We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific boutique-style hotel”
Review of QT Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
QT Sydney
Ranked #13 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Terrific boutique-style hotel”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

If you're looking for something a bit different to your stock-standard 5-star hotel in Sydney, then the QT Sydney should be on the top of your list.
Beautifully-decorated large rooms and gigantic bathrooms are a great change-up from the usual offerings in Sydney.
I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear gorgeous QT Sydney guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,331
    438
    139
    26
    20
See reviews for
135
967
112
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Buderim, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This is a great hotel in the thick of the shopping area of Sydney. Really cool decor, we got upgraded to a junior suite on the top floor which was amazing.
We ate dinner in the restaurant and though the fit out was memorable the food wasn't, maybe a little over priced compared to other Sydney restaurants.
Definitely worth a stay, we had our kids when we stayed and probably wouldn't stay there with kids again but would love to go back with just the wife. We stayed at the swissotel across the road as well which was also great and was more suited to families.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dearest QT Sydney guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at the QT for 5 nights in the beginning of December. We both loved the place as it was very quirky, not your typical run of the mill blah, blah, blah hotel. The staff were very attentive and they always had a smile on their faces. We only ate breakfast at the hotel and this was very tasty with a good choice on the menu. For 2 of the nights we stayed in the Gowings side of the building which I preferred as it had more natural light. However, my husband preferred the other room! Location is fantastic, right in the thick of it. Very handy to restaurants, shops and ferry etc. My only gripes, which some of the other reviewers have also mentioned were the poor lighting in the bathrooms and lack of towel hooks lol! Also, the lack of storage for clothing etc. There is adequate storage if there is only one of you or you are only staying for a couple of nights but we struggled with the 2 of us staying there for 5 nights to unpack hardly any of our cases. These are just minor things that the Hotel can easily rectify. All in all I would stay there again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Personally I preferred the room on the Gowings side of the building as it had more natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuderimAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear gorgeous QT Sydney guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This is my second review for this amazing hotel.
Just stayed for 3 nights and had all my business meetings there as well as a couple of social functions . Each time I had someone arrive for a meeting, they were escorted to my little area in the guest lounge offered tea or coffee and so well looked after by Claudia, a delightful charming lady who looks after the lounge. By the second day all the staff were calling me by my name. One of them even found a credit card I had dropped in the street and recognised my name on it. Extraordinary. Apart from the beautiful rooms , wonderful restaurant and bars, the thing which really impressed me was that the staff so obviously love working there . The young people at the street entrance are just delightful. QT has really become my home away from home.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear gorgeous QT Sydney guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bathurst, australia
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We were to visit several weeks back, but due to overbooking we volunteered to be put up some place else which was nice. I wish i did not now because this place is the best accommodation in Sydney.Great location close to shopping, bars restaurants & transport The rooms funky groovy stylish, lovely comfortable beds. Service from bell hops to reception to checkout second to none a credit to all. We did not have a chance for dinner or cocktail etc, but if the restaurant, bars & spa live up the the service we received for our stay we cannot wait to be back and try what we missed out on

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pomlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear gorgeous QT Sydney guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I had heard good things of the QT from a colleague so was keen to try it out. I was mainly in Sydney to visit family but as they live 40 minutes out of the CBD chose to stay at the QT for the location. If you want to be central then it certainly is perfect - opposite the QVB on one side and the Westfield shopping centre on another. Unlike other more corporate looking hotels I've stayed at in the city there was a great buzz about the hotel. The staff were always friendly and helpful. I was even offered a free coffee as I waited for my Hunter Valley tour at 7am!!

My room was in the Gowings building - it was a small inconvenience to have to switch lifts but nothing major and I prefer to stay in hotels that have some character to them. I love the decor - super stylish but comfortable. If you like a bath then this is definitely the place for you. They are all huge and even have tealights ready and waiting if you like a bit of atmosphere!

I will definitely be staying here next time I visit Sydney!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear gorgeous QT Sydney guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Well the website gives an excellent impression unfortunately the QT Sydney does not actually measure up to the 5star standard they advertise. For a start we booked a suite as when we go away my husband like to relax and sleep and I like to have visitors or watch movies etc so I book a suite because a suite is a bedroom and SEPARATE living area. The suites here are only rooms and not much bigger than an average hotel room ( unless you include the ridiculously long hallway in the entrance). And don''t get any ideas about doing your makeup in the room as the whole place is dimly lit even in the bathroom you cannot get a decent light to see what you are doing, I went out not sure what I really looked like! It was a hilarious farce running around a room full of mirrors and lights and not one enables you to see yourself.
So the disappointment basically started when we entered the room to discover it was NOT A SUITE!!! Then my beloved opened the fridge to begin his usual raiding of all the beverages to discover the fridge did not work and was hot including all the beers drinks etc. We rang reception waited twenty minutes, rang again as we were in danger of dying of thirst, waited, rang again (!) finally a very nice but very confused looking man came to our suite fiddled around with it decided he couldn't get it to work and said he would be back. We called reception to get some cold drinks and an ice bucket to keep them cool, got put through to the bar, had to explain in some detail to the barman what an ice bucket was and why we wanted it (what the hell!!) we eventually got some cold drinks and a bucket of ice which we were charged fully for. After about two hours of various staff coming through and looking at the bar fridge they finally decided to give us a new one. I watched in disbelief as these - I'm sorry but idiots, put all the hot drinks into the fridge. My husband pointed out to them that it would take some time for hot drinks to get cool and in any case once a carbonated drink is cool and then warmed again it is no good! They simply looked at us dimly and continued to do what they were doing. This whole ridiculous process took over two hours. We had arrangements for the evening and had been travelling since 5am so were really in need of some sleep before we went out but because it was not really a suite we could not sleep with a troupe of incompetent staff trailing through our room. I do not expect anything for free but it is standard to at least apologise and maybe restock the fridge with cold drinks. Just to get some drinks we ended up ordering through room service and paying extra because of their incompetence. It was utterly disgraceful. And to top it off my husband was abused by security staff when he tried to open the front door after hours to get back in. I have friends in Sydney who told me to stay at the Shangri la or the Hyatt, Why don't I listen! The lady who checked us out in the morning was extremely pleasant and a real asset. I must also mention the food which was amazing, I would go back to the restaurant but I'd suggest staying somewhere else.

Room Tip: The suites are only the size of a normal hotel room and there is no separation of living areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Helsi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Hi Helsi F,

Thanks kindly for your review. Apologies regarding the mini bar fridge - glad it all worked out in the end. Regarding the suites, it's always a great idea to check out the room descriptions when you book to make sure you are booking what you require, especially if you have specific needs. We do have rooms with separate lounges, our penthouses, so these would have been perfect for you.

There are other sticky points in the review ('incompetent staff', and abuse from security) that feel a bit like a vent and not real indicators of the hotel which can be found in the bulk of our reviews, so will decline to comment on them.

We appreciate you taking the time to review the property.
Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 178 in Sydney
1,811 reviews
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 178 in Sydney
4,369 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#11 of 178 in Sydney
1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Sydney

Property: QT Sydney
Address: 49 Market Street | Corner of Market and George Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an eye for modern design whilst reflective of past, the 200 guest suites that make up the QT Sydney hotel have been carefully crafted within the historic Gowings and State theatre buildings. This boutique Sydney accommodation retains many of the buildings most distinctive features, such as the blend of gothic, art deco, and Italian architecture that form the dazzling exterior of the building.With a contemporary and, at times, quirky design, all guestrooms feature creature comforts such as luxurious bedding, high-speed internet, walk-in showers and most guest suites also offer an indulgent oversized soaking tub.The lower levels of this truly designer Sydney Hotel, will retain a historical allure but be the home of Sydney’s hottest new bar Gilt Lounge and Robert Marchetti’s newest creation Gowings Bar & Grill.FEATURES200 designer guest roomsGowings Bar & GrillGilt LoungeParlour Lane RoastersspaQ – luxurious day spa, also open to the publicPrivate dining and events24-hour room service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your QT Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing