We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stellar experience!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sydney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Forsyth Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 57 Sydney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We selected Forsyth Bed and Breakfast based on the TripAdvisor reviews and we're so glad we did. Our first visit to Australia was amazing and, in large part, we credit Gary for his extra attention to every detail of our stay. The accommodations were beautiful and the gourmet breakfasts each morning were delicious. Gary was very helpful with recommendations regarding what to see (and how to get there), money exchange, and restaurant suggestions and reservations. Staying in Glebe made our trip even more fascinating since we had the opportunity to experience a lovely Sydney neighborhood as well as the attractions located in the central business district and harbor areas which are within walking distance. One advantage to being pedestrians is that we saw so many interesting places along the route to downtown (e.g., coffee shops, restaurants, retailers, the Sydney Fish Market...which is not to be missed!). We also found the public transportation to be very convenient, reliable, and fast. Gary made us feel so "at home" that it was difficult to leave. If you're spending any time in Sydney, Forsyth B&B is an outstanding choice. With such a lovely and comfortable room, convenient location, incredible breakfasts, and Gary's helpfulness (and daily fun conversations), our visit to Sydney really was a stellar experience!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cathie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForsythBnB, Owner at Forsyth Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

I’m so glad you enjoyed Forsyth BnB, and that I was able to assist you get the most out of your visit to Sydney – Forsyth BnB prides itself on the personal service it consistently provides to all its guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
There are newer reviews for Forsyth Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

I highly recommend the Forsyth bed and breakfast for anyone who wants a nice and comfortable experience in Sydney. The location was perfect for us. Glebe is a nice suburb yet only short bus ride or walk across the bridge to downtown. We stayed a 6 nights with Gary and the service was superb. The house is beautiful. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and quite, and the breakfast and conversation with Gary was something we looked forward to every day. Even though there were no rooms available at Gary’s place on our first day in Sydney, he picked us up at the airport and drove us to our hotel in the downtown area. The next evening he picked us up downtown and drove us to his place. Being our first time in Australia, I think Gary went above and beyond for us. He made sure we knew all about local customs, tipping practices and transportation. He recommended activities and restaurants and helped us to make the most of our time in his city. He even did some research and made reservations for us. Gary really knows how to take care of guests.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rozelle room. It was quite and comfortable. It has a nice outside deck with a table...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForsythBnB, Owner at Forsyth Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Great to hear how much you enjoyed Forsyth BnB. Both the Rozelle room and the Blackwattle room are very quiet, as they are upstairs and detached from all other rooms (including each other). I’m glad my local knowledge also helped you acclimatise to Sydney customs!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The stay at Forsyth was both a mixture of luxury and a home away from home. The house is tastefully designed/decorated and very comfortable. Gary was a superb host who makes you feel at home straight away and his breakfasts were something we looked forward to every morning! One of the best things about staying here is Gary's advice and local insights which help you to make the most of your visit. We were very happy with the recommendations we took from him. His hospitality and attention was also much appreciated - always offered and brewed us lovely teas to help warm us up during the winter.

We stayed in the Rozelle room and it was very spacious with a lovely balcony where you can watch rainbow lorikeets fly by every morning. The location of Forsyth is also excellent and along bus lines/light rails which will take you right into the city center. There are lots of restaurants around and Tom Yum Tum Kang (Thai) and Timbah Bar (local pub just around the corner from Forsyth), both also recommendations from Gary, are Glebe neighborhood must tries! Also fell in love with Gary's resident cat and he was kind enough to let me "borrow" him to play with.

Would say that this is the best B&B that we have stayed at and it will be really hard to beat this place! Excellent and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwiminBelugas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForsythBnB, Owner at Forsyth Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

So glad to hear that Forsyth BnB felt like a “home away from home”! We are so lucky to have an abundance of birds here - the rainbow lorikeets are a real treat to view in the morning on the balcony of the Rozelle room. The wide range of good quality and value-for-money restaurants and local bars in Glebe, all within easy walking distance, allows guests to enjoy a relaxed evening locally after the day’s activity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Stayed for a very relaxed 6 nights. Gary is a great host, and there is a good quiet bar up at the corner.
Why stay in the noise downtown when you can walk to the very civilised light rail in a few minutes, and be into town in 15 minutes.
Luxurious bathroom, pleasant view of the neighbourhood from the bedroom.

Room Tip: The Rozelle Room was great
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary d, Owner at Forsyth Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Glad to hear you enjoyed the Rozelle Room and had a relaxing holiday. It’s certainly great having a good wine bar at the top of the street. Personalised service is what Forsyth BnB is all about!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Forsyth B&B is a beautiful house in a great location. Gary and Julie were fantastic hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them. Upon our arrival in Sydney, Gary collected us from the airport. We stayed with Gary and Julie for 6 nights. When it was time for us to leave, Gary kindly drove us to the car hire centre in order for us to collect a hire car for our trip to the Blue Mountains. Upon our return from the Blue Mountains, they offered to follow us back to the car hire centre, so that we could drop off our hire car. Julie then drove us to the airport in order for us to catch our flight back to the UK. Fantastic customer service! Gary and Julie's knowledge of things to see and do in and around Sydney were second to none. If you are visiting Sydney, would definitely recommend staying at Forsyth B&B. you will not be disappointed. Thank you Gary and Julie for making our stay in Australia so memorable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary d, Owner at Forsyth Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Thanks so much for your review. So glad you enjoyed the personalised service. Picking up a hire car for travel outside of Sydney is so much easier with our drop-off service!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

After a long flight from the UK, we were met at the airport by Julie who took us back to the B&B. From the front it looks quite normal, a pretty little house. However get inside and we were welcomed to a modern house that would be our home for 4 nights. The room and bathroom were spotless, well decorated and the balcony looked over the garden. The breakfast as many others have mentioned is amazing, freshly made and plenty of it! Eating outside with the parrots flying around is a new one! However the best thing about Forsyth is Gary and Julie. Not only did they make us feel extremely welcome, there was excellent conversation and nothing was too much trouble (even rushing us in to see our first Opera when we overslept due to jetlag!). Great local knowledge only added to the experience.Great location, excellent local restaurants (ask them about the Thai!). Overall, you cant go wrong! Apologies for the delay in reviewing, hope you are well!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GeeDeeDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary d, Owner at Forsyth Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Thanks for your review, we couldn’t have let you miss your first opera at the iconic Sydney Opera House!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights, on our arrival in Sydney. Great location, close in, easy to get downtown, but a quiet neighborhood. Stunning interior space, both for breakfast and the rooms. Gary and Julie are excellent hosts, knowledgeable and helpful. Can't miss place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary d, Owner at Forsyth Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Pleased to hear how much you liked the design of the house, and also its location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Hotel Challis
#48 of 178 in Sydney
702 reviews
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 178 in Sydney
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 178 in Sydney
1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forsyth Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forsyth Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3 Forsyth Street | Glebe, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Glebe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range: £106 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BOOKINGS ONLY AVAILABLE DIRECTLY WITH FORSYTH BNB. Forsyth is a delightful boutique bed and breakfast, a "piece of inner-city serenity", nestled between Glebe Point Road and Blackwattle Bay on Sydney Harbour, located 3 kms from the city and 20 minutes drive from the airport. Forsyth offers two spacious quiet guest rooms, both located upstairs, with no common walls. Each has a queen size bed, its own bathroom, reverse cycle air-conditioning, cable television, and free wi-fi. The Blackwattle Room has a separate television/ reading space and en-suite shower room, and "a circular porthole offsets the angular ceiling and gives a bird's eye view of the street". The Rozelle Room offers a full size bathroom (with double shower, bath and bidet) and a private balcony with views out towards Anzac Bridge and the city. Glebe Village has numerous restaurants which cater for every taste. Blackwattle Park with its beautiful foreshore promenade along Sydney Harbour is located a minute's walk from Forsyth, and Sydney Fish Market, a working fishing port, is close by. Forsyth is well serviced by public transport, and close to many local attractions including Chinatown, Star Casino, Darling Harbour, Cockle Bay Wharf, Sydney Aquarium and Sydney Powerhouse Museum. The Rocks and the Opera House are a short bus ride away or a walk for the hearty. In good weather, breakfast is served outside in the Japanese courtyard garden, alternatively in the dining room with its cathedral ceiling. Pick-up/drop-off at Sydney airport or cruise terminals is available on request. In order to avoid disappointment, please book early. We hope you enjoy your stay at Forsyth BnB. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing