We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great value: great rooms and great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Ranked #18 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“great value: great rooms and great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Location is very nice: close to The Rocks and Circular Quay.
Pool/spa are nice.
For a little over US$300 per night we got a fabulous suite on 32nd floor over-looking the harbor: we could watch fireworks from our room.
Staff was very helpful!

Room Tip: Suites are worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mschmidt31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear mschmidt31,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

It is a pleasure to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Your very kind comments regarding our very helpful staff is greatly appreciated and has been shared with the entire Amora Team.

We truly look forward in welcoming you back in the near future for another Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel experience.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,888
    2,622
    733
    206
    102
See reviews for
1,192
3,175
395
1,901
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Feltham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

The location is great. The rooms were very comfortable and well maintained. A thoroughly enjoyable stay. The only negatives were the lack of an ice machine (room service are happy to deliver ice free of charge, but I still think an ice machine is quicker and easier) and the pool area was indoors and a bit small. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toandfromtheairport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear toandfromtheairport,

Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

We are delighted you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Your constructive feedback regarding the ice machines has been shared with the Food & Beverage manager for review.

We truly look forward in welcoming you back in the near future for another Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel experience.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

If the stars were to represent the stars of a hotel, it should be be 3 stars. I've provided 2 stars in this review as one should not be provided a 3 star room and facilities at a 5 star price.

Firstly, the room. The greatest disappointment has to be the room. It was very small, outdated and run down. There was mould in the bathroom especially around the shower. The bed was lumpy. The tv was ridiculously small. I've stayed at motels with bigger TVs at better resolution. The tv offering was woeful.

Secondly, the food room service. Well I didn't bother as there was a $6.50 fee above the already extortionate charges for the food. They charge the same as Pizza Hut to carry some food up a lift?! You are better off getting one of the restaurants to deliver to the hotel.

Finally, the buffet breakfast. The bacon and sausages were quite nice. The service was pleasant. But the eggs tasted watery. Worst was the mould on the muffin! As soon as we found that we stopped eating and left.

All in all a very disappointing experience compared to the other 5 star hotels I've stayed at in Sydney.

Unless something drastically changes I'll be crossing this off my list.

The only real benefit was the free wifi but I find a lot of 5 star hotels offer free wifi or they will offer it for free if you ask politely.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vascariz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Vascariz,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel. I would be delighted to speak with you first hand should you wish to contact me direct at the Hotel.

Your very constructive comments have been reviewed and shared with the relevant department heads. The Food & Beverage Manager and the Executive Chef have also reviewed your comments and send their most sincere apologies for the negative experience you had while dining at Breakfast in the Gallery Restaurant. Please rest assured that your experience is not indicative of the high standards of service we strive to achieve and that you a valued guest is entitled to expect.

We constantly strive to give each of our valued guests the expected value 5-star experience when staying with us and we apologise for not having met or exceeded your expectations during your recent stay. We look forward in welcoming you back so that we can redeem ourselves in the future.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
497 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

I often stay here on 1 or 2 day business trips to Sydney. If you do the Wotif mystery 5* hotel you often get this place at a reduced price. Location is excellent, 10 minutes from Circular Key and 15 minutes from Darling Harbour. You can get a glimpse of the harbour from the higher floors. Rooms are clean and comfortable, and free internet is great. Worth checking out

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiTraveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear KiwiTraveller43,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive comment regarding our very comfortable rooms is well received and has been shared with the Executive Housekeeper and her team.

We look forward in welcoming you back to the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Qld
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Amora. We have stayed lots of place in Sydney but really enjoyed it here. We were checked in straight away as we arrived early but no problem. We took the Club Lounge option and the canapés and drinks were excellent. Also the breakfast included with the Club option was great and there was really no need to have the full buffet breakfast. Rooms and bathrooms were spacious and the view from the 33rd floor was stunning. Location was excellent with easy access to Circular Quay, Darling Harbour, The Rocks and the CBD.
Service was excellent and we had no complaints at all.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WendoGoldCoast_Qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear WendoGoldCoast_Qld,

Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

It is a great pleasure to know you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Your very kind comments regarding our excellent service is greatly appreciated and has been shared with the entire Amora Team.

We truly look forward in welcoming you back in the near future for another Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel experience.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We are currently in the middle of a 4 day stay @ Amora following 14 day NZ cruise. Booked blind w/Expedia via 4-5 star, Rocks CBD location and got $190 plus fees rate, well below normal published. Jessica @ front desk checked us in @ 10AM, very warm reception. Perks are location w/easy access to trains, buses or walk to Rocks, Circular Quay, FREE fast WIFI (huge as many charge $25-35 per day), refreshing indoor pool, jacuzzi, spacious comfortable room w/large bathroom excellent shower/water pressure & soaking tub. Only complaint is with efficient black out curtain and cozy bed makes it hard to get up to explore this amazing city. Not sure what the big deal is with some previous reviews regarding light switches (press and hold a bit as have dimming feature) or pillows (many to choose from). Have not tried restaurant so cannot comment, lots of places to eat in easy walking distance. High marks and big thumbs up all around!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goddess100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear godess100,

Thank you for taking the time to review your current stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

We are delighted you are thoroughly enjoying your stay with us. We strive to give each and every one of our very valued Guests the best 5-star experience when staying with us and it is a pleasure to know you are currently receiving such service. Your very kind comments regarding Jessica from front desk is greatly appreciated and has been shared with her directly and the Assistant Mangers in front office.

We truly hope you keep enjoying your stay with us. Should we be of any assistance during your stay please do not hesitate in contacting any of our lovely Amora Team and we will be more than happy to assist.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We received a warm welcome from the front desk and they managed to check us into our room well in advance of the published check-in time which was a real bonus following a long-haul flight. Elsewhere the staff were friendly but the service was slightly more mixed.  On check-out the receptionist attempted to charge us for the accommodation even though this had been pre-paid.

The location was excellent - within easy walking distance of The Rocks, Circular Quay,etc. The room was good (especially the bathroom) and the bed was comfortable. There were minor signs of wear and tear but nothing unreasonable. The WiFi was free and fast. Overall we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wiggyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear wiggyh,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

It is a pleasure to know you have enjoyed your stay with us. I apologise for any inconvenience during your check-out as there appears to have been a level of confusion as to your booking. Your very kind comments regarding our friendly staff is greatly appreciated and has been shared with the entire Amora Team.

I truly look forward in welcoming you back in the near future for another Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel experience.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,184 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,996 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,046 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Property: Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Address: 11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the Sydney's well kept secrets, Amora Hotel Jamison is quite simply the place to be. Whether you are staying in one of our Newly Refurbished Deluxe Rooms or Suites, attending a Conference or Gala Dinner, unwinding at Amora Day Spa, enjoying Spanish cuisine in CHARR Restaurant or indulging in our Afternoon Tea in GALLERY Lounge Bar, you will experience genuine traditional personalised service. Superbly located above Wynyard Station between George and York Street, within walking distance to all major iconic attractions, Amora Hotel Jamison is renowned for spacious and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing