We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central, very comfortable bed, slightly ageing hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Ranked #18 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
kewpielovesyou
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Central, very comfortable bed, slightly ageing hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

I first visited the Amora prob 10 years ago. Back then it was a schmick hotel - new! fast forward many years later, it still is a very plush hotel, but the signs of an ageing building can be seen. The room: spacious room, with a very comfortable bed. no question! they also have a pillow menu that includes a chiropractic pillow, a butterfly pillow, a microfibre and a duck down and others to choose from. The TV was located adjacent to the bed. so if you wanted to watch TV, you needed to turn your head 90 degs (in my case, to the RIGHT). Not so cool. It gets very uncomfortable very quickly. Other highlights: a very spacious bathroom. Almost art deco in style with french doors and a clean black and white tile scheme. well lit too! What wasn't so good: the toilet cistern would hiss for a very long time after flushing. that hissing sound emanates thru the room. slightly annoying.... the blinds on the window also needs replacing. It's a 5 star hotel with very very very badly fraying blinds.... seriously, you can spend a few dollars to change it and make a difference. Bottle 'hotel water' wasn't free either. $6 a bottle from memory. The room was also quite dim. Bed side lights were adequate for spot lighting the area, but not very good overall lighting for the room.

A word on the reception, check-in process - rather emotional less and lacking warmth. Don't get me wrong, am not after a hug, but for those that would have travelled long distances to get to Sydney, a smile and friendly disposition wouldn't hurt. Plus, smiling doesn't cost!

The hotel itself is located in a very good location. So it's not right in the shopping precinct, but it's a short walk and close to circular quay.

Room Tip: ask for a room that faces the harbour, north Syd
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kewpielovesyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,888
    2,622
    733
    206
    102
See reviews for
1,192
3,175
395
1,901
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bathurst, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

We live in regiponal NSW and we treated our family to the Mary Poppins show in Sydney so we thought we'd also enjoy the indulgence of a 5 star hotel that night in the big smoke as well . We booked the Amore Jamison online on ubid4rooms.com - a website where you tell the hotel how much you want to pay within reason as we heard you can get much lower deals on this site and we did, gettign a great deal on two adjoining rooms with city views - we a had a great time and we spent less than we had budgeted for so I can recommend Ubid4rooms if you want to get a better deal online. And the Amora Jamison is not as well iknown as other hotels but a real find. We had a memorable night in Sydney.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyfun022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

Although the rooms were clean enough, it didn't feel like 5 star. I'd give it 4 at most or probably 3.5. I had to request ear plugs to sleep but reception said they ran out the week before because it's something people request a lot. The room was small to medium size and a little dark. The bathroom felt quite dated. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renata007_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

Welcomed by friendly staff. We got in early and were so happy to find our room was ready for us at 10am. Went straight up to the room and saw there was a beautiful bath tub and comfortable bed, Later we enjoyed the spa, sauna and steam room. The spa water could have been a little hotter and getting a taxi from the hotel wasn't the easiest on a sat night. Otherwise we had a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank schultzemily03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two nights last weekend. We booked a non smoking standard room and upgraded to a club room upon check in. The first club room had a very strong smoking smell. We changed to another club room, later we found that water was dropping from the celling in the bathroom, we could not stay. We were given a suit for compensation. The room had a nice view. After having changed room three times, we stayed. We were very unhappy, the toilet trickled water, we could not sleep well because of its noise.
When we checked in, we were told that we could get light refreshment all day at the Jamieson Club. We went there at 2ish in the afternoon, the coffee machine was not working, nothing else could be found. When we went there again at about 8pm, the room was locked.
We were told by the staff that we could have breakfast at either 31st floor Jamieson Club or in 1st floor Gallery dining room. When we checked out we were charged extra for having had breakfast in the Gallery instead of the Jamieson Club. We objected and the charge was waived but the experience was still uncomfortable.
This is a five star hotel but the rating and price are higher than the quality.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

We enjoyed our one-night stay at the Amora Hotel Jamison... We were going to the theatre in the city and decided to avoid the hassle of getting home late and so booked in this hotel.

It is in a great location, just near Wynyard station - close enough to all that you'd be wanting to do in the city but not right in the middle of the action, thus allowing a bit of peace and quiet.

Should probably mention that given the short stay, we didn't really utilise the facilities or have a need to engage with the staff at all, so can't exactly comment on service.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank srigg1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

I have stayed at this hotel on serveral ocassions and have never been disappointed it is quality all the way. All staff are well drilled in customer service and nothing is every too much trouble.All staff acknowledge you from the door to the housekeeping staff.
I have no hestitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hutchliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,184 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,995 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,046 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Property: Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Address: 11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the Sydney's well kept secrets, Amora Hotel Jamison is quite simply the place to be. Whether you are staying in one of our Newly Refurbished Deluxe Rooms or Suites, attending a Conference or Gala Dinner, unwinding at Amora Day Spa, enjoying Spanish cuisine in CHARR Restaurant or indulging in our Afternoon Tea in GALLERY Lounge Bar, you will experience genuine traditional personalised service. Superbly located above Wynyard Station between George and York Street, within walking distance to all major iconic attractions, Amora Hotel Jamison is renowned for spacious and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing