We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Ranked #61 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

5,552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,337
    1,752
    915
    371
    177
See reviews for
709
2,659
398
1,214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (748)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armidale, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed for one night and didn't eat at the hotel - too expensive and plenty of cheaper, good quality options nearby. Check-in and check-out staff and concierge were welcoming, friendly, efficient and generally couldn't be faulted. Soiree bar had a good range of drinks, seriously expensive but nice ambiance and service was prompt and cheerful. The reception area was strangely cramped for a large hotel, with massive pillars taking up room and sightlines, making it slightly awkward to determine and establish the natural queuing lines for front desk. The biggest problem was the room, which though reasonably well-equipped, was very small for the upgrade to King-size we'd paid extra for. Bathroom was good, though had a strange unlabelled button near the toilet which we suspected might be an alarm, but were too wary to try out.
Location is a 10-15 minute walk from the CBD, a little closer in the opposite direction to the Domain, Museum of Art etc. Walkable to Circular Quay and The Rocks. 20 mins walk to a rail station (Wynyard or Circular Quay), so need a taxi to get to the airport.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before accepting it. Ask what the scary button in bathroom is for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzCru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Bonjour,

I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your recent stay at the hotel. I have addressed the issues of concern with our Managerment team.

In regards to your query about the "button" next to the toilet, it was used previously as a flush mechanism. Our hotel is a Heritage listed hotel and this was used before. This is nothing to be concerned about but thank you for your feedback.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. I will ensure that your comments are shared with our entire team.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Efficient and considerate check in at 10 pm - Tick
Room upgrade automatically offered - Tick
Wonderful (late) evening snack and drink in Soiree - Tick
Sofitel MyBed - Tick
Marvellous full buffet breakfast, with great croissants, cheese selection, prosciutto, eggs on demand, and European touch of sparkling wine (but not champagne, unlike the Sofitel Metropole Hanoi) - Tick
Afternoon tea with granddaughter (3 years) in Soiree, wonderful attention from staff with geat food selection for her - Tick
Convenient to Circular Quay, Darling Harbour, Pyrmont, airport train station - Tick
Lovely French bathroom amenities (Roger & Gallet) - Tick
Very attentive and friendly staff throughout - Tick
Efficient and pleasant check out - Tick
Sofitel par excellence? Tick

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Bonjour,

It was wonderful to read your feedback regarding your Sofitel experience and I thank you for taking the time to write. I am delighted that you had a wonderful stay at the hotel and you have enjoyed our product and service. I will certainly share you feedback with our entire team.

We hope to have the opportunity to have you stay again at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Just spent three nights in Sydney at the Sofitel.. Enjoyed my stay, as usual the bed was so comfortable. Packed my bathers, so was very disappointed to find there was no swimming pool. A 5 star hotel without a pool, that was a first for me. Good location, well trained staff, only had the breakfast on one morning, but it was adequate. Disappointed they didn't have french champagne included on the weekend, like the Sofitel in Brisbane !!!

Room Tip: I was on the 14th floor, very quiet and no traffic noise ( also chose to be away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BHP534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Bonjour,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at the hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed our Sofitel 'My Bed' which is a feature in all Sofitel luxury hotels.

In regards to your comments about a swimming pool, I am very sorry to disappoint you. Our hotel is a Heritage listed hotel and it was not built with a swimming pool. We have a wonderful Concierge team and they can direct you to places close to our area for swimming or even direct you how to get to Manly or Bondi beaches.

Your feedback is very important to us and I will certainly share this with our team. Thank you once again for choosing Sofitel Sydney Wentworth. We look forward to your next visit.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night over the weekend, booked through wotif.com as a mystery hotel deal with breakfast. We did the same in April and were lucky enough to get an upgrade top the top floor :-) that trip we could fault anything bed was amazing - best night sleep ever! The room and bathroom were great however over the weekend we weren't lucky enough this time to get the upgrade but we were still expecting a lovely room - at first we thought we didn't get a bathroom! But what we though was the cupboard was the tiny entrance to the tiny bathroom, we thought the room booked had a bath but were disappointed - it was room 720, the room was in a weird 'V' spot between two corridors. The hotel is great and the breakfast is to die for. We'll go back but next time we'll make sure we aren't in one of these rooms.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Loomoo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Bonjour,

It was most pleasing to read that you enjoyed your Sofitel experience and that you had a comfortable stay. The ‘My Bed’ is a brand standard in all Sofitel Luxury Hotels and we are very happy that you liked it.

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay. I am glad that you enjoyed your experienced dining at our lovely Garden Court Restaurant.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. I will ensure that your comments are shared with our entire team.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

From the moment we arrived to be assisted with car park directions, to entering the beautiful foyer and the impeccable presentation and hospitality of staff we had a sense of 'a pleasure to be here'! Visiting for our Wedding Anniversary we were greeted with a complimentary bottle of champagne, strawberries and chocolate in our room, a truly lovely touch, but despite this, the accommodation was beautiful in any case.
The buffet breakfast was absolutely lovely .. Beautifully set out, an impressive array of food and again, incredibly hospitable staff.
Quality all round ... A pleasure to stay here!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaybee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Bonjour,

It was wonderful to read your feedback regarding your Sofitel experience and I thank you for taking the time to write. I am delighted that you and your wife enjoyed your stay, our product and service.
We hope to have the opportunity to have you stay again at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wauchope, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Sorry it has taken me so long to do this review ,We were on our way to a cruise....Our next cruise is booked and we will stay here again, just doing the final research ,so started with TripAdvisor ,which bought back my wonderful memories of our previous stay here.
I felt so excited when I booked a Wotif secret room and we were given this hotel, we were lucky enough to be upgraded to a lovely room with twin beds (but they were huge ,more like a double bed each ).My friend hadn't been here before ,(she is a country girl) she surprised at how lovely it was ,she took many photos of the foyer ,even before we had entered the lift .
From the moment we walked in with our luggage, it was her wide open eyes taking it all in . The beds were absolutely heaven ,we had a room overlooking the courtyard ,the buffet looked terrific from our room ,will try that next time .... I wish I had made a note of the room ,so that I could ask to be allocated the exactly room in the future- when we come back .
. Hoping to somehow get the same room . Maybe she took a photo of the door , she took so many pics I wouldn't be surprised! I sure hope so. It was a delight to stay here and we will be back again .

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the lifts .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angelwingsflyys9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Bonjour,

Thank your very much for the wonderful feedback you wrote in regards to your stay at the Sofitel Sydney Wentworth. It is amazing to receive feedback from our guests and delighted that you had a great experience.

Our team are more than happy to update your profile so that we can try and allocate you to the same room. Please contact Lilian Tolentino our Director of Guest Relations on h3665-gr@sofitel.com to personally ensure that we update your preferences.

It is delightful to read that you also enjoyed our 'My Bed' which is a brand standard in all Sofitel Luxury Hotels and we are very happy that you liked it.

Thank you once again for your feedback. We look forward to your next stay.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#25 of 178 in Sydney
4,370 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#34 of 178 in Sydney
3,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Property: Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Address: 61-101 Phillip St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Sydney
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#32 Business Hotel in Sydney
#56 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Sydney Wentworth 5*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney's time-honoured five-star hotel in the heart of the shopping and business district has a solid reputation for impeccable service and incomparable elegance. The recent renovations artfully combine the latest in modern convenience with the old-worldcharm that has made it an architectural icon. The hotel boasts premier conference facilities,a fabulous health club. Experience haute cuisine at the restaurant or slip into the lounge for an afternoon tea or an intimate night cap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Sydney Wentworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney Wentworth
Sydney Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing