We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Base Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Base Backpackers
Ranked #22 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Travelling
1 review
“Loved it”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

After my stay here, I only have two things to say Nate and Johnny! These two staff members made my stay here an awesome experience, I can't say enough good things about them ( I have a crush on one of them ). The day staff appeared to be over ran and very busy and a little cold at times, making long wait times at reception for basic things. But I found if I needed anything it was best to wait until late evening/night when the ques were smaller and the two people mentioned would take care of me. Some of the facilities are a bit ran down and in need of a revamp and some desperate maintenance, and some basic things let this place down. Although i believe that this is due to poor management. I also found that its best not to stay on the first floor, if possible request a higher floor due to some of the rooms being above the night club. The base bar "Scary Canary" Is a standard but really busy backpacker bar with all time cheesy hits playing and some "low brow" entertainment, but a good night can be had there if you do not go in with high expectations of great service or the idea that you will actually meet an Aussie in there.

I am not sure is base reads these but if you do please tell Nate that, I left a message at reception for him with my phone number and email address, did you get this? If so please call me as I am coming back to Sydney soon and would love to see you.

xox

Tash

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tash B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    204
    158
    85
    90
See reviews for
7
102
281
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

If you think of it as a hotel it will be a disappointment .but if your open minded and young at hart it is a good excellent place to stay .remember this is a backpacker hostel not a motel there are kids age 18 - and above so it can be noise especially if your room over the scary canary .it seem all the private room are at this end .but we stayed 3 night and the latest the music played till was 2 am .we just got some ear plugs and it was ok
If your a stiff upper lip travel then don't bother. But if you don't mind to live a bit then the base is the place to be .p.s peek tours meet up at the main entrance at around ten if you want to get your full advantage of Sydney holiday we recommend you go on it first thing as you arrive9

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monsteradventurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Only stayed there because it was the only place i could get a room for the night during the xmas season. The location was awesome and exactly what i needed. I stayed in what i was told was a girl only room but woke up to a boy sleeping in the bunk next to me. Not that it really mattered to me but they should stick with what they make the rooms and not just make money. The room wasn't well priced as it was inflated for xmas. But that's to be expected.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miranda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

All we could get NYE 2011/12. Booked a private room as we a bit older than backpackers. room had huge kingsize bed, clean, good sheets but only one bad pillow! Towels were supplied plus shampoo, conditioner etc...took forever to book in and out. They would not accept early arrival before 2pm, but could leave our bags in safe lockup. Take ya earplugs if in private room area, the nightclub next door is noisy, and i mean noisy, really noisy!
Would I stay again, probably not.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

This was my very first hostel to stay in when I was travelling around Oz. Rooms are lovely, clean and also air conditioned. The Sanctury for girls is really nice and gives you that extra security.
Cards have to used entrying bathrooms, sanctury and bedrooms so you feel very save here.
Great location for getting to and from great sights.

Room Tip: Rooms in sanctury and very quiet and secure. Be careful when checking out early in the morning that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This backpackers is located brilliantly for Darling Harbour and the CBD. You couldn't ask for better. Reception staff were very helpful and polite (I read earlier reviews but didn't have one problem with them, and if anything, they went out of their way to help me).

Good points - comfy beds, duvets, clean rooms (saw the cleaning staff every day). Great showers in the en-suite rooms. Table tennis, tv area, lots of communal computers and a travel agents on site. all good stuff.
Bad stuff - noise from the Scary Canary bar below the hostel is unbelievable - two floors up and the music is crystal clear to hear and feel, as the thuds from the base shake the room.
No electric in a couple of the rooms - points are there but electric doesn't work. I complained and was moved to a different room but the staff seemed to be aware of the issue, just not prepared to fix it.
Sanctuary room - promised Aveda welcome pack. No sign of it, nor was it given to any of the girls in my room either.
Kitchen - the pits. In the basement, filthy dirty at the best of times (but believe this was more to do with the people using it refusing to clean up after themselves). Half the hobs don't work, not enough fridge space for this size of backpackers. Floor is falling to bits, and is generally properly run down. I couldn't bear to cook in it after the first night so just ate out.

I'd stay at Base again because for value for money and location it can't be beaten. However I'll be going back with earplugs and will be eating out morning noon and night to avoid that kitchen!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lfcdels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Never staying here again! Complete lack of backpacker culture feeling and lack of communal area, rude and paranoid security guards coming into rooms at 4am to check if addiditonal people have been snuk in, refused to return key deposite after their own system screw up, so many great backpackers around Sydney, this is not one of them!!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ld2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Mantra on Kent
Mantra on Kent
#71 of 179 in Sydney
1,309 reviews
Inner West
Wake Up! Sydney
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 140 in Sydney
1,349 reviews
Maze Backpackers
#26 of 140 in Sydney
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#7 of 140 in Sydney
286 reviews
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 140 in Sydney
747 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#9 of 140 in Sydney
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Backpackers

Property: Base Backpackers
Address: 477 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Wanderers on Kent)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Base Backpackers 1*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Base Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing