We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Ranked #20 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson Bay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The Amora Jamison was a peasant surprise. Very spacious room, personalized message on arrival, nice view, friendly staff, great swimming pool, delicious breakfast. We only stayed one night, but really enjoyed ourselves. We'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kamentso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,312
    2,883
    793
    223
    106
See reviews for
1,373
3,439
430
2,133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bathurst, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed for one night and was very impressed with the standard of the hotel and facilities. The room was very clean and the bathroom was spacious and the fittings were of a very high standard. I purchased the room as a mystery deal and I certainly got value for money. The breakfast was excellent value and the Charr restaurant serves top class meals. All the staff were very helpful and went out of their way to assist me. The location is very convenient to The Rocks, Quay and Sydney CBD. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline2795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

An extremely impressive stay was had at the Amora on the weekend! I had booked the room for one night to celebrate my birthday & to my surprise my companion had phoned ahead to let the Amora know & they were just fantastic. A birthday card from the general manager was a very nice touch, as were the strawberries delivered straight to our room!

Check in was effortless, Duty Manager on at the time was very efficient although not very warm in her welcome but this didn't affect our stay. We were able to leave bags with reception til our room became available & concierge delivered our bags upon arrival. Jessica assisted us with a slightly early check-in and even gave us complimentary 12pm check out the next day - she was an absolute delight to talk to, as were the doormen/concierge.

Room was spotless. Ridiculously comfortable king size bed, had a great night's sleep. Bathroom was divine, deep bath & impressive views. Breakfast & free Wifi included with the stay really added the final touches to a great weekend escape. Great location too, simple to get to from the airport, just jump on the train at the Domestic terminal & alight at Wynyard Station.

One tiny error occurred with our stay - but again, this in no way affected our stay/comfort. As we were allowed to check in early, I assume the minibar attendant hadn't had the chance to check our room from the previous guest's stay, so some items were missing. However, we let reception know & they were very helpful.
Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We had a room on the 23rd floor - magnificent views from 2 large windows, extremely quiet, no road/m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djsamim65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night.
It was the mystery hotel from wotif which I had a fair idea it was this hotel.

I got a twin room.

Bathroom is good - bath and separate shower. Unfortunately not very clean. Maybe a 2-3 star grade. Hair on floor and bath tub. Tiles in shower dirty. Toilet paper is cheap 2 ply - definitely not the typical 5 star sort.

Bedroom is small and decor is dated and clunky. The wardrobe looks out of place or dated, and doesn't utilise the space very well.

Heating /air con not working properly and was freezing most of the night.

Would I stay again?
Only if room fare was heavily discounted. Otherwise I would not stay here as first choice with so many other excellent 5 star hotels in Sydney CBD.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank sologee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Mountains
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed two nights for business. Room was small, and while modern and mostly functional, wasn't anything special. TV was located in the cabinet at an awkward angle, and the light switches had glitches.

Quality of room service was reasonable, while the buffet breakfast was good.

Overall, reasonable stay, but not what I would've expected for a 5 star property.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VWBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Good location handy to offices and Martin Place, plenty of food options too close by. Haven't eaten at the Hotel so cant comment on that however all else is as you would expect a 4.5 star to be. Busy check out in the morning, flight crew and the doorman make the lobby a hive of activity and a great people watching spot with a coffee. Beds are really comfy too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights and can highky recommend. Convenient city location great for business or pleasure. Super friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable furnishings and good value for quality room service. Book a room with club access to enjoy breakfast and evening canapes. We will certainly return!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schlemmermaier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#31 of 179 in Sydney
6,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#18 of 179 in Sydney
5,730 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 179 in Sydney
4,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Property: Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Address: 11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the Sydney's well kept secrets, Amora Hotel Jamison is quite simply the place to be. Whether you are staying in one of our Deluxe Rooms or Suites, attending a Conference or Gala Dinner, unwinding at Amora Day Spa, or indulging in our Afternoon Tea in GALLERY Lounge Bar, you will experience genuine traditional personalised service. Superbly located above Wynyard Station between George and York Street, within walking distance to all major iconic attractions, Amora Hotel Jamison is renowned for spacious and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing