comments. I will pass them onto Erkin. I hope we can welcome you back to the Sofitel Sydney Wentworth soon.

Kind regards
Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,045 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#32 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,039 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Property: Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Address: 61-101 Phillip St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Sydney
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#32 Business Hotel in Sydney
#49 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Sydney Wentworth 5*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney's time-honoured five-star hotel in the heart of the shopping and business district has a solid reputation for impeccable service and incomparable elegance. The recent renovations artfully combine the latest in modern convenience with the old-worldcharm that has made it an architectural icon. The hotel boasts premier conference facilities,a fabulous health club. Experience haute cuisine at the restaurant or slip into the lounge for an afternoon tea or an intimate night cap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelbag so you can book your Sofitel Sydney Wentworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney Wentworth
Sydney Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing