We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real wine experience”
Review of Wine Country Tours

Wine Country Tours
Ranked #4 of 92 Food & Drink in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Your host is Richard Everett, the only Oenologist (or winemaker) conducting a small group or private wine tour of the Hunter Valley Wine Country. His guests get a unique behind the scenes insight into how the best wines of the Hunter Valley are made, with private guided tastings of the top wines at the best & most interesting of the 140+ wineries. Richard conducts the wine tastings, not the sales staff at the wineries, so you are spared the heavy sales pitch of their commercial wines & get to experience many wines not offered to the general public. Morning tea is at the famous Peppers Guesthouse & lunch is at the award winning Muse Cafe. Tours are available ex Sydney or from within the Hunter Valley.
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Richard's bespoke tour of Hunter Valley vineyards was both fun and informative. Richard has the most amazing knowledge of the Hunter Valley and of wines in general, and was able to provide us with a tasting that compared and contrasted different aspects of viniculture, allowing us to raise our understanding to a much higher level! With this, Richard was attentive to our interests and questions and made the whole experience a sheer delight. It was a fantastic day out, and one that I would recommend to anyone interested not only in tasting some excellent wines, but also in learning about how and why they ended up tasting that way. I will certainly go again when next in the area!

Thank dee c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard E, Owner at Wine Country Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Hi Dee ..... happy that you got to understand better the reasons why each wine has a particular personality & appeal, from my private guided tastings. Its after all its only a drink, however with a bit of insight everybody can get a lot more pleasure out of their wines.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
There are newer reviews for Wine Country Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

368 - 372 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2012

Our host for the day Richard was a true gentleman and superb tour guide.

The day ran smoothly and was packed with expert advise, knowledge and interesting incite into the world of wine making!

The experience was delivered by a seasoned pro with a wealth of experience who effortlessly injected joy, fun, wit and passion into every minute of the tour.

The journey thorugh the countryside provided a beautiful backdrop to the fantastic and eclectic mix of some of the finest wines I have ever had the pleasure of tasting.

The venue, service and quality of the restaurant where we stopped for our main meal was second to none and really wrapped up what was a brilliant day.

If you're looking for a relaxing, fun day out with a genuinely top tour guide, awesome wines, amazing views, superb wineries, explosive wine flavours, great food and all round top entertainment... look no further!

Thank ldcnorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard E, Owner at Wine Country Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Enjoying the finest wines, gourmet food & the company of a few friendly travelers in the Hunter Valley Wine Country is my great pleasure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We were given a voucher to spend the day with Richard as a wedding gift and it couldn't have been the more perfect present!

After picking us up from our house, we were taken on an exclusive behind the scenes tour of a well known winery where we saw (and even tasted) wines in the various stages of development. Richard then gave us an exhaustive wine tasting experience. We sampled a truly impressive range of wines - but even more impressive was the knowledge Richard imparted to us. He has a passion for wine and took a joy in answering our questions and explaining all things wine related.

Thanks very much for a great day Richard. We have some wine lovers coming to visit us later in the year and we are going to absolutely insist that they come with on one of your tours!

Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard E, Owner at Wine Country Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Thanks Jon for your kind thoughts. The great thing about new knowledge is that it is a gift that gives on giving. I look forward to hosting your friends later in the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Living in Melbourne I had visited most of the wine regions of Victoria, but had never been to the Hunter Valley, so I was very much looking forward to the experience. From the moment I met Richard I had the feeling the tour was going to be both highly entertaining and enlightening. The smaller group "intimacy" and personalised nature of the tour was a highlight. The visit to Tyrells was an absolute treat, walking around behind the scenes and witnessing wine making in action. The private tasting that followed was a real education - I would never make a wine judge!!
The scenery, the wine, the very pleasant lunch in great company, combined with Richards incredible knowledge of all things wine made this a really great day and a must do again next time with my wife and family.

Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard E, Owner at Wine Country Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Thanks Chris for your positive feedback. I look forward to hosting you & your wife to the Hunter Valley Wine Country when you are next in Sydney.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Going up to the Hunter Valley and touring with Richard was the absolute best way to spend a Sunday with friends. Right from when he picked us up, Richard was friendly and knowledgeable - learning about us, our likes and dislikes and our prior experience with wine. From that, it felt like he really tailored the experience to us, giving all the information we were interested in without ever feeling like it was an overload.

Being given a private tour around the wineries made it feel like we were VIPs - and that's before the tasting even got started! We were led into a private room and given a variety of top shelf wines to taste. Throughout the whole experience Richard gave us details for each wine, by the end making us all feel like experts (although I think I'd need to go a few more times for that!)

Richard obviously knows his stuff when it comes to wine, plus he's a fantastic guy to chat to... combine that with the amazing backdrop of the Hunter Valley and the beautiful wines we tasted - this is a tour not to be missed!

Thank SteveJWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard E, Owner at Wine Country Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Thanks Steve for your feedback. As regards you becoming a 'wine expert', remember that like most things in life, practice is the way to go!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wine Country Tours also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Wine Country Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing