We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good. Had a great stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
APX Apartments Darling Harbour
Ranked #111 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
A TripAdvisor Member
“Very Good. Had a great stay.”
Reviewed 8 November 2005

Great staff. Very large room that was a studio. Balcony. All was good and the location was perfect with the city and restaraunts and Darling Harbour at the doorstep.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    120
    63
    33
    48
See reviews for
46
120
27
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2005

We stayed at the Quest apartments for 4 ngihts in February while we were in town for the Global Challenge yacht race stopover. Our room was HUGE - very clean and tidy with nice decor. Convenient location close to Darling Harbour and central Sydney. To be honest we really only slept in our room and were out and about during the day. Just remember - it's serviced apartments not a hotel so no room service, bell boys etc.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sygnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 July 2005

Having stayed here before, I made the reservation with confidence. The location to China Town, Paddy's Market, Darling Harbor and theatre made it idea for me and my companion (elderly relative). Dixon Street is quite scary at night with its abandoned buildings and dark pathways.

The hotel knew that we were 2 women traveling together. They gave us a teeny room, hardly a 'suite' as advertised, with one bed. The additional bed and bedding cost over $60.00 extra! We would have saved money by buying linnen at Paddy's Market! Their attituide towards this was horrid.

It is clean and convenient. You can do better.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 January 2004

We had 5 nights at Quest on Dixon. The accommodation was superb. The room was spacious, well equipped and spotlessly clean. There was a kitchen, lounge area, queen bed and spacious bathroom. The location is fantastic. We were able to explore Darling Harbour, visit the cafes and markets of China Town, eat Spanish and easily catch trains, buses or ferries. We thought that Quest on Dixon was an outstanding place to stay and we will return.

  • Stayed January 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2003

The Quest on Dixon is not a bad place to stay, as long as you realize that it is not a hotel, but serviced apartments. There is one clerk on duty from 7 am to 7 pm, and no "frills" such as room service, bell boys, etc. We found the unit to be clean and comfortable - good basic accomodations for those on a budget. There are kitchen facilities, which may also help in stretching the budget. Dixon street is a short, one-way street near China Town in downtown Sydney - definitely not in an 'upscale' part of town. It is a short walk to Darling Harbor, however, as well as the CBD. We were only in Sydney one night, and the Quest served us well. However, next time we will probably chose some place a little better located and a little (perhaps a lot) more expensive.

Helpful?
1 Thank Trillium541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 December 2003

I was disappointed Quest on Dixon considering how it was made out to be. I disagree with the 4 star rating. Considering it was the last night i was spending with my boyfriend for 2 months i was expecting something much nicer. Our room had no balcony, it was facing to the back overlooking the roof of some seedy building. The picture on the website is false - there is massive hotel in front of it, so even if you did have a balcony you would have nothing to look at anyway. It also only 5 stories high - the pictures makes it out to be much much bigger. The door was paper thin and you could hear everything in the hall way. A bath would of been nice. Everytime we came downstairs the man at the desk gave us filthy looks. There was no cable channels, the air conditioner didnt work. The only thing going for this hotel is the location to darling harbour and chinatown. THATS IT. Overall i was quite disappointed. If anyone pays the full rate of $209 they are completely insane - i think even $145 was a bit steep. I recommend paying the extra $20 or so and staying at one of the bigger hotels.
Next time i will be for sure. Cheers

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 September 2003

All the information on the Internet makes Quest on Dixon out to be a great place to stay... it's not (with a few exceptions).

First off, it's not a hotel. It's a "serviced apartment" and the differences are quite apparent. Even the hotel pictures on the Internet are misleading; they've been doctored up a lot. Only the hotel structure itself is real, the rest is digitally added. It's located on a tiny one way street, basically an alley, next to boarded up retail shops, posters on the walls and dirty sidewalks.

The location itself is not near any attractions or sights other than Darling Harbour and taxis are very expensive to get around the city.

The rooms are _very_ minimally furnished. The "office desk" barely fits a laptop after they put a TV, mini-stereo, phone and desk light on it.
The bathroom has NO countertops. Just a toilet, a small wall-mounted sink and a shower. They even taped a tissue box to the towel rack for lack of a flat surface above the floor.

The doors are paper thin and everything can be heard outside the odd smelling hallway. Voices and doors opening/closing are very loud and woke me up on several occasions through the night.

There is no in-room safe. There is no deadbolt or catch on the door.

The "4 star hotel style lobby" is a small desk with only one person on duty between 7am-11pm. There is no after-hours check-in, and if you lose your key you can't get into the building until they open at 7am.

The only thing going for Quest on Dixon is that it's inexpensive to stay for a long period of time. The direct-dial phone line doesn't incur any additional charges, there's a self-serve laudromat to save on outrageous hotel laundry services and a kitchenette to avoid eating out for every meal of the day.

I would not recommend staying here for a short vacation or business trip. In fact I left Quest on Dixon 3 days early to check into a real hotel.

It's very apparent that these serviced apartments are designed to be sold (of which they are, starting at AU$440,000!) as a city residence and to be furnished as such. A "4 star hotel" it is not.

Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
APX World Square
APX World Square
#105 of 175 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Central Business District
Seasons Darling Harbour
Seasons Darling Harbour
#150 of 175 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Park Regis City Centre
Park Regis City Centre
#123 of 175 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to APX Apartments Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APX Apartments Darling Harbour

Property: APX Apartments Darling Harbour
Address: 8 Dixon St | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District , Chinatown
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — APX Apartments Darling Harbour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to APX APARTMENTS Darling Harbour Serviced Apartments. This is inner city living. With Darling Harbour as your neighbourhood, Cockle Bay as your kitchen, Chinatown your dining room and public transport arriving on your doorstep, make APX APARTMENTS Darling Harbour your choice of Sydney CBD accommodation. Most of the spacious and modern studio and one bedroom Darling Harbour serviced apartments feature large private balconies. Sydney's most sought after living location and only a two-minute walk from Sydney's Exhibition and Convention Centres! The perfect Darling Harbour apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your APX Apartments Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Dixon Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Quest On Dixon Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing