We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
APX Apartments Darling Harbour
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$241
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Travelodge Hotel Sydney(Sydney)
US$119
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$241
US$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$157
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
QT Sydney(Sydney)
US$230
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$133
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$221
US$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$295
US$259
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (420)
Filter reviews
420 results
Traveller rating
110
147
72
37
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
147
72
37
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdixon streetdarling harbourexecutive studio apartmentgreat locationthese apartmentslarge balconychinatown areaasian foodchinese gardengenerous sizestay there againpaddy's marketbusiness tripa great place to staywashing machineroom was spaciousshort stroll
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
318 - 323 of 420 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We were only staying one night at the end of a holiday but this was a huge disappointment. The location is pretty good, being close to Darling Harbour but the outside is quite scruffy looking and the foyer looks nothing like the photo shown on their ads. Not only was there no balcony but the window looked over an enclosed area with a corrugated roof below and rusty machinery! The manager was quite nasty when our credit card was declined (we had been travelling for 5 weeks and had no problem with it before or since) as he was demanding $200 security deposit (room already paid in full weeks before on same card!).
There are no staff on premises overnight so any emergency or a key that failed to operate the security system would have made life very difficult. We will not book Quest again! We would agree with other reviews in regard to the drivers licence copying. We visited friends at a nearby Meriton which was everything we had expected to find, and so much more(pool, spa, reception fully staffed, separate bedroom, lounge/diner/kitchen and washer/dryer) - for $22 per night more! No comparison!

Room Tip: I have no reason to suppose any of the other rooms are any better- the manager was dealing with another guest who had been sent from another Quest property which had overbooked and he said he had no better rooms to offer her than the one she was expressing disappointment with!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 604Athena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

pleasantly surprised at the great quality, cleanliness, value and incredible quietness despite busy but handy location to many attractions. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. Foxtel inclusion would have been nice but had no time to watch anyway.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank Guy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

This hotel has an awesome location, the rooms are large, quiet and self contained. We had our son with us (hes 5) and he slept on the sofa bed. The balcony was good if you wanted to use it with a small outodoor setting. We loved it. Eateries around the hotel great. Bathroom large however shower small?? No pool or spa

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingcircus08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Stayed for one night to see a show at Sydney Entertainment Centre. Location is great, very close to the EC and right in the heart of Chinatown, where delicious restaurants abound.

Customer service was excellent from a pre-stay enquiry regarding parking to check-in and check-out. Upgraded to an executive apartment with balcony and late check out permitted which were nice touches.

Parking is a little pricey - $40 per night. Plenty of other parking options around this area, so if you do your research you can do much better.

Room is spacious and well-equipped. Shower was a bit strange - bathroom was quite a decent size, however the shower is tiny, less than 1m square - a bit awkward if you need to shave your legs! Water is plentiful and hot though.

Linen is not the best quality, sheets and towels a little hard, but this is not a luxury hotel, so don't expect too much.

Would have liked to be able to access wi-fi - could only hook up to the internet via a network cable, which my laptop doesn't support.

In summary, location is great, so if you are here for an event at SEC, or looking for an apartment close to the city, this is perfect. If you are looking for a quiet luxury hotel, this probably isn't for you!

Room Tip: Away from lifts are better...balconies are good, but can get noisy and smell of smoke from adjoining balconies may annoy the sensitive.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alibl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Stayed here recently as my regular hotel was full. It's hard to find, located down the end of a rather grubby Chinatown laneway adjacent to car park entrances and boarded-up commercial premises. Don't drive here. Just don't.

The lobby is functional and rather uninviting too, resembling the entrance to a run-of-the-mill residential tower rather than a hotel.

As a corporate traveller, I was a bit taken aback by the demand to provide a drivers licence, which was photocopied, for ID. Sure, I understand the need to protect against fraud, but this isn't some low-rent backpacker hostel. Maybe this practice is OK with the 'Wotif' set, but it's not OK in corporate traveller land, as far as I am concerned.

Those concerns aside, the rooms are large and well appointed. The bed was comfy and the furnishings were nice.

Oddly, my room had the world's largest bathroom, yet the shower cubicle was tiny and would not have been out of place in a caravan. The original intention may have been to include a washing machine in the bathroom (as is the case in many Quest properties) but there wasn't one.

Another interesting comparison with other properties in the Quest chain is the lack of proper 1-bedroom apartments. From what I could tell, this place is almost entirely made up of studio-style rooms.

Most Quest properties have convenient arrangements with nearby restaurants, where guests can charge back meals. At this property, we are offered a booklet with hundreds of restaurants, with meals delivered via a centralised 'courier'. I didn't like the idea of a meal being prepped in Kings Cross or somewhere fairly remote, then being shipped across town, arriving at my door stale and cold. I just ate locally, but of course this meant I missed out on the convenience of being able to centralise my espenses via the chargeback facility.

For the price paid I am reasonably happy with my stay, although for not much more money there are some much nicer, fully licenced and serviced hotels nearby, with in-house restaurants and 24 hour reception, etc.

I'm told there has recently been a change of ownership, so I will wait and see what improvements result from this. I'd stay again, based on value for money.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the lifts.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ram N, General Manager at APX Apartments Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2012

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to provide us feedback after your recent stay at Quest on Dixon at Darling Harbour. We sincerely appreciate your comments. With regards to charge back, we have charge back to a local cafe whose collateral is available in the apartments. In relation to your comment re photocopying of ID, as you have mentioned a few fraudulent card users have resulted in this requirement becoming a process unfortunately. However, if you are a frequent user, this most certainly is not insisted on check in. We are happy to place your details on our corporate data base which will not only provide you with a guaranteed rate each time but also provide free upgrades when available.

We thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again to the Quest on Dixon Darling Harbour on your next visit to Sydney.

Kind regards

Ram Nathan
General Manager
Email: rnathan@apxgroup.com.au
Tel: +61 2 9291 1900
Fax: +61 2 9291 1999
Mobile : 61 402 169 235
Web: Quest Rosehill
Web: Quest Potts Point
Web: Quest World Square
Web: Quest on Dixon Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews