We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Original Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #23 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

We booked a double room with en-suite. The room was spacious and clean. Didn't really spend much time in the kitchen but the communal spaces seemed nice enough. The staff were lovely and helped us secure a flat by acting as a reference for us. Only down side was neither of us had a proper hot shower.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Violentverb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    74
    41
    17
    16
See reviews for
5
60
53
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Original backpackers is a great place to stay if you want to get the full Sydney experience. A minute's walk from kings cross station it's really easy to get around town and grab some cheap(er) dinner.

The staff are really friendly and there's a nice communal feel to the kitchen area. My double room was clean and tidy, with a great hot shower and fresh towels. Its all you need!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lethelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

i stayed here whilst showing a friend around Australia. the staff were great. Share kitchen, movie room and computer access. Very easy to mingle and make new friends from all over the world. Only downside is if youre staying there and have a suitcase it is a bit of a struggle lugging it up the stairs as there are no lifts. clean bathrooms and toilets, it is a little bit noisy on weekends until early in the morning but its good for a real hostel experience. Near the cross and alot of night life. very good for price.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I stayed at the Original Backpackers Hostel for several weeks while looking for a place to live after moving to Sydney. I had a private room with a private bathroom. The room and bathroom were very clean, no lack of hot water and although I had a room right next to the communal courtyard, the enforced 10pm curfew helped with the noise levels.

The room was well equipped with a bar fridge, safe, TV and fan, plus coffee making facilities. I would stay again should I need to. The staff were helpful and pleasant.

Although I didn't do much cooking, there is a lovely big kitchen with all the amenities you could require. There is also a TV room available, although I had a TV in my room.

I've marked the hostel down due to the internet available. The WiFi is charged and barely works at all, I was disappointed.

The Hostel is located within 2 minutes walk to Kings Cross Station which was perfect for me.

Room Tip: I had a private 'double' room, plenty of space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

OK people first let me I've been living here for 5 months going on a few more. Now, I did read all the "bad reviews" and some are true to what they say but some aren't so, but don't judge this hostel based on bad reviews.

This is a GREAT hostel. I've made the greatest friends here that anyone can ask for. I'm a long term person as most people in this hostel are. The staff is great, but people try to remember its a HOSTEL if you want peace and quiet go to a Holiday inn. Yes, it's a "party" hostel, BUT we don't party all the time. There are times when it's quiet. The hostel has a event every night to go to (Clubs and bars) Monday night is Omalley's Night and they have Karaoke. Yes, the kitchen does close at 10pm, but if you know the staff and are friendly with them, they can let you in for the things you need. The reason why they close it at 10 (which every bad review fails to mention) is because if everyone stayed out in the courtyard partying they would cause noise for the rooms in the courtyard and facing the courtyard if you go to bed at 10PM. People do head out to the porch to drink and chat but they are only out there waiting to go out with the rest of the hostel for the nightly bar or club. There are 2 rooms that face the porch and my room is one of them, but the noise doesn't bother me. I sleep easily through it, but that's just me.

Cleanliness. Again, It's a hostel. If you want clean get a private room. Most bathrooms are always clean, but some are old. Only once I've seen a few things, but those were unexpected rare occasions and was cleaned up right away. Rooms are cleaned weekly. Friday nights for BBQ nights are fun. It's VERY close to the CBD s you can walk there in 10 min. Coles is close. I like living in a hostel. Reminds me of my college days. It's like living in a dorm or Fraternity, but you make great friends along the way. Most people who stay have stayed in other hostels and moved about because the atmosphere at the others were great and they loved the atmosphere at originals. You pretty much pay for the atmosphere. I haven't been to other hostels and I'm not planning on leaving because there is such a good group on people here. If you're staying short term yeah I can understand the bad reviews, but long term it's great. There's enough space for everyone and always have rooms available.

Internet is $10 not bad, but there is free internet around the corner at wicked travel and you can book your next trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We weren't planning to stay in a hostel, but the city was full due to a big event that was taking place in Sydney, and the only available option was this hostel. We've paid for a private room, and that was way better than I was expecting. The staff was really friendly, the location is very good. Something that surprised too was the free transfer from the airport to the hostel, saved me some money.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernando M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We enjoyed our stay because of good location, cleanliness in the room (we got private with bathroom), lots of informartion available and extremely helpful staff. They can help with any activity bookings and to get around in the city. Great job, guys!
In hostel there is a big nice kitchen available and big room for hangin' out with fellow backpackers.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anastassiape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Eva's Backpackers
#17 of 139 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#8 of 139 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
#36 of 139 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 139 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#9 of 139 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Zing Backpackers
#35 of 139 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Original Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Original Backpackers Hostel

Property: The Original Backpackers Hostel
Address: 160-162 Victoria St | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Original Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Original Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Original Backpackers Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing