We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value plus the extras touches” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Ranked #53 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Value plus the extras touches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Booked a queen room for my mother for two nights for her birthday, at a very good rate.

On arrival she was upgraded, and had champagne and choccies waiting in the room. She was gushing to me on the phone about it, was completely unexpected to both of us. Merci Softiel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D7T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Bonjour,

It is always a pleasure to read such lovely comments about our Hotel and I am delighted that your mother enjoyed her stay with us especially celebrating a very special occasion. I will ensure that your comments are shared with our entire team and I thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

It was a delight and a pleasure to provide your mother a 'Magnifique' experience. I hope that we are also able to provide you with a wonderful experience on your next visit.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,229
    1,681
    870
    354
    166
See reviews for
675
2,552
385
1,144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (713)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Beautiful lobby and friendly staff.
Rooms nicely appointed with the most lovely beds so comfortable. Movies at $15 were a but expensive as not all super new. Bathroom lighting is good and nice to have a bath even if small. Disappointing the car parking wasn't better priced for guests $50.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kylie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Bonjour,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed the service provided to you by out staff and I am glad you enjoyed our beautiful lobby.

It was most pleasing to read that you enjoyed your Sofitel experience and that you had a comfortable stay. The ‘My Bed’ is a brand standard in all Sofitel Luxury Hotels and we are very happy that you liked it. Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. I will ensure that your comments are shared with our entire team.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We are here for city to surf so I inflated city hotel prices are expected.

We booked and paid $350 through their website around 6 weeks ago.

The foyer and common areas are lovely, however that's where it ends. As soon as I got out of the lift on the 16th floor, the common corridor smells old and us in need of an update. We arrive to our room 1652, to find it is heritage listed with the only original bathroom. If the room was looked after and revamped properly it could be a beautiful room but this is not the case.

-the 'original' bathroom has a grotty shower over bath, severe cleaning or regrouting required
- shower head from the sixties not reflective of a 5 star hotel experience
-no fan in the bathroom, after a 5 min shower it felt like a sauna
-no full length mirror in the room. A weekend in away usually involves getting dressed up and it would be nice to see how I looked before leaving the room
-no bedside clock for the morning (only small but expected)
-what likes like finger nail tears in the bedhead (charming and bit from me by the way)

This room either needs a proper 60's makeover or charge far less for the room.

A disappointing '5 star experience'

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Natasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Bonjour,

I would like to sincerely apologize for the disappointment and inconvenience you experienced in regards to your recent stay at the hotel. I have addressed the issues of concern with our Housekeeping and Engineering Managers to ensure that we thoroughly check the areas of concern which you have mentioned in all of our guest rooms. Your experience is certainly not up to our standards and I am very disappointed that you had experienced this.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback and I would welcome the opportunity to further discuss any comments or suggestion you may have. Please do not hesitate to email me directly on H3665-GM02@sofitel.com.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We've got a good deal on the room 160 AUD per night. Rooms are pretty and modern but our room was tiny with no view on the 17th floor. On a 500+ rooms hotel the staff told me they had no room available for us for an early check in, even though we booked 3 nights, coming from a 28 hour long-haul flight I don't think this would've affected them in anyway. Internet is not included in your rate and it's quite pricey. Location is great and bathroom amenities are of a good quality too. A good option overall if you happen to get a good rate.

Helpful?
2 Thank SAMUEL G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. I apologize if we were not able to accommodate you earlier than our standard check in time due to our occupancy on the previous night being full. I understand you were arriving at an early time from a 28 hour long flight and we will certainly do our best to accommodate you as early as we can. In your future travels, to be able to have a room guaranteed for an early arrival, you can pre book your accommodation a night before.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the facilities as well as the location of the hotel. In regards to the internet, we do have 30 minutes complimentary for all of our guests in the lobby and if you are a Le Club Accorhotels Silver, Gold or Platinum member, you are entitled to have complimentary internet during your stay.

Thank you once again for your feedback. We look forward to your next visit.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I wrote underwhelmed in French as this reflects the pointlessness of greeting me with Bonjour when I am attending a hotel in Sydney. It felt very fake and pointless and I wouldn't expected to be greated with 你好 Nǐ hǎo when I go to the Shangri-La in Sydney.
We pulled up at the front of the hotel and there was one person there to great, who was stood holding a taxi door open for someone taking their sweet time getting out.
I had removed my baggage from the boot, got a trolley for myself and was wheeling into the foyer before he came over.
He was very abrupt and seemed over-whelmed and then asked "is that your car". I advised it was and he said "you can't leave it there". I explained I was staying at the hotel and would like it valet parked. Apparently the Sofitel does not do valet parking from the front of their hotel. I was advised to take my car around the block and underneath the hotel, which I did after I had moved my luggage to the foyer.
The concierge said he would have this taken to the room once we had booked in, which it never was and we collected these for ourselves after we had changed rooms.

Within 10 minutes of arriving in our room we asked to be moved. It felt like a prison cell with a small window and a brick wall as part of the view. We were also overlooking a bar, which was pumping out music from 17:00.
The room we were moved to was much nicer and the balcony section overlooked seating and a small garden section. However this was heavily used by smokers so no chance of having your door open for fresh air.
The service in the lounge bar was really slow and I had to remind 2 wait staff twice about how long we had been waiting. I was happy to go to the bar and order for myself, but they advised table service was offered.
The food in the lounge bar was overpriced and when we received the trio of dips, it came with lots of bread rolls and a small amount of dip.
In the lounge there was a customer who was arguing with someone to the point it was very heated. No staff member asked them to take it outside or tried to defuse the situation. I would have expected the manager to have stepped in.
We ordered room service, which was prompt and the food was tasty and well presented.
The buffet breakfast was below par and the bacon looked raw and boiled, not at all appetising. The fried egg was also undercooked as there was a lot of runny egg-white and the hash browns were very Blond.
The coffee machines were confusing and getting hot water for tea just seemed unnecessarily over complex. I had two people ask ME how to use the machine after I had stood there for 5 minutes trying to decider the instructions. Our empty dishes were not cleared as we used them, so they were piling up on the table.
It is a shame that the staff who were polite and listened were overshadowed by those who seemed 'Too Busy' to have to deal with me as a customer.
I could not wait to leave and would not stay here again.
There are much better Hotels in Sydney.

Room Tip: Steer Clear of this hotel, but if you can't find anywhere else then stay clear of rooms ending i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozkaz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Bonjour,

I would like to sincereIy apologize for the inconvenience you experiencedf during your recent stay at the hotel. I was very disappointed to read the comments you had experience and it was very clear that we have failed to provide you with a wonderful experience.

I will addess the issues of concern with our Management team and ensure that issues you experienced are resolved immediately. I do thank you for your honest opinion and very detailed explanation of what you had experienced which is certainly not we would like our guests to experience.

In regards to our greeting of "Bonjour", being a French hotel, our greeting is a sign of respect from our brand being the first 5 star French hotel. I am sorry if you did not like our greeting.

I certainly do understand your disappointment but Iassure you that our guests do enjoy their stay at our hotel and we hope that you will give us another chance in the future to prove this to you. Please contact me directly on h3665-gm02@sofitel.com to personally ensure that we providfe you with a memorable and enjoyable stay.

I sincerely apologize once again for your experience and I hope we can serve you once again at the hotel.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I recently stay here for 4 nights and as a platinum LeClub member who frequents Sofitel and Pullman worldwide I found the Wentworth to be far from the standard I expect of this particular hotel chain. The room is noisy (you can clearly hear the occupants of the room above walking around), the décor is 'tired' and the bathroom small. The shower rose also did not fit the bracket on the slider properly and had a habit of falling out, generally on ones head! To top it off I appear to have been over charged for the stay and have yet to receive a response from the hotel on the subject.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Quadrapuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Bonjour,

I am very sorry to read your disappointment in regards to your recent stay at the hotel. As a a valued Le Club Platinum member, we thank you for your loyalty and our goal is to ensure that we provide you with a great stay. Our engineering team will address the issues of concern.

Please contact our Director of Guest Relations Lilian Tolentino on h3665-gr@sofitel.com to address your issues of concern immediately especially for the overcharge which you wrote.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback and I would welcome the opportunity to further discuss any comments or suggestion you may have. Please do not hesitate to email me directly on H3665-GM02@sofitel.com.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Sofitel Sydney Wentworth is the best of both worlds, in that it is close to all public transport, Train and bus and ferry and also the theatre precinct. My wife and I love the rooms looking out over the 5th floor balcony, when making your booking ask for one of these rooms. The service from the front desk to the members lounge is top rate and you are getting what you paid for. They even have a pillow selection for those who would like something different from what is supplied. We could recommend this hotel as a great place to call home for your visit to Sydney.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the courtyard on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Bonjour,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback in regards to your recent stay at the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed the location of the hotel as well as the service from our team.

It is always wonderful to receive positive feedback from our guests and great to know that you enjoyed the facilities and offerings we have for our guests to enjoy.

I will certainly share your feedback with our team and we look forward to your next stay at the hotel.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,046 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#32 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,039 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Property: Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Address: 61-101 Phillip St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Sydney
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#32 Business Hotel in Sydney
#49 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Sydney Wentworth 5*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney's time-honoured five-star hotel in the heart of the shopping and business district has a solid reputation for impeccable service and incomparable elegance. The recent renovations artfully combine the latest in modern convenience with the old-worldcharm that has made it an architectural icon. The hotel boasts premier conference facilities,a fabulous health club. Experience haute cuisine at the restaurant or slip into the lounge for an afternoon tea or an intimate night cap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Travelbag, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Sofitel Sydney Wentworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney Wentworth
Sydney Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing