We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sydney Backpackers
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Urban Newtown(Newtown)(Great Value!)
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$276
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Macleay Hotel(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
Cambridge Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$295
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Meriton Suites Pitt Street, Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
7
31
41
25
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
31
41
25
56
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Stayed there for the weekend ( 2-5 march 2012), was the biggest mistake. The room they put me in, was dirty and was not fit to be used as a dog kennel. Could not use any of the so call provided lockers, there was rubbish all over the floor and there was no air con. the room, so it was always VERY hot.
Went into the shower on after it was meant to have been cleaned, and found used razor blades on the floor of the shower.
Also had things stolen out of my suitcase, they even stole my pillow of my bunk.
Don't stay there if you would like any sleep during the night, there is not a quite room in the hole building. The other guest in the place and the staff don't give a stuff about anybody else. l complained all the time to the staff, and got told there was nothing they could do. ( More like they didn't want to do anything.)

Room Tip: find another place to stay
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrew k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Very basic backpackers with shared rooms with bunks with bricks to sleep on. You get given a bottom sheet, pillowcase and a cotton blanket to make your own bed. No top sheet. No carpet anywhere and very noisy both inside and outside the hostel. Inside noise - other guests partying. Outside noise - rubbish bins being emptied and street cleaners and drunks yelling in the streets all night. Not a restful nights sleep.

We had to wait all day for our linen because the person on the desk could not be bothered getting it for us until we threatened to ring his boss. We had an injured person with us who needed to go to bed and was unable to. Not the way to treat your guests.

Paid extra for a double room that was like a cupboard with no window and cramped. Still had a bunk bed and on entering one of the beds had dirty linen on it. So not much cleaning happening as well. No air conditioning and hot and stuffy.

Room Tip: Be careful when choosing a backpackers. The YHA would probably be better as they have a level of service that they must adhere to.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank forestRotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Hostel is in great location opposite the event cinema in George street. You meet great people there and have a good part on the roof terrace which has a free bbq to use. Hostel rooms are basic but have cupboards and locks to safely store your valuables. The 16 bed dorm on the kitchen level has an ensuite and is cleanist to stay in. The rates are reasonable and cheapest in the city.

Room Tip: 16 bed dorm room on kitchen level is best
  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginag108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

This has got to be the worst hostel I have ever stayed in (and I can put up with a lot). It was dirty and disgusting, I was here twice over a three week period and it hadn't been cleaned at all, the dirt was just pilled on top of more dirt. I was frightened the whole time I was here of catching something. Showers and toilets made you feel sick as the stench was unbearable. The only time the free wifi worked was when the police were outside breaking up a fight in the hostel foyer. I wouldn't reccomend this place to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Backpacker25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Sydney Backpackers was a dump. It's got a fairly good location (walking distance to the harbour and most bars), however it was ROUGH. The rooms were disasters, with overflowing garbage cans, and piles of things left behind by past backpackers that were not cleaned up in the 4 days we were there. The bathrooms were awful...I'd have preferred to take a dump in the alley outside than venture in there. Shoes stay on at ALL times. One toilet was overflowing and filled to the seat with toilet paper and it was not fixed for a whole day. As for the beds, I felt safer climbing the Sydney Harbour Bridge than sleeping in the top bunk of the 10 person dorm. No ladders, and a mile from the wall. We also waited at reception for half an hour to get our money back as the worker was on the phone the whole time. Speaking of the miserable people that work there, when we pay for a bus to the airport, we expect it to be there. But nope, we had to pay another 20 bucks for a cab on top of the prepaid shuttle we paid for 3 days earlier. Good luck at this one folks.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MegPie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews