We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a lovely place!!”
Review of Eva's Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eva's Backpackers
Ranked #18 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a lovely place!!”
Reviewed 22 March 2011

After staying in an awfull hostel down the street (G'day Backpackers), I moved to Eva's and thought I was in 'Backpacker Heaven'. I stayed in the Girls Only dorm and had a huge locker in the room, a clean and spacious shower in the dorm, a reading light and a shelf at my bed and a comfortable matras. All of this for the same price as the bad hostel. The roof terrace is breath taking and the WIFI is free. Eva's is cosy, clean and a home away from home. Exactly what a hostel should be.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiekeAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    86
    39
    15
    9
See reviews for
9
85
62
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2011

This was my first time staying at a backpackers and I really loved it. The rooms are basic but cleaned on a daily basis. The people are friendly and the roof top has amazing views over the Sydney skyline. The roof is great social area for barbecues and drinks and relaxing during the day with a book. Hope to return again some day.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joannemccluskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Myself and 3 friends had a great room, a 4 bed dorm with an en-suite. I never saw the bigger dorms so I cannot comment on them. Nice big kitchen, very clean. Lovely rooftop area with great views and a barbecue. We went up there most nights to have dinner and drinks. This area was great for meeting the other guests. Good location, very easy to get around using the train station which is a five minute walk away. Overall, I had a very good stay at Eva's!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sc0tt90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darmstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

This backpacker hostel makes a good impression at first sight. Everything is painted in nice colours. The rooms are basic and clean. No fridge in our twin room and no aircondition in the first one (the second time we stayed there the room had A/C). Towels were provided. Shared bathrooms are spacious and clean, although it may be considered unpractical to have the shower and toilet in one room (so if occupied either way the other facility cannot be used by another guest). The TV room is very small an not that inviting. Considering the number of guests the kitchen is not equipped to cope with that (only two ovens and one large fridge which is full with stuff so that we had problems to find a little space for our own bottle of milk and pack of cheese). The WIFI is free, works however only in the sitting area adjacent to the kitchen leading to competition for the places for those who want to surf the internet or just eat something (to be honest the WIFI is terribly slow too). Large terrace with BBQ facilities and laundry which is nice and as everything else clean. There was no free breakfast as Lonely Planet claims (newest edition!!!). Coffee and tea is free. Considering the price it is definitely no bargain, but overall a satisfying place to stay. The area itself (not the hostel) will bring a bit background noise from nearby bars and homecoming guests, as the area is packed with other Backpacker hostels. For Backpackers definitely still a good choice.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dijon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

we stayed in this lovely hostel for a few weeks and felt directly at home. It is a great place to stay in sydney.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aline58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

My sister, My Dad and I stayed here for 4 nights in May. There are soo many hostels to chose from in Sydney, but i chose one that was cheap and apparently quiet and this was just what I was looking for! We stayed in a private 3 bedroom dorm, with bathrooms in the hallway. Although there was only three bathrooms (they are HUGE!! and also very clean and modern) we never had to wait too long for one, so no problem at all. Our room was clean and the matresses/pillows were comfortable.

My only criticism is that the kitchen was a little too small for the ammount of people using it, and there was no communal area to hang out besides the dining room.. but we spent most of our time outside the hostel so it doesn't really matter!

Staff were friendly, good location, very safe. Good nights sleep. REALLY GOOD thai food around the corner.
I would recommend this place.

Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank hools007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2010

We moved to Evas after a disappointing stay next door at Sydney Central Backpackers and even more horrible stay at the Palms round the corner. Eva's staff are much friendlier, helpful and cheerful. The place is clean, which is a big up, and the bathrooms are civilised and plentiful, with towels provided. They also have the nicest rooftop courtyard and free wifi. Our room had ample light from the window and even the other guests seemed better - we didn't have our sleep disturbed by people yelling and laughing and slamming doors.

Still, Eva's is shockingly expensive for what they offer - basically for our double room we paid $12 more than Sydney Central and The Palms, both of which threw in free breakfast and free airport pick up. We felt like we were paying Eva's the extra money just to be not-crap like the other places, but it was worth it just to get some decent sleep. I would not say it's a great backpackers - we found it pretty average compared to the places we're used to staying at in NZ. The kitchen is cramped and a bit under resourced, although I think they said they were getting a new kitchen soon. The dining area is cramped too, and the TV area is really just a corridor, and has room for about 5 people only.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beezelbubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#8 of 139 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 139 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 139 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#9 of 139 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
The Rocks
Sydney Harbour YHA
Sydney Harbour YHA
#2 of 139 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eva's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eva's Backpackers

Property: Eva's Backpackers
Address: 6 - 8 Orwell St | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Eva's Backpackers 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HostelWorld and HRS so you can book your Eva's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eva`s Backpackers Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing