We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend! Clean, Fun, Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Base Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Base Backpackers
Ranked #21 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
“Highly Recommend! Clean, Fun, Friendly”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I accidentally booked my stay at this hostel for the wrong weekend, and when my friend and I showed up to check in, the hostel was booked full! We were just about to panic when the man who helped us at the front desk offered to accommodate us in a room that was closed for the winter. We were extremely grateful, and very satisfied with our clean, comfortable, and warm room! Thanks, Base! We will definitely be back.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sarahbrooksholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeroen B, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Hi Sarah,

Thanks for your awesome review and for booking Base Sydney. I'm so happy to hear that our night manager Manuel sorted that 'mistake" out for you and that you were overall happy with your stay. I'm always happy to read when our staff goes an extra mile for somebody so I will tell him he did an awesome job.

We hope to welcome you to this or another Base property in the near future!

Best Regards & Happy Travels,

Jeroen
GS Manager
Base Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    184
    145
    75
    82
See reviews for
6
85
254
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here while in Sydney, the location was amazing! Just a 20 min walk to Harbour Bridge & the Opera house. It can be very noisy here but it's what u expect being in such a lively city. Staff were fab and very helpful ;-) and price was good reasonable!

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Julz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeroen B, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Hi There,

Thanks for choosing Base Sydney and for your awesome review. Its great to hear that you liked our staff and we agree with you on our location, it cant get better then next to Town hall right?!

We hope to again welcome you back to Base Sydney or another Base property in the near future.

Best Regards & Happy Travels,

Jeroen
Guest Services Manager
Base Backpackers Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had a double private room when we came to stay at the end of June. The room was clean and quite comfortable considering the cost. The shared bathroom facilities were kept very clean too with plenty of hot water.

The hostel is in a great location, right across from the train station. Walking distance to opera house, harbour bridge etc.

Scary canary bar next door was pretty good too.

Room Tip: Take the free ferry to Manly for great views of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel6286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeroen B, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Hi Rachel,

Thanks for choosing to stay at Base Sydney. We take these reviews super seriously, and are really appreciative of you taking the time to complete one for us. It sounds like you had a great stay with us which was fantastic to read and exactly what we would hope for.

I am so happy to hear that you liked our staff as we work hard to create an awesome, friendly and knowledgeable team :)

We hope to again welcome you back to Base Sydney or another Base property in the near future.

Best Regards & Happy Travels,

Jeroen
Guest Services Manager
Base Backpackers Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

A friend and I stayed at Base Sydney for 3 nights. It was an amazing experience. Loved the bar and we got to meet very interesting people. Throughout the stay, we spent most of our time in the common area where we were able to interact with other travelers. Also, great staff!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeroen B, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Hi there,

I love reading your review, thanks for the positive comments!! I'm so happy to read you liked our bar and that you met some awesome people here at Base. My favourite part is reading that our staff is friendly, in my opinion one of the most important things in a hostel.

We hope to see you again whenever you're back in Sydney :)

Safe Travels,

Jeroen
Guest Services Manager
Base Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

A friend and I stayed at Base for two nights in the sanctuary dorm and we really enjoyed our experience. The room was clean and spacious (I didn't even realise it had 8 beds in it at first!), as were the rest of the facilities (bathroom, kitchen, etc.)
We also enjoyed our time in the Scary Canary next door, especially the cheap food and the free glasses of champagne we got due to staying in the sanctuary dorm. The location is also spot on, especially if you are going to/from the airport!
The only thing that was disappointing during our stay were our very unsociable roommates, who dented the social aspect a bit. Of course, I should say this is not related to the hostel at all and it is after all a draw who you end up with. Otherwise everything was great.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeroen B, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Hi There,

Thanks for your awesome review. We just updated our Sanctuary space a bit (with all new power points in the rooms, fresh paint and the mirrored new hallway :) ) so I'm happy you liked it.
Shame to hear your room mates were a little anti social, I hope you met some awesome people at Scaries?!

I hope you have a great time travelling in Australia and hope to see you again whenever you're in Sydney :)

Safe Travels!!

Jeroen
Guest Services Manager
Base Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2014

stayed at Base Sydney for 4 nights in July. Took the 6 bed per room c/w bathroom ensuite. The staff at the counter were very helpful and they would greet you with a smile and try to help you check-in to your room ASAP. The receptionist attending to me even took the initiative to walk me to the lift and explain to me how to use the access card and gave me a quick overview of the facilities . Every door is equipped with a security lock similar to most hotels. The room is generally clean and spacious. There are adequate power point for all of us to charge our phones. Location is near darling habour and minutes walk to the subway station. Its pretty easy to get around. To sum it up, if i were to visit Sydney again, i would stay at Base without a doubt.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chengyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeroen B, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Hi There,

Thank you so much for your great review. We love hearing good things about our hostel, especially because we spend a lot of time in trying to get it all right. I especially love hearing that you think our staff was nice. I think that a clean hostel with nice staff is already "half the job". We got new power point in all rooms a few weeks ago so happy to hear that someone noticed them :)

Have a great trip and safe travels :)

Kind Regards

Jeroen
Guest Services Manager
Base Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
366 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Good fun hostel! Lots of great memories of this place! Clean hostel, good size rooms, cool bar nice place to stay! Good bar and common area to meet people! Good kitchen to plenty of room to cook and meet people! Beds were good bathrooms were fine! Good staff!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matthew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raph K, Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hi,
Thanks for leaving your awesome feedback with us about your stay here this week! It is fantastic to see that we really nailed it this time, and hope we get the chance to have you stay with us again sometime soon,

Warm regards and happy travels,
BASE Crew!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Mantra on Kent
Mantra on Kent
#64 of 174 in Sydney
1,188 reviews
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 137 in Sydney
1,298 reviews
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 137 in Sydney
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#8 of 137 in Sydney
262 reviews
Eva's Backpackers
#16 of 137 in Sydney
233 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#9 of 137 in Sydney
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Backpackers

Property: Base Backpackers
Address: 477 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Wanderers on Kent)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Base Backpackers 1*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Base Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing