We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to base yourself”
Review of Eva's Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eva's Backpackers
Ranked #18 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
329 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Nice place to base yourself”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed in private room with 3 people total. Located in the center of King's cross and you can walk to Circular Quay in 20 minutes. Rooftop is a nice retreat. Amenities and bathrooms are adequate. Kitchen and dining area can get way too crowded

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    86
    39
    15
    9
See reviews for
9
85
62
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my girlfriend for 4 nights in a 3 share dorm. We were lucky that we had the room for ourselves, but besides the room was really clean and good beds. They've got beautifull and clean bathrooms (not shared showers or toilets, but a bathroom for 1 at a time. Hadn't wait to shower once though!). Free wifi is great, but the cooking area is small and busy in the evenings.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RickH1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maalot Tarshikha, Israel
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Location is very good, 5 minutes walk to the nearest subway, bars just at the entrance.
The staff were very lovely and helpful, made our land smooth and easy!

The only cons is that some rooms are tiny and not equipped, while other are fully equipped and for the same price, so be aware of that.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yogev A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Location wise this place is great, hard to beat. What let this place down for me was the fact they advertised free wifi but for the entire 5 days it did not work. I kept being told it was a fault with my laptop despite the fact that every other guest couldn't seem to log on either. The staff were simply not interested in working out the problem.
The rooms were clean, very basic but clean. What the places does need is a lick of paint though.

Also, got to add this, the cleaning lady (Maria?) was lovely and added a friendly face to the hostel that the front of house staff certainly lacked.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patroc14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at Eva's Backpackers in Sydney. The hostel had all of the amenities needed - super safe and secure; fully-equipped kitchen; free tea, coffee and hot chocolate; lots of (and very clean) bathrooms with plenty of hot water; well sized dorm rooms with fans and personal lights and large lockers; very close to King's Cross for restaurants and transport systems to the CBD/waterfront; super friendly staff and a wonderful Ecuadorian cleaning lady who is just adorable and friendly. Only downside was that the wi-fi didn't work on my laptop or phone but there was a free wi-fi for travelers shop up the road that worked a treat. The kitchen/dining area is smaller than some but it means you do get to socialise and meet other guests in the hostel. Slightly more on the expensive side but I really liked it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicoleHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is one of the best hostels in Sydney. Although it`s often fully booked, it`s always very clean (they have a lovely cleaning lady instead of employing lazy backpackers!). The staff is friendly and helpful. The kitchen is a bit small (especially in the evening hours, when everyone prepares dinner), but well equiped.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank vomkiezumdiewelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel for some nights at the beginning of last summer. It's in a very good position, close to Kings Cross station and not far from the Opera House. The rooms and the common kitchen weren't very big and there wasn't enough space for everyone at dinner time. There were lots of bathrooms and always clean. Unfortunately, there isn't an elevator and you have to carry your luggage to the upper floors. The place in general was ok and I had a nice stay, but I felt I paid too much for what I had!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viaher-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#7 of 139 in Sydney
276 reviews
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 139 in Sydney
1,327 reviews
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 139 in Sydney
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Sydney Harbour YHA
Sydney Harbour YHA
#2 of 139 in Sydney
1,048 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#8 of 139 in Sydney
404 reviews
Sydney Central YHA
#9 of 139 in Sydney
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eva's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eva's Backpackers

Property: Eva's Backpackers
Address: 6 - 8 Orwell St | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Eva's Backpackers 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HRS and HostelWorld so you can book your Eva's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eva`s Backpackers Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing