We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable, handy for convention centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
APX Apartments Darling Harbour
Ranked #113 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
melbourne
Level Contributor
110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“comfortable, handy for convention centre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

The Executive Studio apartment was large and comfortable with a balcony, even if the view was of some apartments across the narrow street. The kitchen facilities were rather basic, with a microwave, plug in hot plate and no dishwasher. The location was convenient for attending the Sydney Convention Centre and was also only a short distance from the Town Hall area of the CBD.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ochlophobic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    117
    62
    33
    48
See reviews for
46
118
27
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Very spacious room! I thought the staff was friendly and very helpful. They let us leave our bags there after our checkout.

It was quiet considering it's in the middle of Chinatown! Comfortable big bed and nice shower!

Have no problem going back to Quest on Dixon.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zapjelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

I stay every week in Sydney in a serviced apartment for business. I spent a week here in a studio. The hotel feels like just a residential apartment block, with few Quest rooms for sale and lots of residents coming and going. It had a small kitchenette which was OK, but the whole apartment felt crampt, very dated and not very well maintained. The bed was squeezed between the TV and the wall, and was very low and uncomfortable. In fact when I arrived I really did not want to stay the week. The upside is lots of restaurants close by and they do offer great rates, i guess you get what you pay for. I would not stay again - but if you want cheap, good location for a night or 2 this could be your place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank essendontvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

Set in amongst the backpackers and buzz of Chinatown there is no doubt that the Quest on Dixon is well located in downtown Sydney. A convenient place to stay if you're attending a Fair/Conference at Darling Harbour with just a short stroll to the Convention Centre. The overall atmosphere here is a bit glum, dank & dingy; although the rooms are spacious and have all the facilities you would want I would hate to be staying here for more than a few days...why is it that the smell of take away food still lingers in lift shafts and corridors for days afterwards? This place also needs a good refurbishment!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marek010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
171 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

OK, this is not the greatest apartment hotel in the world, but our studio room was spacious and clean ( it was serviced daily ); it comes with a shower in the bathroom, no tub. The beds are a bit small; the lighting is very good in the bathroom but there's no light above the table ! We had a problem with our fridge and had to ask at least 3 times before it was looked after. Our room was on the 4th floor and the view from our window was .... the wall of another building. Personnel was friendly except for one man with blond curly hair who wasn't even polite. Location is very good and area is safe at night, is my opinion. Would I like to stay at Quest again ? I think next time I'll try some other place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dezdemona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingen, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

We were delighted with this accommodation...clean, well appointed room, comfortable bed, bright bathroom, courteous staff, but best of all is the location - right on the edge of Chinatown and Darling Harbour and a short walk to Paddy's Market and the Entertainment Centre. Don't expect expansive views as it is located on a quiet and narrow street, but it means you are away from the noise of the city and will sleep well. We will be returning.

Room Tip: Request a high level and maybe a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mouseholemax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

Stayed here for one night. Location is great, just next to Chinatown. Room was very spacious and clean.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thatsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
APX World Square
APX World Square
#106 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Central Business District
Seasons Darling Harbour
Seasons Darling Harbour
#147 of 174 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Park Regis City Centre
Park Regis City Centre
#121 of 174 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to APX Apartments Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APX Apartments Darling Harbour

Property: APX Apartments Darling Harbour
Address: 8 Dixon St | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District , Chinatown
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — APX Apartments Darling Harbour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to APX APARTMENTS Darling Harbour Serviced Apartments. This is inner city living. With Darling Harbour as your neighbourhood, Cockle Bay as your kitchen, Chinatown your dining room and public transport arriving on your doorstep, make APX APARTMENTS Darling Harbour your choice of Sydney CBD accommodation. Most of the spacious and modern studio and one bedroom Darling Harbour serviced apartments feature large private balconies. Sydney's most sought after living location and only a two-minute walk from Sydney's Exhibition and Convention Centres! The perfect Darling Harbour apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your APX Apartments Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Dixon Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Quest On Dixon Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing