We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the result”

Sydney Cricket Ground
Ranked #72 of 472 things to do in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Sydney Cricket and Sports Ground Trust is responsible for managing two of Australia’s premier sports venues – the Sydney Cricket Ground and Allianz Stadium. Both venues are located at Moore Park, only 4km from the central business district and adjacent to the popular bars, restaurants, cinemas and shops of the Entertainment Quarter. The historic Sydney Cricket Ground boasts an impressive list of credentials, encompassing cricket, Australian Rules Football, Rugby League, Rugby Union, Soccer, Baseball, Cycling and major concerts by the Rolling Stones, Billy Joel and Elton John, Michael Jackson, Madonna, the Eagles, Prince, Green Day and the Wave Aid concert. The Sydney Cricket Ground provides the perfect balance between the big crowd atmosphere and intimacy with the on-field action. These aspects, combined with the location of the venue, make visiting the SCG a special experience for all patrons.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Shame about the result”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were at the SCG for all 4 days of the test match in this years Ashes and despite the result (yes we are England fans) we had a great experience. We also went to a Big Bash game between Sydney Sixers & Perth Scorchers.

The beer was a little weak and the pies cold but other than the the organsation on match days, the security staff, the banter, the atmosphere and general experience was brilliant. The views we had were brilliant and we were proud to be part of Pink Day.

We will return and we will win....

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lawmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    107
    17
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Swans v Port Adelaide - AFL”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Fantastic venue - event bus to the venue door - great match and the facilities cater for the young and also the elderly and infirmed

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ryan4949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCG T, Public Relations Manager at Sydney Cricket Ground, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Hi Ryan,

Thank you for a great review of the SCG.

We are glad to hear you had such a great experience.

Looking forward to having you here again soon.

Kind Regards,
SCG Trust
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Most welcoming”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

An extremely generous and appropriately presented tour of the SCG and Allianz Stadium for our Support Unit students on 13/6/14. The information was passed on in an age appropriate and respectful manner by our wonderful guide - KN. Thank You SCG Trust.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCG T, Public Relations Manager at Sydney Cricket Ground, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Hi Jill,

Thank you for such a great review of the SCG Tour Experience.

We are glad to hear you had a great time and we hope you learnt alot about our two venues.

Kind Regards,
SCG Trust
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“SCG - long way to go”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Having traveled to Brisbane, Melbourne, Perth and the Gold Coast was really looking forward to ticking the SCG box. No public transport included in ticket price - SCG not on main train line. Very easy ticket collection - ground entry and seat location. Game great Sydney v Port Adelaide but view on a beautiful Saturday afternoon - not up to it from my seat - looked into sun - patrons continually in an out for drinks food toilet completely taking away view - add people shielding eyes with supplied goal rattlers supplied by sponsors - should have watched it on TV. Iconic ground large crowd - not great if all you are interested in is the footy.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCG T, Public Relations Manager at Sydney Cricket Ground, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Hi Trevor,

Thank you for your review. It's unfortunate to hear about your position in the venue.

If you have a poor position or experience again in future, please speak to one of our customer service representatives at the venue.

We hope you visit the SCG again soon.

Kind Regards,
SCG Trust
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Historic”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is a great place to watch a game of cricket. A mixture of both modern and Colonial architecture with great synergy of both. Something very special about the SCG has a real energy to it. The Noble stand is the best place to watch the cricket, from behind the bowlers arm.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCG T, Public Relations Manager at Sydney Cricket Ground, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Hi Stephanie,

Thank you for such a great review. We highly appreciate your feedback and glad to hear you had a great experience at the SCG.

We are looking forward to having you here again soon.

Kind Regards,
SCG Trust
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sydney Cricket Ground also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Sydney Cricket Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing