We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My fave Sydney hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Ranked #20 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“My fave Sydney hotel”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I've stayed at the Amora Jamison a couple of times and have never been disappointed. The reception area is very well presented and the staff are very warm and welcoming. The rooms are finished to a high standard and couldn't think of one complaint. Having a separate bath tub is great, and bathroom facilities are all you need. This is a rare hotel where I actually use the facilities - free access to the heated swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna are well worth a visit!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeanAU13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear SeanAU13,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Amora Jamison Hotel and we are delighted to learn that your most recent and past stays with us have been to your entire satisfaction. We really look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Stephen Floyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,416
    2,945
    817
    225
    106
See reviews for
1,422
3,492
443
2,193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Have stayed a few times. This time got a corner room which was huge. Lovely bathroom, decent enough views. Good service. Only complaints were a very noisy air con and a creaky bed. Could barely move on the thing. Most annoying.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFoot11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear The Foot 11,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Amora Jamison Hotel and I'm delighted to learn that you have stayed with us previously and you appreciate our " lovely bathrooms and good service".

I'm sorry that your sleep was disrupted by "a creaky bed & noisy air con" and would be delighted to hear from you direct so that we can follow up to rectify these two important issues in the room you stayed.

In the meantime I am delighted to share with you that we have just commenced Stage 1 of a major rooms refurbishment program and look forward to welcoming you back to experience greater comforts in the future.
Kind regards
Stephen Floyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed for one night. Check in was easy and staff were very friendly and helpful. We got a complimentary upgrade which was fantastic, thank you!

The issues I had though was that the room we were in could use a good clean. There were stains on the carpet in a few places.

The bathroom was amazing, but the shower needs some TLC. There was mould in the grout of the tiles and on the glass frames. The shower head has certainly seen better days. There was hair in some of the towels and it definitely did not belong to me or my husband!

Will I stay again? Maybe, if it is a cheap price, but I will look elsewhere first.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blizzard_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear blizzard_22,


Thank you taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Hotel. We really appreciate your favourable comments regarding the speed of check-in and your appreciation of our staff friendly and helpful manner.

Your very constructive comments concerning the cleanliness of your room such as stained carpets and bathroom condition have been shared with our Executive Housekeeper for training purposes. Please rest assured that this incident is not indicative of the high standards we strive to achieve and that you our valued guest is entitled to expect.

We wish to apologise for this incident and look forward to the opportunity of redeeming ourselves when next you plan to stay at the Amora Jamison Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Excellent staff, welcoming, great facilities, rooms are comfortable and well appointed. Location good and very good value for money for a down town big city hotel. Down town hotels can be very expensive, this is not but it does not lack a bit of class and luxury nothwithstanding. would very much recommend to the business person as well as a holiday couple.

Room Tip: That's a personal choice, I had a room overlooking a street and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haroldglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Dear haroldglenn,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Amora Jamison Hotel and we are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We really value your comments concerning our " excellent & welcoming" staff - I have often stated that "an indication of Hotel excellence is it's culture no matter what price point" and your comments really remind us all of what is so important.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Amora Jamison soon.
Kind regards
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This hotel was what i thought when i booked to be a 5 star,But was probably a 4 star.We only stayed there 1 night.
It is in need of some renovation as it is an older style 5 star hotel with Worn carpet throughout the hotel.The rooms are a good size,the Tv is on the side of the bed inside the cabinet which was different and bathroom,shower was good.Staff were friendly and were helpful.Hotel has everything you need from pools,bars,restaurants.Close to Darling Harbour just a short walk.
Overall was good would stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 21st floor which was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Dear Dane m,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your insight into your most recent stay and your very constructive comments highlighting the décor fixtures are well received and have been the source of detailed internal discussion towards the future room refurbishment programming which we are delighted to share with you will soon commence this year. In the new room interior design the TV's, as you have highlighted, will be relocated for greater visibility, thank you.

We are encouraged that you enjoyed the friendly ambience from our Hotel staff as well as hotel amenities.

We look forward to warmly welcoming you back the Amora Jamison Hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Stephen Floyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I found this hotel to be a great stay. The rooms are a very good size with a real stand alone bath. Free WiFi, good shower and a very comfortable bed. Good location for business and for the main attractions. Good breakfast buffet. Recommended

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank money4nothing123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Money4nothing123,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to provide your review of the Amora Jamison Hotel.

We are absolutely delighted that you experienced a great stay with us. Indeed our 34 square metre rooms are very spacious and complemented by the double door entry bathroom. It is encouraging to learn that you really appreciated our Free WiFi and found the bed and shower meeting your needs in terms of comfort and that the location of the Hotel is convenient for business and main city attractions.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Amora Jamison in the near future.
Kind regards
Stephen Floyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong
Level 6 Contributor
423 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The staff were pleasant and the room was quite spacious with a good sized bathroom. The breakfast buffet was adequate. The hotel is very convenient if you wish to visit Circular Quay, The Rocks or wander downtown. There is a nice cafe/restaurant across the road, 'Baroque' which was great and there are quite a few restaurants down on the waterside.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Jennie W,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your insight into your most recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed the spaciousness of our rooms which are 34 square metres and that you were adequately satisfied with the Breakfast Buffet in our Gallery Restaurant. we agree the Hotel location is very conveniently located in close proximity to the Rocks, Circular Quay and CBD.

We really look forward to welcoming you back to the Amora Jamison in the future.
Kind regards
Stephen Floyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#19 of 178 in Sydney
5,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#31 of 178 in Sydney
6,412 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#25 of 178 in Sydney
4,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Property: Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Address: 11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the Sydney's well kept secrets, Amora Hotel Jamison is quite simply the place to be. Whether you are staying in one of our Deluxe Rooms or Suites, attending a Conference or Gala Dinner, unwinding at Amora Day Spa, or indulging in our Afternoon Tea in GALLERY Lounge Bar, you will experience genuine traditional personalised service. Superbly located above Wynyard Station between George and York Street, within walking distance to all major iconic attractions, Amora Hotel Jamison is renowned for spacious and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing