We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blend between hostel and hotel, lower standard than other Y hotel”
Review of Song Hotel Redfern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Song Hotel Redfern
Ranked #124 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I ve stayed in Y hotel Hyde park and here ( this hotel is certainly lower standard at the same price). Not so close to train station as advertised ( min 10 min walking)

Pros:
-Blend between hotel and hostel,
-Breakfast included
-Coffee and tea provided in the room ( in twin and double )

Cons:
-Facilities very limited,
-Not very suitable as hostel: no communal space communal, hardly impossible to meet and get around with other travelers,
-Very small room
-Noise due too train line just outside ( however not so bad with closed windows)
-Internet too expensive and not very fast,
-Lower quality for the same price than Y Hotel near Hyde Park

Room Tip: Ask for the room not facing the train track to reduce the noice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cezaryfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen P, Manager at Song Hotel Redfern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear cezaryfree
Thank you for your feedback and apologies for the delay in doing this
I am pleased that you have now tried both of our City hotels. Yes both hotels are different in their own right but provide great service. Unfortunately I do agree that Y Hotel City South is close to the railway lines but the rooms are double glazed due to this situation.
You mentioned internet fees being high and after feedback from many other guests we are now providing fee wifi when you book via our website or direct to the Hotel.
Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again when you are next in Australia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

380 - 386 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed for one night only - a Friday in October 2013, as it was a last-minute booking and I didn't want to spend over $280 elsewhere. I paid about $150 for a standard room. The room was basic but clean. The room I had looked across to other rooms, but there were blinds which you could put down for privacy. There was plenty of natural light.

The breakfast was very good - all the standard cereal, tea, coffee, toast, juice etc was on offer in the breakfast room - I had the continental breakfast which was included in the room rate. There was the option of paying extra for a cooked breakfast.

I have no idea how other reviewers could say that the location is "on a highway" or "next to a busy railway", as a search on Google maps shows that this is not the case. The train line near Museum Station (which is about a block away) is underground. It is, of course, in a major city, so there is some general city noise. I didn't hear the train from my room, but it could be possible to have some train noise as central station is a few hundred metres away.

The staff on the reception desk were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnonOzTraveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen P, Manager at Song Hotel Redfern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear AmandaMaree81
Thank you for your feedback and apologies for the delay in doing this
I am pleased that you found Y Hotel Hyde Park met and exceeded your expectations. You mentioned that some reviews had not researched properly when they book a hotel and I agree that this is a common problem for Hoteliers worldwide as people being people, most only want to read what they want and report what they want. On this occasion you are placing a review of Y Hotel Hyde Park on our Y Hotel City South site. But beside that that, I am happy that you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Hotel is next to a very busy railway and a very busy highway. Promisses to send someone to look after the electricy were not followed up. Room is very small. Hotel is just a bit too far from the center.



  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

You get what you pay for, the location is very near the station and main road so if you are a light sleeper then it's not for you. The glazing is good but you can hear the rumbling of the trains at all hours.
It is a little bit out of the city centre but the bus that runs to the harbour is free. It only runs till 3pm in the week except for Thursdays when it runs till 9pm, but the trains and paid buses run regularly after that.
Breakfast is included plenty of cereal, toast tea and coffee all help yourself.
I stayed for 2 nights and was glad I didn't book for any longer than that but it was ok for that time, hotel staff were helpful.

Room Tip: Room was small but I was a solo traveller so it was ok for one, you have train station at the back a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vivs44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My wife and I stayed here (26 and (28) for 3 nights. It is very noisy from the trains and it sounded like somebody's child was being tortured next door. The room was very average and other than the bathroom door being a broken changing screen it was adequate. Breakfast was a huge benefit ( toast, cereal, juice). It is close to redfern train station but redfern is right outside the city center for the metro pass so we could have saved money getting a hotel close to central train station. It still suited our needs but it was overpriced

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We were in Sydney for three days and stayed here for two and it was fine. That's what it was. Fine. Staff in reception was nice and helpful. But one of our rooms wasn't clean when we got it. The bed wasn't made and my parents had to make it them selves.
After the first night and clean of rooms, the toilet in our room was used and NOT flushed. Great.
Breakfast was included, which is a plus, but it's super boring and you WILL be more hungry afterwards.
Oh yeah and the noise from the trains is annoying, but it's a good 'sleeping' hotel, if you are just there to see Sydney.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Was a really nice hotel staff where really helpful and polite! Just a bit far from circular quay than expected which was fine as buses run regularly. If your not a heavy sleeper you will hear trains every 7 mins . . .
Nice sized room clean bedding every day which was good you dont get that many places!!!!!! And could do with a door on the bathroom rather than what it had... Other than that we had a great time there for 5 nights over new year!!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Darlinghurst
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ibis budget Sydney East
#115 of 179 in Sydney
679 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#107 of 179 in Sydney
1,958 reviews
Ibis Budget St Peters
#1 of 1 in St Peters
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#54 of 179 in Sydney
694 reviews
Inner West
28 Hotel
28 Hotel
#25 of 179 in Sydney
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Song Hotel Redfern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Song Hotel Redfern

Address: 179 Cleveland St | Chippendale, Sydney, New South Wales 2008, Australia (Formerly Y Hotel City South)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: £69 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Song Hotel Redfern 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Song Hotel Redfern is located on the corner of Cleveland and Regent Streets a short stroll from Prince Alfred Park. Central Station is just 15 to 20 minutes' walk away and is close to Sydney university and other education organisations. Private Bus Company called "AirBus, costs approximately $15 per person can be used to transport you to and from Hotel and Airport. Please Note: Hotel can only organise transportation From Hotel to Airport. Light breakfast is included in room rate. Breakfast is served between 6:30am to 9:30am DUE TO EXTREMELY LIMITED PARKING SPACES, PARKING MUST TO BE PRE BOOKED PRIOR TO ARRIVAL. ALL CAR SPOTS ARE SUBJECT TO AVAILABILITY. COST APPLIES. (Note: FREE wifi) Darling Harbour is 2.5 klm or approximately 30 minutes walking distance Sydney University is approximately 800 metres or 30 minutes' walk Central Railway station is approximately 900 metres or 15 - 20 minutes' walk Redfern Stations is approximately 500 metres or 10 minutes' walk China Town is approximately 1 klm or 20 minutes' walk Sydney Airport is approximately 7.6 klms or 12 minutes' drive Please Note: Song Hotel Redfern building is located close to the railway lines. All rooms have double glazed windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Song Hotel Redfern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
y Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing