We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean, but lacking in soul”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
APX Apartments Darling Harbour
Ranked #116 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 6 September 2009

I chose this hotel because it is close to China town and I like the late night atmosphere after a long day of meetings in Sydney. Its good to be able to walk to restaurants and shops that are open late, and with plenty of people around. This hotel is opposite a cute little Japanese restaurant that is good for a beer and Obento box.
The hotel provides good basic accommodation but is lacking in those little touches that make hotels seem special places to stay. Also, I had to run the hot water for quite a long time in the morning before the shower warmed up. The reception staff were friendly enough. This wouldn't be my number one choice but I wouldn't recommend against it either.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulzE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

366 - 372 of 388 reviews

An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 25 August 2009

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 19 August 2009

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 7 January 2009

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 January 2009

We stayed through New Year and it was a fantastic location! We could walk to all the major attractions and public transportation. The staff were friendly and helpful. It was a great place for a family stay in Sydney center, with Tumbalong park nearby for the kids to play. The studio was fine, but we upgraded to a one bedroom that was much more spacious and better suited to a family of four.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PharmGirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2008

Hotel is situated on the edge of Darling Harbour and China Town, 5 minutes walk from Paddy's market. Accommodation was clean and comfortable. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a 1 bedroom apartment with laundry facilities, but if you are in a studio, there are laundry facilities in the hotel for guest use -the washing powder is free. The staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is a 5 minute walk fromTown Hall train station - from which you can buy an all day pass for use on all ferries, trains and buses. Highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merseytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2006

We arrived at Quest at 08.30 on a Saturday morning very tired from our UK flight. Asked to leave our bags in reception whilst awaiting access at 14.00 to our Studio Room. We were immediately advised that a room was available and given a key to a 1 Bed Appt. This enabled us to grab a couple of hours needed sleep before venturing out on our first visit to Sydney.

The Appt was large with a big bedroom and even bigger lounge with full kitchen facilities. The bathroom was very clean with a good power shower and toiletries provided. We had a balcony with table and chairs which was an added bonus. Whilst we used the Appt as mainly a base to sleep, it also had TV/DVD/CD.

The location was excellent for us, situated as it is only a 2 minute walk to Darling Harbour if you turn right out of the front door and 2 minute walk to Chinatown if you turn left. With Sydney being a relatively small city we could easily walk to almost anywhere, within the city, in 20 minutes. The main shopping centre was about a 10 minute walk.

We found the reception staff to be exceedingly friendly and very helpful, although we had no real need for much contact. The room was very quiet with little noise from the road outside, which is partly pedestrianised.

All in all the Quest was a great place to stay and at £75 per night for a 3 night stay, (Booked over the internet), I thought it was good value for money, for a CIty Centre Hotel/Appt.

My wife & I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
APX World Square
APX World Square
#113 of 179 in Sydney
387 reviews
Central Business District
Seasons Darling Harbour
Seasons Darling Harbour
#156 of 179 in Sydney
501 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Central Business District
Seasons Harbour Plaza
Seasons Harbour Plaza
#131 of 179 in Sydney
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to APX Apartments Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APX Apartments Darling Harbour

Address: 8 Dixon St | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District , Chinatown
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: £100 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — APX Apartments Darling Harbour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to APX APARTMENTS Darling Harbour Serviced Apartments. This is inner city living. With Darling Harbour as your neighbourhood, Cockle Bay as your kitchen, Chinatown your dining room and public transport arriving on your doorstep, make APX APARTMENTS Darling Harbour your choice of Sydney CBD accommodation. Most of the spacious and modern studio and one bedroom Darling Harbour serviced apartments feature large private balconies. Sydney's most sought after living location and only a two-minute walk from Sydney's Exhibition and Convention Centres! The perfect Darling Harbour apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your APX Apartments Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Dixon Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Quest On Dixon Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing