We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to recover, relax and recharge”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sydney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Forsyth Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 61 Sydney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place to recover, relax and recharge”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I can see why the Forsyth B & B is Number 1 on Trip Advisor, lovely location, beautiful accommodation and extremely helpful hosts. The breakfast supplied is enough to get you through the day, and at night the views of Sydney from the balcony are spectacular. Will we stay again? no hesitation, Yes.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank FergieDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    3
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
156
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Gary and Julie have thought of everything and provide the most well-designed bed and breakfast in their home. We loved the art and the interior design and everything was well presented, including the healthy breakfast. It is a very central location and easy to get around on public transport without the hassles of traffic and finding a parking space. It was also surprisingly quiet and amazing to lie in bed at night with a view over the rooftops to the city. So much better than a boring hotel and Gary and Julie are the perfect hosts.

Room Tip: Bring your walking shoes- you wont want to drive anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Forsyths as a couple from the uk, for a 3 day trip to Sydney,whilst visiting friends in the Gold Coast.
We knew that from the reviews that the B & B would be great but it exceeded even our own expectaions.
We stayed for first 2 nights in the Rozelle room & the Blackwattle room for our last night as for our last day the Rozelle room was already vacated but it was no trouble for Gary & Julie to do this & they moved our things for us.Both rooms were fantastic, i loved the Balcony in Rozelle & loved waking up to the sound of parrots in the trees.
The breakfast was amazing, it was great to wake up to, everything was so fresh.
Nothing was too much for Gary & Julie, they went through trips with us & places to visit & Gary helped us to get a bus ticket for 3 days which was well worth the money if your travelling around.
Their house is beautiful, it was so relaxing being there.
Glebe is a great location, sydney centre is a short bus ride away & Forsyths is a 5 minute walk away to the beautiful harbour.
We would definetly recommend a visit to Taronga Zoo.We ate in some great places and would recommend the thai restaurant Gary & Julie told us about.we ate in the skytower revolving restaurant for our anniversary, pricey, but you get what you pay for.
I have to mention Bakus, Gary & Julies cat, as he was beautiful.
Overall we cant say a bad word about Forsyths & i could say plenty more great things.
we would reccommend it to anyone.
Thank you Gary & Julie

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

What perfect hosts! LOOK NO FURTHER!! Attention paid to every detail. Stunning,immaculate home in safe, quiet neighborhood..., airport pick up and return, dietary needs met. Bus so close! Superb restaurants a block away...easy walk to harbor. Quiet! Breakfast healthy and delicious! Thanks Gary and Julie ....you are amazing!

Room Tip: We loved the biggest room, wow! Private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank designergirl2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I travelled here alone on business. What a treat to have been able to walk out the front door, down the quaint street, to enjoy a harbour-front stroll! I visited in February -- when temperatures at home were -20C -- so a walk in the sunshine where neighbourhood residents were walking their dogs, jogging, enjoying conversations with coffee outdoors was a breath of fresh air! Nearby Blackwattle café on the point is lovely, and there are some good hangouts within walking distance that Gary and Julie will tell you about. Photos are entirely accurate, breakfast is excellent. Place is recently renovated and in a nice area three quarters through gentrification process. My room had complimentary water, sitting area, and some terrific toiletry products with a clever name. Of course I can't remember that name now, but I do remember really enjoying the handsoap especially....

Room Tip: If you like to sleep in the dark, bring blinkers. Skylight in my room (the "blackwattle"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNathalieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForsythBnB, Owner at Forsyth Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for your review.
The Blackwattle Cafe is located in a heritage building in Blackwattle Park, it is in a unique position with lovely views over the water and serves great coffee, and only a 5 minute walk away!
The toiletries at Forsyth BnB are hand-chosen - the ones you enjoyed were made by Trilogy.
The Blackwattle room does have venetian blinds built into the skylight window, which guests can activate to provide blackout conditions at night. The porthole window also has its own custom-made blind. Thank you for pointing out that you were not aware of the inbuilt blind facility, I will make sure that guests are aware of this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Ended our 3 week Oz tour in Sydney and had the wonderful pleasure of Gary and Julie at Forsyth B&B looking after our every need!
Great minds of information for what to see and where to visit, tips on best use of travel arrangements for the city.
Drop off to the airports were also a great help.
Gorgeously clean and welcoming.. breakfast was fit for a king!!
Recommend this B&B 100%

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We were in Sydney at the start of our long vacation in Australia and New Zealand.

What an excellent beginning that was to our trip!!

Gary and Julie were the perfect hosts. They went the extra mile to make us feel comfortable, and they succeeded. We were picked up and dropped off at the airport (way out of their way). We were advised of places to visit and restaurants. These folks took us under their wing and made us feel completely at home. We recommend their B&B 100%.

Oh, and don't forget their breakfast; it was way over the top.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary_and_Maria_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Surry Hills
ADGE Apartment Hotel
ADGE Apartment Hotel
#1 of 174 in Sydney
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 174 in Sydney
1,034 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 174 in Sydney
5,274 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forsyth Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forsyth Bed & Breakfast

Property: Forsyth Bed & Breakfast
Address: 3 Forsyth Street | Glebe, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Glebe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BOOKINGS ONLY AVAILABLE DIRECTLY WITH FORSYTH BNB. Forsyth is a delightful boutique bed and breakfast, a "piece of inner-city serenity", nestled between Glebe Point Road and Blackwattle Bay on Sydney Harbour, located 3 kms from the city and 20 minutes drive from the airport. Forsyth offers two spacious quiet guest rooms, both located upstairs, with no common walls. Each has a queen size bed, its own bathroom, reverse cycle air-conditioning, cable television, and free wi-fi. The Blackwattle Room has a separate television/ reading space and en-suite shower room, and "a circular porthole offsets the angular ceiling and gives a bird's eye view of the street". The Rozelle Room offers a full size bathroom (with double shower, bath and bidet) and a private balcony with views out towards Anzac Bridge and the city. Glebe Village has numerous restaurants which cater for every taste. Blackwattle Park with its beautiful foreshore promenade along Sydney Harbour is located a minute's walk from Forsyth, and Sydney Fish Market, a working fishing port, is close by. Forsyth is well serviced by public transport, and close to many local attractions including Chinatown, Star Casino, Darling Harbour, Cockle Bay Wharf, Sydney Aquarium and Sydney Powerhouse Museum. The Rocks and the Opera House are a short bus ride away or a walk for the hearty. In good weather, breakfast is served outside in the Japanese courtyard garden, alternatively in the dining room with its cathedral ceiling. Pick-up/drop-off at Sydney airport or cruise terminals is available on request. In order to avoid disappointment, please book early. We hope you enjoy your stay at Forsyth BnB. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing