We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canberra couple”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney
Ranked #45 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Great location, Place is starting to be dated and we found that there was a lack of hot water to the point the it ran out one morning. Breaky is good value. Hotel was close to the Capitol Theatre and Darling Habour.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricky R, Manager at Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Wayne S,

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking time to give us your feedback. I am sorry that your recent stay did not meet the standards that you had experienced on your previous stay with us.

In regards to your feedback about hot water issue, I apologize for the inconvenience it may have caused. After we received your review, I have advised our Maintenance Department of this issue and have taken the necessary measures to rectify it.

I can assure you that we take your feedback very seriously to improve our service for our future and returning customers.

I hope that this information has assisted you with your concerns. And we are happy to see that overall you have had a pleasant stay with us again.

The staff and I at the Aspire Hotel Sydney would like to thank you again for taking the time to comment on the property and we appreciate your kind feedback. Also I hope that we will be able to welcome you again at the hotel the next time you visit Sydney.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (718)
There are newer reviews for Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

473 - 479 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Close to Darling Harbour , reasonably priced, clean and reasonably priced undercover parking. The staff are friendly and helpful.Chinatown is just down the road for great chinese food. A short walk to Central station

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennyKincumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricky R, Manager at Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear jennyKincumber,

The staff and I at Aspire Hotel Sydney are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel.

Many of our guests choose to stay at the Aspire Hotel based on our quiet and convenient location, and we try our best to meet our guests’ needs. We are currently looking into a gradual refurbishment of the hotel, and we hope to further provide guests with more comfortable stays

I hope that we will be able to welcome you again at the hotel the next time you visit Sydney.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Three nights in Sydney at The Aspire Hotel was relaxing, convenient and very affordable. The staff from the moment we made inquiries about staying there to when we checked out were informed, polite and ever helpful. We found the hotel on a website but on contacting the hotel directly, we were able to get a much better deal. Proximity to Darling Harbour, and Chinatown (Old and New) involves a ten to fifteen minute walk. The street is so quiet, hard to believe you are so close to the Chinatown/Darling Harbour! Car parking at the hotel is great, unless you are driving a large four wheel drive. The staff again are very helpful, approachable and easily as professional as those at five star hotels. If you would like affordable clean accommodation close to Chinatown/Darling Harbour, quiet and restful sleep and value car parking and great service, then see what these friendly people can do for you.

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plankman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricky R, Manager at Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Plankman66,

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking time to give us a wonderful feedback from your recent with us at Aspire Hotel Sydney. And we are so thrilled and glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Many of our guests choose to stay at the Aspire Hotel based on our quiet and convenient location, and we try our best to meet our guests’ needs. We always try to offer a great value for money accommodation with a friendly service to all our guests.

I am glad that our staff were able to help you with your requests and I will be sure to pass on your comments to them.

The staff and I at the Aspire Hotel Sydney would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on the property and we appreciate your kind feedback.

Once again thank you for taking the time and effort to leave a review of our hotel. I hope that we will be able to welcome you again at the hotel the next time you visit Sydney.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed 6 nights in a triple room (myself,husband and 10yr old son) and it was really good. Very well priced with good service. Décor is getting a bit tired but you're not paying top dollar so don't expect the flashest surroundings. The location is easy walking distance to Darling Harbour shops, China Town, Paddy's market. We even walked back from the Opera House without too much effort - our son doesn't like too much walking but even he did it easily!
Would recommend if you are wanting spend you money on activities rather than fancy accommodation. Room was spacious and kept very clean every day. Would stay again.
There also a great café (Caffetini) around the corner for breakfast. The hotel breakfast would be the only negative (a bit greasy and not a lot offered)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirstin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricky R, Manager at Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Kristin B,

Thank you for your recent stay in Aspire Hotel Sydney and for the time taken to leave your feedback. We are glad that you have overall enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you had a nice time in Sydney. We always try to offer a great value for money accommodation with a friendly service to all our guests.

Many of our guests choose to stay at the Aspire Hotel based on our quiet and convenient location, and we try our best to meet our guests’ needs. We are currently looking into a gradual refurbishment of the hotel, and we hope to further provide guests with more comfortable stays

In regards to your feedback about breakfast issue, I apologize for the inconvenience it may have caused. After we received your review, I have spoken to our Food and Beverage staff about this issue and I can assure you that we take your feedback very seriously to improve our service for our future and returning customers.

Once again thank you for taking the time and effort to leave a review of our hotel.
I hope that we will be able to welcome you again at the hotel the next time you visit Sydney.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have chosen to stay at the Aspire Sydney twice now, staff are true professionals, the facilities are good, the location to entertainment is hard to beat, the cost was within budget expectations, especially during school holidays. We will be utilising the Aspire again without doubt, it may not be called the ritz but the Aspire exceeds all expectations in other areas. Thanks to the staff for making our visit to Sydney more memorable.

Room Tip: East side rooms have a balcony that can be utilised in warmer months
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricky R, Manager at Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Ross A,

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking time to give us a wonderful feedback from your recent with us at Aspire Hotel Sydney. And we are so thrilled and glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Many of our guests choose to stay at the Aspire Hotel based on our quiet and convenient location, and we try our best to meet our guests’ needs. We always try to offer a great value for money accommodation with a friendly service to all our guests.

I am glad that our staff were able to help you with your requests and I will be sure to pass on your comments to them.

The staff and I at the Aspire Hotel Sydney would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on the property and we appreciate your kind feedback.

Once again thank you for taking the time and effort to leave a review of our hotel. I hope that we will be able to welcome you again at the hotel the next time you visit Sydney.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is the second time I have stayed in this hotel. It really is great value for money and a really top location for Darling Harbour goers.
Walking into the hotel its very clean and smells lovely & fresh! The staff and very friendly and helpful!
However the room we stayed in this time was room 423 and was in need of maintenance.
The sliding door to the balcony wouldn't lock and by the damage to the door, maybe hasn't locked in a while.
Good thing hubby carries his Leatherman and it is now working properly again!!
The king size bed was extremely hard and after walking over 10kms one day and walking 5 kms the next plus the Harbour Bridge Climb it did nothing to help relieve our aching muscles! Because we also woke up stiff from a hard bed!
The shower head was terrible, it spat water out in every direction in your face and hair and little on the boy to wash yourself! Very unenjoyable!
We stayed for breakfast which was supposed to be 7 - 10am but at 9.15am was told it would be closing in 10 minutes and the hot food wasn't that hot and very little of it left.
All in all though, this is a great place to stay. Minor complaints this time but I have no doubt next time we stay these will be rectified.
I have to say though, we have stayed at alot of METRO hotels, and have vowed never to stay at another one, I was surprised when I walked in that this hotel was a Metro Hotel. Metro should be very proud of this one, as there is no comparison with other Metro places we have stayed! It is the best one by far!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MummaD68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricky R, Manager at Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Jodi D,

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking time to give us your feedback. I am sorry that your recent stay did not meet the standards that you had experienced on your previous stay with us.

In regards to your feedback about room issues (the sliding door, bed and shower head), I apologize for the inconvenience it may have caused. After we received your review, I have advised our Maintenance and Housekeeping Managers of these issues and have taken the necessary measures to rectify them.

I would also like to apologise for the concerns you have brought up in regards to our breakfast timings. I have spoken to our Food and Beverage staff about this issue and can assure you that steps have been put in place make sure this problem is avoided in the future.

I can assure you that we take your feedback very seriously to improve our service for our future and returning customers.

I hope that this information has assisted you with your concerns. And we are happy to see that overall you have had a pleasant stay with us again.

The staff and I at the Aspire Hotel Sydney would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on the property and we appreciate your kind feedback. Also I hope that we will be able to welcome you again at the hotel the next time you visit Sydney.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We were a party of 3 adults and 2 children and stayed in the 1 room (twin double with sofa bed) for less than $200. Walking distance to fish market and china town and darling harbour. Close to trams, ferries and busses. Generally fabulous customer service and room standard. Beds were comfy and there was a spacious bathroom and balcony. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The twin double rooms are quite large!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazmin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricky R, Manager at Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Jazmin E,

The staff and I at Aspire Hotel Sydney are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel.

Many of our guests choose to stay at the Aspire Hotel based on our quiet and convenient location, and we try our best to meet our guests’ needs. We are currently looking into a gradual refurbishment of the hotel, and we hope to further provide guests with more comfortable stays

I hope that we will be able to welcome you again at the hotel the next time you visit Sydney.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#54 of 178 in Sydney
312 reviews
Vulcan Hotel
#79 of 178 in Sydney
401 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 178 in Sydney
4,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#40 of 178 in Sydney
1,738 reviews
Central Business District
Megaboom City Hotel
Megaboom City Hotel
#68 of 178 in Sydney
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney

Address: 383-389 Bulwara Rd, Sydney, New South Wales 2007, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: £78 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney has recently (Dec 2016) completed a full refurbishment of the property including brand new guest rooms, restaurant, lobby, bar and function rooms. Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney is conveniently located in a quiet street adjacent to Darling Harbour. Our 96 rooms offer spacious, comfortable and contemporary accommodation, some with excellent city views and open air balconies. Car parking, internet access & breakfast also available. See the best Sydney has to offer, with Darling Harbour, ICC Sydney, Star Casino, China Town, Paddy's Markets and Sydney's CBD all within easy walking distance of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing