We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i love this hotel, so modern!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Ranked #17 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“i love this hotel, so modern!”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on and off for about 6 years. last time was in April 2012 for two nights. note I have a choice of staying at the Shangri La (a five star property) and I opt not to as the service is so terrible there! the rooms are beautifully modern, and i have stayed in quite a few sydney hotels and have a lot to compare to. bathrooms are modern and spotless. furniture is good. room size is excellent.
you normally get a little bit of a view out of your window..usually offices. however you still get an idea of sydney..I have never had breakfast here, seem to remember it was quite expensive, but in the morning they set up a coffee stand outside reception so you can grab and go. The reason I keep coming is the service. I dont know how the do it but the staff are always so friendly and accomodating. Location is good, 2 mins from circular quay and all the shops. Gym is small but adequate, pool is good and usually very quiet. Located on a bit of a hill. cannot fault it and I return again and again

Room Tip: ask for a room looking over york street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,225
    2,824
    780
    217
    106
See reviews for
1,318
3,391
419
2,091
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I bought our stay at this hotel through a mystery deal. Quite expensive but worth the price for the location. Short walk to both circular quay and darling harbour. We also had a view of the water from our room on the 23rd floor. Bed was comfortable and room was reasonably sized. Bathroom was quite big, with a seperate shower and bath. I would stay here again because the room and the location was good however I would look for a better price :) overall, it was a nice hotel with a nice room and great location.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank -_-kateeeeeeeeee-_-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This hotel was well situated. It had facilities that we didn't use. It had facilities in the room we didn't use! It has an interesting and attractive design. Lot's of quirky features. Some of them a little frustrating at times such as the advanced light switches and dimmers that take some time to work out. There wasn't anything to dislike.

Room Tip: Having glimpse of harbour views is possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

I stayed at the Amora Sydney for a couple of nights. The view from my room was stunning. Service was at a very high standard. 2 restaurants and 2 different bars were spot on.
My room had it all; wireless connection, great room space and beautiful daylight.
The executive lounge was a great place for relaxing after a long day of work.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maurorisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We've stayed here several times for business. It is located at the northern end of Sydney, and is an easy walk to CirculAr Quay and The Rocks. Lots of great shops and restaurants nearby.

The hotel is great (nice pool and spa), and while the food from the restaurants are also good, it is a bit pricey.

Overall an excellent hotel

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_Roach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I booked the mystery Wotif deal and this was the Hotel that I was given. I was pleasantly surprised. It was close to the Rocks and Circular Quay (5 min walk) and about 10 mins to the main shops and Queen Victoria building. Wynard train station is just below the Hotel so ideal esp. if you are needing to get to the airport, either domestic or international.The room was a good size and the bathroom had a lovely deep bath. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The carpet in the room needs renewing but the rest of it was very clean and acceptable. I dined in the restaurant and again staff very friendly but the food wasn't anything to rave about and quite expensive so i would go to the rocks or the quay to eat.Breakfast was excellent in that it had a good selection of fruit and a chef who would cook an omlette to your liking.Overall i thought for the price of $179 it was good value. I had a massage at the Amora spa and that was a relaxing and enjoyable treatment.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

Like many we took the Wotif mystery hotel deal for two rooms over Mother's Day. We've stayed in most of the decent hotels in the city over the years and this isn't too bad and at the price ($179) pretty decent value.

The location is moderately good. It's much quieter than being on George St even though it is only 100 meters away and you're close to Circular Quay and the Rocks.

The lobby is bland international hotel. The rooms are a decent size but the wood was scratched and faded in both of our rooms. The beds are exceptionally comfortable. The bathrooms are fine but I prefer a separate shower than one in the bath. Service was pleasant and efficient.

The buffet breakfast was poor for a 5 star hotel. Pay more and go to the Four Seasons nearby if buffets are your thing. Otherwise you can grab a trendy brekkie at any number of nearby cafes.

So, if you get a good deal you won't be upset but don't expect to be blown away by your good fortune.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank OnThePoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#18 of 178 in Sydney
5,614 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 178 in Sydney
4,275 reviews
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#27 of 178 in Sydney
6,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Property: Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Address: 11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the Sydney's well kept secrets, Amora Hotel Jamison is quite simply the place to be. Whether you are staying in one of our Newly Refurbished Deluxe Rooms or Suites, attending a Conference or Gala Dinner, unwinding at Amora Day Spa, enjoying Spanish cuisine in CHARR Restaurant or indulging in our Afternoon Tea in GALLERY Lounge Bar, you will experience genuine traditional personalised service. Superbly located above Wynyard Station between George and York Street, within walking distance to all major iconic attractions, Amora Hotel Jamison is renowned for spacious and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing