We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sublime Sofitel Wentworth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Ranked #53 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
brisbane
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Sublime Sofitel Wentworth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2009

The Sofitel Wentworth is an excellent hotel. The service is incredible, the rooms are spacious and clean, and the beds are some of the most comfortable I've ever slept in!

The sheets and towels were luxurious, the orchids and floral displays throughout the lobby and entire hotel were divine, and the staff were so helpful and attentive. The location is great too, close to the Rocks and all the best shops.

We received a tremendous deal by choosing the Indulgence package, which entitled us to afternoon tea, pre dinner drinks and canapes, dinner and dessert, a complimentary bottle of wine, and full buffet breakfast!

I would definitely love to stay there again next time I'm in Sydney.

Helpful?
2 Thank thriller_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,229
    1,681
    870
    354
    166
See reviews for
675
2,552
385
1,144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (713)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2009

Great Location,very comfortable room and bathroom,friendly service,good breakfast buffet style and room service.Plush lobby and nice bar on ground floor.Stayed here on many occasions and never had reason to complain!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdinburghGraemekidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2009

Stayed one night here on the sensations package,along with a lot of other people.We stayed in a superior room,which overlooked the courtyard.The room was clean and comfortable,and the bed was like sleeping on a cloud.The bathroom was on the small side though.
Our package included afternoon tea,a good selection of sandwiches and cakes,with great coffee.Pre dinner drinks with a buffet of really good hoers doerves.Two course dinner and bottle of wine,and buffet breakfast.All the meals were really good,with lovely service from the staff.
At no time were we made to feel like 2nd class because of the package as one previous reviewer said,the staff were proffessional,and polite,and went out of their way to help.
I would stay here again,and would recommend this hotel to others.Maybe upgrade to club room next time.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jut1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

I have stayed at the Sofitel Wentworth three times when i have visited Sydney over the last two years. On the last occasion i was bitterly disappointed.

My first two experiences were great, the hotel looked fantastic and i was quite happy with the service and decided when ever i was to return to Sydney this would be my place of choice!! (I work for an airline so getting up there is cheap).

On my last occasion we were put in a room which was hidious and a lesser room than what we had booked. The room looked out onto a dirty courtyard and the bed was not the best which they seemingly love to boast about! After further inspection it was a DUNLOP Mattress which looked like it was bought 20 years ago and was incredibly uncomfortable!! (We had a look because we knew it didnt feel right!)

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMCJQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

We checked in at the 'club checkin' which was great, room was lovely.
The club lounge was so convenient as in other Sofitel hotels.
We dropped in to the lounge for afternoon tea, then for pre-dinner drinks and canape's. Breakfast was a little busy but the staff were very friendly and helpful so you didn't mind the slight delay.
it was located within walking distance to everything and the staff were very helpful.
We really enjoyed our stay here and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buddenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2009

Beats me how the room key card has "Sofitel - Luxury Hotels" printed on it. The room is really outdated. The bathroom is what I would expect from a good motel and the room walls have so many scuff marks on them it looks like someone had football practice in here. The desk is pretty small and as the phone is not wireless and is next to the bed, it is quite a stretch to get it over to the desk. We booked a meeting room and were given a cavernous one at the rear of the "Club". Way too big for 5 people. We asked for a white board and even in this modern age, we were given a half-sized one (non-electronic) that they had to go and search for. Not attuned to business meetings, this place. Nevertheless - it still cost us! Room internet access is $24.95/day. I guess most people charge (not everywhere though), but what really got me was when we asked at reception for the business centre to print out a few pages which we had sent to our webmail, we had to BUY extra access - $5.00 for 23 minutes. Almost nothing, if you don't have to wait 15 minutes at reception to be served!. The business centre is a bank of 5 cubicles in a dingy room behind reception, all sharing a single printer. I think this hotel is in a good spot if you are a tourist or have meetings outside the hotel - but for hotel-based meetings, it is pretty mickey mouse. Staff are friendly though.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank afxdes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2009

Stayed with my 2 besties for a girlie trip. Got a greeat deal, otherwise we would have had to skip to another property. Check in was fast, I had nothing to fill in and was given the room key. We were staying on a club floor and luckily I have stayed in this room category before or I'd have no idea where to go or what was on offer as reception told me nothing on check in. This was settled when we went up to the club floor after ditching our suitcases as they apologised and gave me the welcome letter that reception should have. The club floor was nice and spacious with a generous offering of canapes and drinks each evening, and the morning brekki was lovely. The internet was as little slow though. Our room was small, as per most reviews and as there were 3 of us they had forgotton to put in the rollaway so I had to ring for that, that really made the room tight but we managed. The facilities were nice and the shower / bath was lovely. The concierge did more than his share to help us on a number of occasions but reception was a bit of an effort each time I spoke with them.

Also the property is very close to the Quay but a bit of a hike to darling harbour if you need to get there, but we made use of our legs and the monorail so no biggie.

All in all a great stay, you have to make use of the club floor in its entirity to get value for your money as it is exy. I think Brisbane sofitel is still premier to this one.

But would stay again

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ang C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,046 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#32 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,039 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Property: Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Address: 61-101 Phillip St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Sydney
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#32 Business Hotel in Sydney
#49 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Sydney Wentworth 5*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney's time-honoured five-star hotel in the heart of the shopping and business district has a solid reputation for impeccable service and incomparable elegance. The recent renovations artfully combine the latest in modern convenience with the old-worldcharm that has made it an architectural icon. The hotel boasts premier conference facilities,a fabulous health club. Experience haute cuisine at the restaurant or slip into the lounge for an afternoon tea or an intimate night cap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Travelbag and Southall Travel so you can book your Sofitel Sydney Wentworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney Wentworth
Sydney Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing