We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Hotel”
Review of QT Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
QT Sydney
Ranked #13 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Hotel”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I recently stayed here while away for work, and given its proximity to the business I found this a great advantage, as it allowed me more time to spend within this fantastic hotel! I loved the dark moody entrance and the whole reception area and process.

I was checked in my the manager on duty at the time and he make this as efficient as possible. The room I stayed in was on there 10th floor, was quiet and had everything you could ask for. The bath was nice and deep and the bed was ever so comfortable. The two nights I stayed were great and I enjoyed a solid nights rest. The early check out was quick and the complimentary coffee downstairs was just what I needed at 7am.

I was a bit disappointed I didn't get chance to take advantage of the complimentary access to the Virgin Active around the corner. Thats something I will have to try and fit in next time!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacHiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Hi JacHiggins,

Sounds like an absolutely divine stay. Thanks so much for sharing this with us. It makes it all worth it!

Hope you get to sneak in a trip to the gym next visit.

“A traveler without observation is a bird without wings.” – Moslih Eddin Saadi

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,300
    426
    137
    26
    20
See reviews for
131
947
109
401
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for my Birthday and was treated to what is now my favourite hotel in Sydney - great location, great decor, extra helpful staff (gave us free champaign & late check out as I was celebrating my birthday), they really looked after us. Have recommended my friends stay here and I'll certainly be back!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Yashway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Hi Yashway,

Yay, yay, yay!

Happy belated birthday to you and I'm so delighted that you were spoilt by our staff for your special day.

Hopefully we can make it a yearly occasion!

"A journey is best measured with friends, rather than miles." - Tim Cahill

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth WA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I had this hotel recommended by friends as a new "boutique design hotel' - which was the perfect description. Location is fabulous, the staff are brilliant, spa and restaurant are top notch and the designer deserves big hugs from everyone who stays here. This hotel could easily have gone overboard into kitsch or twee, however the balance is perfect. All staff seen to love their job, their uniforms and are genuinely interested in their guests - which is fabulous. We loved our stay and this will be our preferred option when next in Sydney. The elevator music was very clever - as it changes each time you're in it, seemingly depending on the number of people. When alone in the elevator I listed to a fabulous rendition of "dancing with myself" by Billy Idol - which puts a smile on my face every time I now hear that song.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siddaryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Hi Siddaryl,

We love that you loved us! It's always so awesome when a recommendation lives up to its promise.

The elevator does have a sensor that tailors the music to how many people are in the elevator. Thanks for letting us know that you enjoyed it.

We would love to see you again soonest.

The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new landscapes, but in having new eyes." - Marcel Proust

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just had a great stay at QT Sydney. A surprise trip for my husband's birthday form Perth we booked the experience QT life package and must say from the moment we arrived late Friday afternoon we certainly felt like we were on holidays. The hotel had a great atmosphere and from the crowd in Gowings bar it's clear the QT is well loved by travellers and locals alike. The shave and spa offerings were fantastic, I loved the uspa products (all natural no animal testing) and the service from all staff was superb. Would definitely recommend and somewhere special to stay. Great atmosphere, very special and quirky decor, nothing bland or average to be found at all and a myriad of special touches to make your stay that much nicer. Needless to say we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meagan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Hi Meagan W,

Whopeeee! Another 5/5 from a Perth person celebrating a special occasion at the property. That is such brilliant news.

Thanks for the gorgeous notes on the staff and spaQ - it's not a complete stay with QT without a visit to our spa! Proper relaxation.

Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know you loved it.

"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do than by the ones you did do. Explore. Dream. Discover." - Mark Twain

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

If you love all that is quirky but stylish about 1920's then this is the spot! Great decor in the rooms, fabulous quality mini bar plus olde sweet shoppe lollies. Love the bathroom and mirrored sliding wall. The female consierges look great but could improve their listening/organisation skills - lost our luggage for 3hrs and came in time for us to change and head out to the show - they did make up for it with a favourite bottle of sauv blanc and a typed card with an apology - your forgiven! Couldnt get any closer to the beautiful State Theatre so do both at once. Would definitely go back!

Room Tip: they are all uniquely styled
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanFerguson_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Hi JanFerguson_11,

Thanks for a wonderful shout out from a lover of all things theatrical.

Love your notes on the decor - couldn't agree more.

Many apologies regarding your luggage - you would have had to make a quick change between scenes to make it to the show on time! Happy that we apologised with a nice bottle of vino. Always takes the sting out!

We would love to see you next time you are in town for a show at the State Theatre. That building is just majestic.

"Bizarre travel plans are dancing lessons from above." - Kurt Vonnegut

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed for 3 nights recently at QT Sydney. We were blown away!!!! For the great price, you get location, great staff, good breakfast, a fabulous looking hotel and a comfortable and well decorated room. When we travel we choose to seek out boutique hotels as we prefer the smaller size overall of the hotel and more personalised service. This hotel reminded me a lot of a hotel in LA called the Redbury. There was not a beige surface in sight, as you would find at many larger hotels, the decor is quirky, modern and interesting. Everything is walking distance to everything, we went to Quay at the Rocks/Circular Quay for lunch and it was an easy 10-15 minute walk. The staff were great!! We will definitely be returning when we come back to sydney!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becforr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Hi Becforr,

That was such a wonderful review. It's notes like this that make it all worth it!

Thank you so much for sharing the love, we really appreciate every effort taken and look forward to taking care of you again next time you are in town.

"The world is a book and those who do not travel only read one page." - St. Augustine

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths Lake, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Loved the rooms, the friendly team... The Gowings Bar and grill. One small disappointment, the mixed pastries at breakfast. They were greasy and heavy... But not so to cloud a fun experience! Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hi June H,

Short, sharp, and sweet review.

So sorry about the pastries! They are usually light as a feather so I can't imagine what must have happened on this occasion. Many apologies.

“It can hardly be a coincidence that no language on earth has ever produced the expression, 'As pretty as an airport.” ― Douglas Adams, The Long Dark Tea-Time of the Soul

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 177 in Sydney
1,649 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Langham, Sydney
#7 of 177 in Sydney
1,725 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 177 in Sydney
4,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Sydney

Property: QT Sydney
Address: 49 Market Street | Corner of Market and George Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an eye for modern design whilst reflective of past, the 200 guest suites that make up the QT Sydney hotel have been carefully crafted within the historic Gowings and State theatre buildings. This boutique Sydney accommodation retains many of the buildings most distinctive features, such as the blend of gothic, art deco, and Italian architecture that form the dazzling exterior of the building.With a contemporary and, at times, quirky design, all guestrooms feature creature comforts such as luxurious bedding, high-speed internet, walk-in showers and most guest suites also offer an indulgent oversized soaking tub.The lower levels of this truly designer Sydney Hotel, will retain a historical allure but be the home of Sydney’s hottest new bar Gilt Lounge and Robert Marchetti’s newest creation Gowings Bar & Grill.FEATURES200 designer guest roomsGowings Bar & GrillGilt LoungeParlour Lane RoastersspaQ – luxurious day spa, also open to the publicPrivate dining and events24-hour room service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelbag, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your QT Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing