We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Million dollar view from our window on level 25”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Ranked #22 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2013

A luxury bed for the night, so soft and comfortable, a wonderful swimming pool and a full on steam room and sauna, in a location so close to the Rocks area and to Circular Quay. The staff were amazingly helpful and courteous, and gave us directions which were well thought out and helpful. I spent at least 2 hours relaxing on the chaise-width window ledge, looking out at the spectacular, 180 degree views to the south of Sydney from our window. The hotel was so nice and quiet, and a very relaxing place to stay. I would love to stay there again in the future. The room was smaller than I expected, but the view from the room was a lot larger than I had thought likely.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marika255093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,674 - 7,680 of 8,825 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2013

This was our third time staying here (always the secret hotel booked with lastminute.com). It's a great location for the habour/Opera House (which was our destination). The rooms are very comfortable and we find the staff to be helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank libbywithnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

Amora is not a 5 star hotel as it claims. The place needs a total refurbishment. I have stayed here before a few times about 3 years ago and it was lovely, however the Amora should now be a 4 star hotel. Staff are helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honest315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I stayed here through a mystery deal on lastminute.com and I didn't know what to expect. I knew it wasn't going to be on par with the shangri-la (cos that's where I really wanted to go but couldn't afford it) but I found the staff were completely fine and happy to help me. Yes, the hotel was dated and a bit worn but I'm fine with this as my room was clean and the mini-bar was well stocked(better than most mini bars I've come across). I asked for a quiet room and that's what I got. I got a corner room so it had lots of windows which I loved. The location was excellent. McDonald's is a 2 min walk away and it was only a 5 min walk away to circular quay and the rocks!. wynyard train station is only a minute walk away. I asked the concierge for directions to get to the royal easter show (anz stadium) and the concierge were very helpful and the directions were faultless. And i have no sense of direction so I was very grateful!!! I did try the room service. They were quick(under 30 minutes) but I would say the food was average. Nothing bad about it though.

My overall recommendation would be don't expect 5 stars. If that's what you want then you will have to keep saving your $ and go to another hotel but really? A hotel is just to sleep in. And the location was great and service good.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Junglegirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The Hotel is very nice, good size rooms and good in-room facilities. Ice though you have to call guest services???
Free wifi
The cupboard/tv/mini bar arrangement is a bit like a jigsaw puzzle. Hit my head a few times on the tv stand as i accessed the refrigerator.
The only negative is my expectation. For a 5 star hotel rating i expect customer service to be friendly and attentive at all times. The reception/checking staff were great. On the single occasion i approached the Guest Services person, he was less than helpful, and definitely not friendly and attentive.
That's what lets this hotel down for me. Is a great location, but i would probably give another 4-5 star hotel a try next time.
Still it's very good and i give it 4 our of 5.

Room Tip: Higher up will always get a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erinday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

From the outside the hotel looks very nice,it is a nice neighbourhood,the reception is nice and quick,the lobby area is very nice,but when you get into the lift it is very dated,when we got into our room it was ok,but when we had a shower it flooding the whole bathroom floor,which is a pain the ,they need to update the whole room,and as with the free wi-fi it is complicated to do all the instructions,and if you want breakfast go outside for it it is so expensive,and i booked my room through woitif and i only pay $160,i wouldnt pay $420 for a room a rip off,

Room Tip: corner room is bigger,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I stayed there over the week for a night with my partner on our wedding anniversary. We booked through lastminute purchasing the secret hotel deal. When we first read the reviews we were unsure what to expect. However the staff were great! They upgraded us to the 19th floor and help arrange flowers on the beds. It was a wonderful stay, with a comfy bed! And not to forget great view! Just a few faults, i.e scratches on furniture. However overall satisfied and will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaaay14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
6,005 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#21 of 179 in Sydney
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Address: 11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: £102 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the Sydney's well kept secrets, Amora Hotel Jamison is quite simply the place to be. Whether you are staying in one of our Deluxe Rooms or Suites, attending a Conference or Gala Dinner, unwinding at Amora Day Spa, or indulging in our Afternoon Tea in GALLERY Lounge Bar, you will experience genuine traditional personalised service. Superbly located above Wynyard Station between George and York Street, within walking distance to all major iconic attractions, Amora Hotel Jamison is renowned for spacious and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing