We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap price, cheap quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Original Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #24 of 150 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Don't be misguided by all the awards. You'll find gum, hair, used condoms,... everywhere. Staff was friendly! Some bathrooms are up to date, some are disgusting.
When we're back we're happy to pay more for a hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaat86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2013

Got a bad room the one closest to the reception, Had pre-booked 4 nights didn't sleep much. Was traveling for 6 months, I remember this hostel as one of the worst during my trip. It is a party hostel " located at famous kings cross (the party area in Sydney To many "Hey- -I am- so- coo-l I've -been in- Australia- 2- week-s people" stayed at the hostel Staff is mixed. The owners are great. The backpackers in the reception where not that great. Expensive as well, You can walk to the cbd which is good. Bad security no lockers..

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
Thank Jocke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed here for 16 nights over the Christmas period in private room with shared bathroom. Had it not been for the minimum stay over the Christmas period of 10 days, we wouldn't have stayed here as long as we did.

The room was clean enough and fairly sized for 2 of us with a fridge, tv and fan. Our room was on a balcony so our windows had bars over meaning it was very hot in the room all of the time (however safe and secure) due to windows only open a couple of centimetres.

The communal areas however, were filthy. The bathroom was ok if you got in there as soon as they had been cleaned, even though not to a very good standard. I can only describe the kitchen as a health hazard with very little equipment for the amount of guests at the hostel. More needs to be done by staff to ensure the equipment is washed after use as after around 11am, nothing was clean as the other guests had used and not washed up. I didn't venture into the TV room as there was a smell that was that of a teenage boys bedroom.

We are aged 28 and 31 and were ensured that the hostel was for mixed ages. Most were 18 - 20 so would not recommend to the older traveller unless drinking cheap booze and howling at the moon is your thing.

The staff however were friendly and helpful and were strict with the communal area being cleared by 10pm so fairly quiet hostel in the evening.

Also, bit of a cockroach problem in the bedroom and bathroom.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in a private room. The room was very clean, comfortable and had a TV, fridge and Fan. It's has been the best vale for money hostel I have stayed in while in Australia. The staff have been great organising trips and giving advise for the city. The kitchen has what you need and the TV room is great

Room Tip: If there are two or three of you, take the private room, it's virtually the same price as a dorm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dancy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

The staff here are lovely and very on the ball with organisation and tourist information. The hostel is very big and can get quite noisey if your window overlooks the courtyard. However, everyone quietens down by 10pm so its not too bad. We really enjoyed our stay here, its very close to the Opera house and has a 24hr reception and suttle service to the airport. would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Fortunately we stayed here for just one night, we were happy to leave! We stayed in a double room with bars in front of the windows, so it felt like we were in a prison cell. Also there was a strange, terrible smell in the room, which did'nt go away even after leaving the door and window open for a while. To top it up, in the evening we saw a big cockroach in our room! The communal garden was very busy and noisy, which is probably great when you're a single, 19 year old backpacker, but for couples not so much.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneMartijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

It was a fun place to live for a short time, but the place could have been much cleaner and bigger than what I experienced in terms of bathrooms, toilets and bedrooms. The staff were really helpful and the place was buzzing all the time. For the price you pay per night per bed, this accomodation is worth living in.

Room Tip: The rooms towards the kitchen are more buzzing than the ones close to the exit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Siddharth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Summer House Backpackers
#14 of 150 in Sydney
122 reviews
Eva's Backpackers
#20 of 150 in Sydney
238 reviews
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#8 of 150 in Sydney
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#9 of 150 in Sydney
425 reviews
Zing Backpackers
#38 of 150 in Sydney
136 reviews
Maze Backpackers
#21 of 150 in Sydney
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Original Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Original Backpackers Hostel

Address: 160-162 Victoria St | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 150 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: £15 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Original Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Original Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Original Backpackers Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing