We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay in a first class location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sydney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Forsyth Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 58 Sydney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We were fortunate to secure a two night stay at the Forsyth bed and breakfast during the very busy long weekend holiday.From being collected at the car hire return to our departure it was an excellent experience at Gary and Julie's lovely home.The breakfast features many culinary delights from homemade muesli ,pancakes ,muffins ,lovely breads,preserves and great coffee.
What makes this such a special place is its great location ,so close to Sydney and the knowledge and enthusiasm of the hosts.I am sure we will visit again many times in the future .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LindaandT0ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForsythBnB, Owner at Forsyth Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Thanks for your review. It’s difficult arriving in a new city, finding where to drop off the car and then travelling on to your destination, Forsyth BnB. I’m very pleased to be able to assist guests by collecting them and their luggage from their car hire drop-off point, to make their arrival here as easy as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

We just had a great stay here - perfect if you're looking for a boutique place in Sydney. Room is lovely and comfortable but the best thing are the hosts - Gary and Julie are excellent, and the amazing breakfast every morning - which you eat outside in the Sydney sun. It's such a nice selection of food Especially loved Gary's coffees! Glebe is a great location, you can jump on one of the buses every 10 minutes into the centre (Gary and Julie help you with tickets), and the bonus of being out of the centre is that there are some reasonably priced restaurants on your doorstep - we went to the Thai place recommended by Gary just up the road and it was excellent. Thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DOTE65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForsythBnB, Owner at Forsyth Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Thank you for your comments. We pride ourselves on being a small boutique bed and breakfast in Sydney, able to offer personalised service, with wonderful facilities on our doorstep!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights here, as we were traveling through on our honeymoon. Gary was so kind and helpful. He picked us up from the airport and was able to give us so many tips on how to make the most of our short stay in Sydney.
We had a great time and loved coming back to our comfy room! Breakfast in the morning was delicious.. the weather was great so we were able to sit outside and enjoy our meal.
With so little time, we were so greatful for Gary's help and hospitality. We would highly recommend this place if you're looking to visit Sydney!
Thanks again, Gary for everything!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustandJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForsythBnB, Owner at Forsyth Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Thank you for your review. I’m so glad to hear that I was able to provide such a wonderful experience to you both at the start of your “new life” together and your honeymoon in Australia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My 9 year old daughter and I spent 4 wonderful nights at Forsyth B&B after reading about it on Trip Advisor. This was her first overseas adventure and first B&B. Gary was waiting for us at baggage claim and immediately my daughter was included in the conversations. Our room was delightful and extremely comfortable. I cannot find the words to describe the fantastic breakfast we had each morning. My daughter was treated to hot chocolate every morning and Gary's banana bread was a hit. He assisted us with our excursions and he was accurate on all accounts - how long we should expect to be there, where the bus stops are, etc. My daughter's shoes got soaked before we arrived and Gary made sure they dried quickly on the sunny deck. Gary is a very gracious host and his attention to detail makes one feel especially welcome at Forsyth B&B. We can't wait to return in the very near future.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Black Wattle room which had a small sitting room attached. We loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForsythBnB, Owner at Forsyth Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Thanks for your review. It was great to broaden my barista skills to perfecting hot chocolate in the morning! So glad your daughter enjoyed her first trip overseas, hopefully she will be keen to continue her travels to explore other countries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

You won't find a better host in Sydney! We stood for five nights and enjoyed the stay so much. Nice and comfortable. Delicious breakfast while chatting with Gary and guests. We got helpful information about discovering Sydney and enjoyed the recommended restaurants and cafes. And thanks for ironing my blouse. Nobody had ever done that better!

Room Tip: If you can choose "Rozelle"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helgak289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForsythBnB, Owner at Forsyth Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

So great to have your feedback. I don’t offer the ironing service to everyone – but if pressed, I don’t mind the odd blouse!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Our host Gary immediately made us feel like we were home in a new city, country and continent. He gave us advice on the transport and dining options. The rooms are comfortable and well-appointed. The breakfasts were of excellent quality and made to order. The B&B is located in a interesting neighborhood with easy access to the main sites of Sydney. By the end, we felt as though we had a new friend and home in Sydney.

Room Tip: Fitness center and swimming pool are not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForsythBnB, Owner at Forsyth Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

So many guests comment on how they feel that Forsyth BnB is a “home away from home”. This feedback is wonderful to receive, as this is what I wanted to create here at Forsyth BnB.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We selected Forsyth Bed and Breakfast based on the TripAdvisor reviews and we're so glad we did. Our first visit to Australia was amazing and, in large part, we credit Gary for his extra attention to every detail of our stay. The accommodations were beautiful and the gourmet breakfasts each morning were delicious. Gary was very helpful with recommendations regarding what to see (and how to get there), money exchange, and restaurant suggestions and reservations. Staying in Glebe made our trip even more fascinating since we had the opportunity to experience a lovely Sydney neighborhood as well as the attractions located in the central business district and harbor areas which are within walking distance. One advantage to being pedestrians is that we saw so many interesting places along the route to downtown (e.g., coffee shops, restaurants, retailers, the Sydney Fish Market...which is not to be missed!). We also found the public transportation to be very convenient, reliable, and fast. Gary made us feel so "at home" that it was difficult to leave. If you're spending any time in Sydney, Forsyth B&B is an outstanding choice. With such a lovely and comfortable room, convenient location, incredible breakfasts, and Gary's helpfulness (and daily fun conversations), our visit to Sydney really was a stellar experience!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cathie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForsythBnB, Owner at Forsyth Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

I’m so glad you enjoyed Forsyth BnB, and that I was able to assist you get the most out of your visit to Sydney – Forsyth BnB prides itself on the personal service it consistently provides to all its guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Glebe
Alishan International Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Maisonette
#4 of 58 in Sydney
535 reviews
Bet's B&B Studio
#1 of 2 in Annandale
157 reviews
Inner West
Posh Hotel
Posh Hotel
#11 of 58 in Sydney
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forsyth Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forsyth Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3 Forsyth Street | Glebe, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Glebe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range: £103 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BOOKINGS ONLY AVAILABLE DIRECTLY WITH FORSYTH BNB. Forsyth is a delightful boutique bed and breakfast, a "piece of inner-city serenity", nestled between Glebe Point Road and Blackwattle Bay on Sydney Harbour, located 3 kms from the city and 20 minutes drive from the airport. Forsyth offers two spacious quiet guest rooms, both located upstairs, with no common walls. Each has a queen size bed, its own bathroom, reverse cycle air-conditioning, cable television, and free wi-fi. The Blackwattle Room has a separate television/ reading space and en-suite shower room, and "a circular porthole offsets the angular ceiling and gives a bird's eye view of the street". The Rozelle Room offers a full size bathroom (with double shower, bath and bidet) and a private balcony with views out towards Anzac Bridge and the city. Glebe Village has numerous restaurants which cater for every taste. Blackwattle Park with its beautiful foreshore promenade along Sydney Harbour is located a minute's walk from Forsyth, and Sydney Fish Market, a working fishing port, is close by. Forsyth is well serviced by public transport, and close to many local attractions including Chinatown, Star Casino, Darling Harbour, Cockle Bay Wharf, Sydney Aquarium and Sydney Powerhouse Museum. The Rocks and the Opera House are a short bus ride away or a walk for the hearty. In good weather, breakfast is served outside in the Japanese courtyard garden, alternatively in the dining room with its cathedral ceiling. Pick-up/drop-off at Sydney airport or cruise terminals is available on request. In order to avoid disappointment, please book early. We hope you enjoy your stay at Forsyth BnB. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing