We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely First Class”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sydney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Forsyth Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 62 Sydney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wishaw,Scotland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Absolutely First Class”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed with Gary and Julie for 5 nights on our recent trip to Australia and can only echo the previous positive comments made by other reviewers.

Gary and Julie set out to ensure that their guests make the most of their time in Sydney and really want them to enjoy their stay in the city. On (and actually in some cases before) arrival they provide excellent information on transportation, eating places and places to visit so that within an hour of arrival you are ready to hit the ground running.

Accommodation is first class ( we stayed in the larger of the 2 rooms which had a nice balcony ) and the breakfasts consist of healthy and wholesome fare and Gary is always most willing to accommodate individual preferences.

Glebe itself is a little out of the centre of Sydney but has relatively good transport links to the ever popular Rocks and Circular Quay. The big advantage of Glebe however is the range of absolutely excellent restaurants literally on the doorstep of the B&B.

All in all Gary and Julie fully merit their No 1 rating on Tripadvisor and while I would fully recommend this B&B, if you want to stay here you will need to book early as I'm sure lots of people will have the same idea.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank i_m_tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    3
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
158
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My fiancée and I have stayed at luxury hotels and B&Bs all over the world. What an incredible surprise to find a fantastic B&B in Glebe, a suburb of Sydney. Gary, the owner, was on top of everything even before we arrived. This made our arrival, stay and departure easier than if I had brought a personal assistant with me. Our room was large, had a wonderful deck, was clean and quiet. Gary and Julie are the consummate hosts. Their advice about transportation, sightseeing, dining and travel were incredibly helpful. Breakfast was prepared on our schedule and was fresh, healthy and perfectly prepared and presented. The public areas have wonderful art that Gary and Julie have collected. One morning, Gary invited us to join him for coffee with a wonderful artist. This was one of the highlights of our stay in Sydney for Barbara and me. Some additional examples of Gary's attention to detail and the guest experience...when we arrived from Hunter Valley on our second day in Australia, Gary insisted on following me to the rental car return and driving me back to Forsyth. We spent the last days in Australia in Melbourne. When we told Gary and Julie we were taking all of our luggage to Melbourne, they suggested that we just pack for three days and that he would store our luggage and deliver it to Sydney airport when we returned. I have no hesitation recommending Forsyth to anyone traveling to Sydney. We purchased two diaries while in Melbourne, one for each room and made the initial entry. I hope those who follow will add their comments. The value, location, hospitality, and friendship made this trip special. We stayed at the Park Hyatt in Melbourne, a very fancy large, art deco five star hotel. It felt cold and sterile compared to Forsyth. Bravo Gary and Julie!!! Don't change anything. It was perfect!

Room Tip: There are only two rooms. We stayed in the Roselle Room. I understand it is the larger of the two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForsythBnB, Owner at Forsyth Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments about Forsyth BnB and the personalised service you received - most appreciated!
Our guests have embraced commenting on their stay with us in the two diaries, thanks so much for your thoughtful gift.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

It was our first trip to Sydney and we only had six days so it was important to find just the right place that was convenient to public transportation which led to Sydney sights, reasonable (by Sydney standards) and a pleasant place to stay. Forsyth B & B met and exceeded all of these. The owners are delightful, helpful, provide wonderful breakfasts and make you feel right at home. Our room and bathroom were very clean, modern, comfortable, well lit and plenty of space. We were a block and a half from the bus line and close to restaurants and small stores. The owners provided us with a map and information on the local sights and restaurants. They were really helpful getting any additional info we needed to make our daily sightseeing go smoothly. We look forward to a return visit to Sydney and the Forsyth B & B again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Either room at Forsyth is fine. We did stay in the smaller of the two rooms available because the la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florida563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Beginning of December we stayed at the Forsyth B&B for four nights and enjoyed it very much. We’re so happy, to write an additional excellent review. Gary and Julie are great hosts. We felt as friends and at home. The house and the rooms are very nice, modern and spotless. Gary and Julie also gave us a lot of great hints getting around in Sydney; what to see and where to eat. Don’t miss to have a great dinner at the boathouse, which is close by. Staying at the Forsyth B&B was a pleasure and it’s higly recommended. We hope to be able to stay there again. Thank you for everything!
Simone and Matthias

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uf_ond_devo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Warm welcome, fantastic breakfasts, lovely accommodation. Good base for exploring Sydney. Gary arranged for us to be taken to and from the airport and helped us purchase our travel pass for the Sydney transport system which proved an excellent purchase for taking in the sights of Sydney and the surrounding area. Gary and Julie were very helpful throughout our stay at Forsyth B & B and were excellent hosts.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller1035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Forsyth B&B in early December. Gary went out his way to help us figure out which things to see and do in Sydney. We even extended our stay....The breakfasts were a perfect way to get our days going!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bebaukus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
193 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Gary and Julie really do make an effort to make you feel welcome, so you feel like friends rather than customers.
The house has been tastefully refurbished and redesigned, and the living space is modern and relaxed. The dining area and garden and superb. The breakfasts were top notch, and the New Year's Day barbecue was tremendous - Gary sure knows how to cook!
Glebe is a querky location with lots of character, and a short walk to the waterside, and a bus ride to the city centre. Local restaurants are excellent - Glebe Point Diner, Despana particularly good. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HertsNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,452 reviews
Surry Hills
ADGE Apartment Hotel
ADGE Apartment Hotel
#1 of 175 in Sydney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forsyth Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forsyth Bed & Breakfast

Property: Forsyth Bed & Breakfast
Address: 3 Forsyth Street | Glebe, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Glebe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BOOKINGS ONLY AVAILABLE DIRECTLY WITH FORSYTH BNB. Forsyth is a delightful boutique bed and breakfast, a "piece of inner-city serenity", nestled between Glebe Point Road and Blackwattle Bay on Sydney Harbour, located 3 kms from the city and 20 minutes drive from the airport. Forsyth offers two spacious quiet guest rooms, both located upstairs, with no common walls. Each has a queen size bed, its own bathroom, reverse cycle air-conditioning, cable television, and free wi-fi. The Blackwattle Room has a separate television/ reading space and en-suite shower room, and "a circular porthole offsets the angular ceiling and gives a bird's eye view of the street". The Rozelle Room offers a full size bathroom (with double shower, bath and bidet) and a private balcony with views out towards Anzac Bridge and the city. Glebe Village has numerous restaurants which cater for every taste. Blackwattle Park with its beautiful foreshore promenade along Sydney Harbour is located a minute's walk from Forsyth, and Sydney Fish Market, a working fishing port, is close by. Forsyth is well serviced by public transport, and close to many local attractions including Chinatown, Star Casino, Darling Harbour, Cockle Bay Wharf, Sydney Aquarium and Sydney Powerhouse Museum. The Rocks and the Opera House are a short bus ride away or a walk for the hearty. In good weather, breakfast is served outside in the Japanese courtyard garden, alternatively in the dining room with its cathedral ceiling. Pick-up/drop-off at Sydney airport or cruise terminals is available on request. In order to avoid disappointment, please book early. We hope you enjoy your stay at Forsyth BnB. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing