We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Ranked #22 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Have stayed here before and were not planning to do so again, but opted for a Mystery Weekend booking so ended up here and at better price than we would have got. It is listed as a 5 star but not sure it is now, probably a good 4 or 4.5. Reading reviews we were worried about the place and especially having booked a "mystery weekend" thinking we may be disadvantaged. Not the case, checking in was pleasant and efficient and we were given our room on arrival about 10.30am.( which good Hotels will do) The room again was what we expected and had the full king bed looking out to the harbour.(21st floor) Rooms to be fair are looking a little tired ( hence not quite a 5 star) but overall very good. Hotel is also a good location to bottom of the City.
Staff were excellent especially Kevin down on the desk in the lobby who helped us with transport solutions around the City. Would stay there again at the right price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AucklandDevon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Dear AucklandDevon11,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Amora Jamison Hotel Sydney.

We are pleased that by selecting the 'mystery weekend' deal our Hotel was picked for your stay. Your favorable comments regarding our comfortable SleepMaker King beds in our spacious 32 sqm. harbour facing room is greatly appreciated. We strive to achieve the greatest level of customer service and we are delighted our Concierge Team Leader, Kevin, has made this possible throughout your stay. Your kind comment will be shared with Kevin and all staff members.

We hope to welcome you back to the Amora in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,697)
There are newer reviews for Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,448 - 7,454 of 8,697 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

It's lovely to come to a hotel with a few good windows that aren't looking directly into the wall of a near by building. Very bright and clean, close to everything, with plenty choices for food and entertainment. Nothing to complain about here.

Room Tip: Choose a room with 180 views.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shanttibabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Dear Shanttibabe,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

Your lovely comments regarding our 32 sqm. bright and clean rooms and the hotels proximity to Sydney's entertainment places such as the Opera House, The Rocks, Pitt St. Mall etc. are greatly welcomed.

We truly look forward in welcoming you back to the Amora in the near future.

Kindly Regards,
Stephen Floyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Got a good price online for two nights at Amora. Hotel is nicely situated between the Rocks and Darling Harbour and well within reach of shopping districts. Friendly and attentive service from all staff. Desk staff were able to grant us a request for a room upgrade. Got a King room on the 11th floor. Generally well presented, if somewhat old fashioned. Room had a number of maintenance issues, including loose fittings in bathroom, frayed bedding, flickering bedside lamp and noisy air-conditioner. Compared with other city hotels in Sydney, we noticed more noise from the street at Amora. Maybe aim for a room on a higher floor.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank psychantenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Dear psychantenna,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

Your kind comments regarding our friendly and attentive staff members are appreciated and will be shared with all. Your review regarding the maintenance issues in the room have been shared with our Chief Engineer for training purposes. We appreciate the constructive feedback and aim to achieve the highest level of service and comfortability for all our valued guests.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Flew into Sydney at the last minute and didn't have a room booked (aargh!). Nothing under $400 to be seen so i closed my eyes and hit one of those "mystery" buttons fearing i'd be sent to a caravan park in the back of nowhere. i ended at at the Amora and it was great. Really well positioned and great for a walk to the Rocks/Bridge, Opera House and Circular Quay it was a good cheap surprise. The room was spacious and comfortable, bathroom had all you need and the TV was ok. it's about time all hotels stepped up their cable service though. 5 star joints should have the lot, not just the crap channels. Free Wifi was appreciated and worked well. All in all a good nights sleep in a pretty good hotel, you'd be happy to pay rack rate here if you had to, its not bad at all,

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Returntohangar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Dear Returntohangar,

Thank you for your favorable comments regarding your recent stay at the Amora Jamison Hotel Sydney.

We are pleased that by taking a 'chance' on the "mystery" offers you have selected Amora. Our close proximity to the Opera House, Circular Quay, Harbour Bridge and spacious 32 sqm bedrooms with complimentary Wi-Fi is great and we are happy that this has made your stay enjoyable.

We truly hope we can welcome you back maybe for a longer trip in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Booked a Romance Package stay for wife's birthday through Wotif. Because of the package price, and using an 'outside booking' service, we weren't expecting any extra special treatment so were pleasantly surprised to receive an upgrade to a junior suite after the lovely young lady at check-in enquired if we were visiting them for a special reason. This was just the start of the great care given by staff during our overnight stay. The suite was roomy, the bedding was comfortable and the bathroom was fabulous. The provided toiletries were amongst the best we have have enjoyed at a hotel. Our only comment would be that the room was showing some wear and tear with scratched side tables, and dirty marks on the carpet.
Lovely atmosphere at the hotel bar and the meals in the Gallery Restaurant were excellent. Our stay concluded with efficient and friendly valet service collecting our car, loading our luggage and even opening and closing the car door for my wife.
A lovely stay that helped to make the birthday celebration that little bit nicer, thanks to the staff of the Amora.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank gilly1259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Dear gilly1259,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your recent stay with the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

Firstly please send our HAPPY BIRTHDAY to your wife once again! We are pleased your stay in one of our lovely 52 sqm Suites with a spacious bathroom and Swiss Trade toiletries have made your special occasion stay enjoyable. We strive to achieve the highest level of customer service throughout the hotel and to know that this has made a difference to your stay is greatly appreciated. Your kind thoughts will be shared with our lovely staff members.

We wish to welcome you and your wife back to the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel for another special occasion or just a weekend away in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My husband and I booked this hotel because of its close proximity to the Circular Quay and its cheap rates. It also had free wi-fi internet, which was quite speedy. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay except for the fact that the heater was broken in our room. We told the front desk and they sent a porter to fix it. He couldn't fix it so he said that he would notify the manager. We never heard back from the manager and the heater was never fixed. I also want to add that there aren't enough outlets in the room for travelers who have several electronics to charge.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Dear Jamie M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with the Amora Jamison Hotel Sydney.

Firstly we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused in regards to your Air Conditioner and lack of outlets in the room and would like to assure you this incident has been passed on to our Chief Engineer and Assistant Front Office Manager for training purposes and immediate rectification.

Your kind comment regarding our proximity to 'Must See' sights in Sydney such as Circular Quay, The Rocks, Darling Harbour are greatly appreciated. We are pleased you and your Husband have enjoyed our complimentary and easy access Wi-Fi services as well.

Thank you once again for reviewing your recent stay with the Amora Jamison Hotel Sydney and we look forward in welcoming you and your Husband back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The hotel is perfectly located close to all main Sydney attractions. A quick walk in either direction from the hotel takes travellers to many of Sydney's top attractions. Rooms are very modern and comfortable. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Dear Lilian W,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Amora Jamison Hotel Sydney.

We appreciate your favorable comments in regards to our proximity to many Sydney attractions such as the Opera House, The Rocks, Darling Harbour and many other places around the hotel. Your comments regarding our lovely and comfortable 32 sqm bedrooms are also appreciated and we are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward in welcoming you back to the Amora Jamison Hotel Sydney in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#19 of 178 in Sydney
5,931 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 178 in Sydney
1,886 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#18 of 178 in Sydney
1,306 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Address: 11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: £132 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the Sydney's well kept secrets, Amora Hotel Jamison is quite simply the place to be. Whether you are staying in one of our Deluxe Rooms or Suites, attending a Conference or Gala Dinner, unwinding at Amora Day Spa, or indulging in our Afternoon Tea in GALLERY Lounge Bar, you will experience genuine traditional personalised service. Superbly located above Wynyard Station between George and York Street, within walking distance to all major iconic attractions, Amora Hotel Jamison is renowned for spacious and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing