We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff, quiet and very comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Ranked #20 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Helpful staff, quiet and very comfy”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed for two nights a the Amora recently on business. It was great. He staff are very friendly and the room was really comfortable - huge king size bed and a massive bathroom.

I was right by the lifts which worried me a bit but the room was dead quiet I didn't hear a thing.

Only downside or me was I felt the lighting was a little sparse and it could be brighter.

It was also good to be in a hotel with free wifi - about time I found a place on this side of the world with that! Very handy.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingkiwi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear flyingkiwi84,

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Amora Jamison Hotel Sydney.

We are delighted that our staff and comfortable accommodation has made your stay pleasant. Your comments have been shared with all the team and is greatly appreciated.

We look forwards in welcoming you back to the Amora Jamison Hotel Sydney soon.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,416
    2,945
    817
    225
    106
See reviews for
1,422
3,492
443
2,193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Breakfast: really tasty with a lot on display but still fresh and hot food. Internet speed: okay, but have to ask for new wifi codes every three days. Location: excellent. Gym & fitness area: small and badly equipped. Pool: small. Service: good. Beds: super comfortable. Everything else: as expected.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emctwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Emctwoo,

Thank you for your favourable comments regarding your recent stay at the Amora Jamison Hotel Sydney.

We are delighted you have enjoyed our Gallery Restaurant breakfast experience and have shared this with the Executive Chef and the Food and Beverage team.

We look forward in welcoming you back to the Amora Jamison Hotel Sydney in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My wife and I often stay in the city, and the Amora Jamieson is one of a small selection of 3.5*, 4* and mostly 5* hotels we stop at. This time we had an evening commencing with dinner in The Rocks and then the opera, plus uptown shopping and a visit to the NSW Art Gallery in the morning. The Amora Jamieson is a safe, easy walk to these locations. Our corner room (508) had both an outlook over Wynyard Park and a sunny morning view down George St towards Circular Quay, although we felt the need to keep the privacy screen closed at times as the adjacent office buildings were quite close. The room was spacious with a huge bathroom, the beds were comfortable and the furnishings adequate if not the very latest. As with previous stays, the room was clean and the staff were helpful and courteous. Breakfast is typically expensive, and as it was pretty average on our last visit we opted this time for a budget breakfast in the food court next door. Each time we have stayed at the Amora they have offered a deeply discounted breakfast, so ask about this. Our only disappointments this time were in the shower which had traces of mould in the grout, but was otherwise spotless, and the carpet that was starting to show its age.
There are more glamorous 5* properties in Sydney, but they are very much more expensive. In our experience the Amora is the best value hotel in the CBD, especially with one of the 'mystery' deals listed in the CBD 5* independently-rated (not 'self-rated) properties. It offers a combination of convenience, comfort and cost that is hard to beat in the CBD.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have a good outlook and may be larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petercorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Petercorn,

Thank you for your comments regards your recent stay at the Amora Jamison Hotel Sydney.

Your very constructive comments concerning the “more glamorous hotels” is well received and I am delighted to share with you that the Hotel has just commenced Stage 1 of a total room refurbishment project. All 415 Rooms and Suites will undergo new furnishing and finishes and we do look forward to your return visit over time in order to present the new Amora Jamison Hotel room experience.

We look forward in welcoming you back to the Amora Jamison Hotel Sydney.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Like others I stayed at Amora after purchasing a 'mystery deal'. There is a risk with these deals but given that it was advertised as a 5 star hotel we thought it would be okay, however I personally would not consider the hotel of 5 star standard. The room was tired - chips in the walls, stained carpet, very worn bed, scratches/graffiti in bathroom mirror.. The service was nothing special - attempted to order a nicer pillow from their pillow menu after an uncomfortable sleep on the first night only to be told that they only had normal pillows available, paid $6 each for cappuccinos at breakfast which were burnt, on checkout the staff did not ask if we enjoyed our stay/if we had any issues and was more concerned with payment. It is in a good location but I wouldn't return here in a hurry.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8280160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear 8280160,

Thank you for your feedback from you recent stay with the Amora Jamison Hotel Sydney.

Your very constructive comments concerning the room furnishing is well received and I am delighted to share with you that the Hotel has just commenced Stage 1 of a total room refurbishment project. All 415 Rooms and Suites will undergo new furnishing and finishes and we do look forward to your return visit over time in order to present the new Amora Jamison Hotel room experience.

We look forward in welcoming you back to the Amora Jamison Hotel Sydney in the future.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Hotel is in very convenient location for sightseeing around Sydney. Hotel staff very helpful &
friendly. We purchased this hotel through Secret Hotel to stay in Sydney for 1 night before
flying out to Europe next morning. The room was large but getting a little tired with lots of
scrapes & marks on the wall & furnishings. Carpet discoloured along walls. Would be unhappy
with our room if we had paid full price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 50young
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear 50young,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with the Amora Jamison Hotel Sydney.

Your very constructive comments concerning the room furnishing is well received and I am delighted to share with you that the Hotel has just commenced Stage 1 of a total room refurbishment project. All 415 Rooms and Suites will undergo new furnishing and finishes and we do look forward to your return visit over time in order to present the new Amora Jamison Hotel room experience.

We look forward in welcoming you back to the Amora Jamison Hotel Sydney in the future.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

For ease of reference, point form below:

The Good:
1) Excellent service from the moment the front doors are opened for you.
2) Issues (see the bad below) actioned and rectified quickly and graciously. (mistakes happen!!)
3) Very Central Location.
4) Great views (from corner room)
5) Good clean Bathroom.
6) Well stocked mini bar with spirits pretty well priced.
7) COMFORTABLE BED AND PILLOWS.. No "center line rocks". (the bit where beds are zipped together but feel like concrete
8) Good variety of Bars and 2 x Restaurants.

The Bad.
1) The iron blew rust particles out onto my business shirt, staining it (to their credit the iron and the shirt were taken away, iron replaced, shirt - dry cleaned free of charge)
2) Very poor quality burger at the hotel restaurant (gallery), if you're charging over $20 for a simple burger it has to be better than Oportos downstairs.
3) Ordered a 2009 bottle of wine, was served a 2011 instead without letting me know, when tasted and questioned was told by the manager, "I can give you a discount!" 2 years can make a difference particularly if you're buying it for a client that's loves their wine!

The Terrible:
1) Nothing, just needs a very tiny tweak on customer service and a new hamburger recipe in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Corner Rooms has a great view. Lighting takes a bit to get used to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequent_fly_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear frequent_fly_1977,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your insight into your most recent stay at Amora Jamison Hotel. We are delighted to learn that on the whole you have enjoyed your stay.

We really appreciate your very constructive comments regarding the iron which has been replaced and our Executive Chef has read first hand your feedback concerning the beef burger, our Chef apologies and has certainly reviewed the recipe.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Amora Jamison Hotel Sydney.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Always wondered where I'd end up if I purchased one of those "mystery " deals. When my daughter (12) and I decided to have a city sleepover (we also live in Sydney)I thought it a good time to take the chance.
The deal was a very good price and advertised the hotel as 5 star CBD with sauna, steam and pool, which were big drawcards for us. What we actually experienced was most of that.
Firstly the star rating - not sure who hands them out but there is obviously a huge spectrum within each star. So as long as you don't expect same grandeur as The Park Hyatt, Westin or Sheraton on Park you will be OK. It is very well located near Circular Quay and The Rocks and is well appointed with great staff and overall good quality feel.
The welcome by Tetendra(?) on check in was exceptional. We were given an upgrade to a corner room which basically means a large window in the bathroom as well as the bedroom.
We were 29th floor and really liked our room (2916). Very big and lovely outlook to the city skyline and a sunset filled westlerly aspect. I saw a comment on this site re worn carpets and that was not my experience, carpets very nice.
Breakfast was optional extra at $20 per head (same for child). This was fantastic with beetroot shots, Yallla yoghurts, great plunger coffee as standard, quality breads etc.
On the downside the (dry) sauna was only warm, not hot. I was finally told temperature could not be raised and was pre-set . The steam room button had to pressed many times before it worked (briefly). To the hotel - Guys, pls dont advertise these services unless they really work properly.
The pool was not huge yet very nice to swim in and the pool surrounds have a nice vibe.
The movies on demand choices was so limited there was nothing we could select from.
This hotel seems to be popular for business traveller types and it clearly has a place in the market.

We went to local Rocks market and the MCA (art gallery) the next day. Many eateries and activities close by. Not surprisingly My daughter loved the clothes shopping spree that we went on the next day the best!

Room Tip: Go for upper level corner rooms if you can. We saw a suite and actually preferred the corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haqsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear haqsta,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Amora Jamison Hotel Sydney.

Your favourable comments regarding our great staff and spacious suites are appreciated and has been shared with the entire team. We are very pleased that your experience in our Gallery Restaurant for breakfast was fantastic and that it has made your stay with us more pleasurable.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to the Amora Jamison Hotel Sydney

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#19 of 178 in Sydney
5,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#31 of 178 in Sydney
6,412 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#25 of 178 in Sydney
4,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Property: Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Address: 11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the Sydney's well kept secrets, Amora Hotel Jamison is quite simply the place to be. Whether you are staying in one of our Deluxe Rooms or Suites, attending a Conference or Gala Dinner, unwinding at Amora Day Spa, or indulging in our Afternoon Tea in GALLERY Lounge Bar, you will experience genuine traditional personalised service. Superbly located above Wynyard Station between George and York Street, within walking distance to all major iconic attractions, Amora Hotel Jamison is renowned for spacious and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing