We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good the Bad and the Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Ranked #22 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2013

For ease of reference, point form below:

The Good:
1) Excellent service from the moment the front doors are opened for you.
2) Issues (see the bad below) actioned and rectified quickly and graciously. (mistakes happen!!)
3) Very Central Location.
4) Great views (from corner room)
5) Good clean Bathroom.
6) Well stocked mini bar with spirits pretty well priced.
7) COMFORTABLE BED AND PILLOWS.. No "center line rocks". (the bit where beds are zipped together but feel like concrete
8) Good variety of Bars and 2 x Restaurants.

The Bad.
1) The iron blew rust particles out onto my business shirt, staining it (to their credit the iron and the shirt were taken away, iron replaced, shirt - dry cleaned free of charge)
2) Very poor quality burger at the hotel restaurant (gallery), if you're charging over $20 for a simple burger it has to be better than Oportos downstairs.
3) Ordered a 2009 bottle of wine, was served a 2011 instead without letting me know, when tasted and questioned was told by the manager, "I can give you a discount!" 2 years can make a difference particularly if you're buying it for a client that's loves their wine!

The Terrible:
1) Nothing, just needs a very tiny tweak on customer service and a new hamburger recipe in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Corner Rooms has a great view. Lighting takes a bit to get used to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frequent_fly_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear frequent_fly_1977,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your insight into your most recent stay at Amora Jamison Hotel. We are delighted to learn that on the whole you have enjoyed your stay.

We really appreciate your very constructive comments regarding the iron which has been replaced and our Executive Chef has read first hand your feedback concerning the beef burger, our Chef apologies and has certainly reviewed the recipe.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Amora Jamison Hotel Sydney.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9,072)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,799 - 7,805 of 9,072 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

Always wondered where I'd end up if I purchased one of those "mystery " deals. When my daughter (12) and I decided to have a city sleepover (we also live in Sydney)I thought it a good time to take the chance.
The deal was a very good price and advertised the hotel as 5 star CBD with sauna, steam and pool, which were big drawcards for us. What we actually experienced was most of that.
Firstly the star rating - not sure who hands them out but there is obviously a huge spectrum within each star. So as long as you don't expect same grandeur as The Park Hyatt, Westin or Sheraton on Park you will be OK. It is very well located near Circular Quay and The Rocks and is well appointed with great staff and overall good quality feel.
The welcome by Tetendra(?) on check in was exceptional. We were given an upgrade to a corner room which basically means a large window in the bathroom as well as the bedroom.
We were 29th floor and really liked our room (2916). Very big and lovely outlook to the city skyline and a sunset filled westlerly aspect. I saw a comment on this site re worn carpets and that was not my experience, carpets very nice.
Breakfast was optional extra at $20 per head (same for child). This was fantastic with beetroot shots, Yallla yoghurts, great plunger coffee as standard, quality breads etc.
On the downside the (dry) sauna was only warm, not hot. I was finally told temperature could not be raised and was pre-set . The steam room button had to pressed many times before it worked (briefly). To the hotel - Guys, pls dont advertise these services unless they really work properly.
The pool was not huge yet very nice to swim in and the pool surrounds have a nice vibe.
The movies on demand choices was so limited there was nothing we could select from.
This hotel seems to be popular for business traveller types and it clearly has a place in the market.

We went to local Rocks market and the MCA (art gallery) the next day. Many eateries and activities close by. Not surprisingly My daughter loved the clothes shopping spree that we went on the next day the best!

Room Tip: Go for upper level corner rooms if you can. We saw a suite and actually preferred the corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haqsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear haqsta,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Amora Jamison Hotel Sydney.

Your favourable comments regarding our great staff and spacious suites are appreciated and has been shared with the entire team. We are very pleased that your experience in our Gallery Restaurant for breakfast was fantastic and that it has made your stay with us more pleasurable.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to the Amora Jamison Hotel Sydney

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Have stayed here before and were not planning to do so again, but opted for a Mystery Weekend booking so ended up here and at better price than we would have got. It is listed as a 5 star but not sure it is now, probably a good 4 or 4.5. Reading reviews we were worried about the place and especially having booked a "mystery weekend" thinking we may be disadvantaged. Not the case, checking in was pleasant and efficient and we were given our room on arrival about 10.30am.( which good Hotels will do) The room again was what we expected and had the full king bed looking out to the harbour.(21st floor) Rooms to be fair are looking a little tired ( hence not quite a 5 star) but overall very good. Hotel is also a good location to bottom of the City.
Staff were excellent especially Kevin down on the desk in the lobby who helped us with transport solutions around the City. Would stay there again at the right price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AucklandDevon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Dear AucklandDevon11,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Amora Jamison Hotel Sydney.

We are pleased that by selecting the 'mystery weekend' deal our Hotel was picked for your stay. Your favorable comments regarding our comfortable SleepMaker King beds in our spacious 32 sqm. harbour facing room is greatly appreciated. We strive to achieve the greatest level of customer service and we are delighted our Concierge Team Leader, Kevin, has made this possible throughout your stay. Your kind comment will be shared with Kevin and all staff members.

We hope to welcome you back to the Amora in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

It's lovely to come to a hotel with a few good windows that aren't looking directly into the wall of a near by building. Very bright and clean, close to everything, with plenty choices for food and entertainment. Nothing to complain about here.

Room Tip: Choose a room with 180 views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shanttibabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Dear Shanttibabe,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

Your lovely comments regarding our 32 sqm. bright and clean rooms and the hotels proximity to Sydney's entertainment places such as the Opera House, The Rocks, Pitt St. Mall etc. are greatly welcomed.

We truly look forward in welcoming you back to the Amora in the near future.

Kindly Regards,
Stephen Floyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Got a good price online for two nights at Amora. Hotel is nicely situated between the Rocks and Darling Harbour and well within reach of shopping districts. Friendly and attentive service from all staff. Desk staff were able to grant us a request for a room upgrade. Got a King room on the 11th floor. Generally well presented, if somewhat old fashioned. Room had a number of maintenance issues, including loose fittings in bathroom, frayed bedding, flickering bedside lamp and noisy air-conditioner. Compared with other city hotels in Sydney, we noticed more noise from the street at Amora. Maybe aim for a room on a higher floor.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank psychantenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Dear psychantenna,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

Your kind comments regarding our friendly and attentive staff members are appreciated and will be shared with all. Your review regarding the maintenance issues in the room have been shared with our Chief Engineer for training purposes. We appreciate the constructive feedback and aim to achieve the highest level of service and comfortability for all our valued guests.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Flew into Sydney at the last minute and didn't have a room booked (aargh!). Nothing under $400 to be seen so i closed my eyes and hit one of those "mystery" buttons fearing i'd be sent to a caravan park in the back of nowhere. i ended at at the Amora and it was great. Really well positioned and great for a walk to the Rocks/Bridge, Opera House and Circular Quay it was a good cheap surprise. The room was spacious and comfortable, bathroom had all you need and the TV was ok. it's about time all hotels stepped up their cable service though. 5 star joints should have the lot, not just the crap channels. Free Wifi was appreciated and worked well. All in all a good nights sleep in a pretty good hotel, you'd be happy to pay rack rate here if you had to, its not bad at all,

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Returntohangar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Dear Returntohangar,

Thank you for your favorable comments regarding your recent stay at the Amora Jamison Hotel Sydney.

We are pleased that by taking a 'chance' on the "mystery" offers you have selected Amora. Our close proximity to the Opera House, Circular Quay, Harbour Bridge and spacious 32 sqm bedrooms with complimentary Wi-Fi is great and we are happy that this has made your stay enjoyable.

We truly hope we can welcome you back maybe for a longer trip in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Booked a Romance Package stay for wife's birthday through Wotif. Because of the package price, and using an 'outside booking' service, we weren't expecting any extra special treatment so were pleasantly surprised to receive an upgrade to a junior suite after the lovely young lady at check-in enquired if we were visiting them for a special reason. This was just the start of the great care given by staff during our overnight stay. The suite was roomy, the bedding was comfortable and the bathroom was fabulous. The provided toiletries were amongst the best we have have enjoyed at a hotel. Our only comment would be that the room was showing some wear and tear with scratched side tables, and dirty marks on the carpet.
Lovely atmosphere at the hotel bar and the meals in the Gallery Restaurant were excellent. Our stay concluded with efficient and friendly valet service collecting our car, loading our luggage and even opening and closing the car door for my wife.
A lovely stay that helped to make the birthday celebration that little bit nicer, thanks to the staff of the Amora.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank gilly1259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Dear gilly1259,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your recent stay with the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

Firstly please send our HAPPY BIRTHDAY to your wife once again! We are pleased your stay in one of our lovely 52 sqm Suites with a spacious bathroom and Swiss Trade toiletries have made your special occasion stay enjoyable. We strive to achieve the highest level of customer service throughout the hotel and to know that this has made a difference to your stay is greatly appreciated. Your kind thoughts will be shared with our lovely staff members.

We wish to welcome you and your wife back to the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel for another special occasion or just a weekend away in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#20 of 181 in Sydney
2,144 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#29 of 181 in Sydney
4,627 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#21 of 181 in Sydney
6,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Address: 11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: £128 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the Sydney's well kept secrets, Amora Hotel Jamison is quite simply the place to be. Whether you are staying in one of our Deluxe Rooms or Suites, attending a Conference or Gala Dinner, unwinding at Amora Day Spa, or indulging in our Afternoon Tea in GALLERY Lounge Bar, you will experience genuine traditional personalised service. Superbly located above Wynyard Station between George and York Street, within walking distance to all major iconic attractions, Amora Hotel Jamison is renowned for spacious and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travelbag, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing