We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunately for us...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Ranked #22 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

After reading so many positive reviews, we were looking forward to our time at the Amora on Jamison, but unfortunately for us, our 3 night stay was anything but '5 star'.Our stay consisted nothing but a series of unfortunate events. starting with a broken aircon/heater unit (in the middle of winter) which provided for a very restless night. After being told they were 'fully booked' on the first night, we were moved to another room to discover we had an unusable in-room entertainment system (broken keyboard + internet). When going to use the fitness/pool facilities, the spa was 'out of order' also. We chose to grab a relaxed bite at Imbargo Bar (ground floor) and the service was terrible. The positive however os that the hotel is in a superb location. I can only assume we're one of the unlucky few that didn't get to experience the Amora in the way that others have.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank DamianP243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abhishek S, Front Office Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear DamianP243,

Thank you for sending us your feedback regarding your recent stay with the Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney.

It is disappointing to know you did not have the Amora experience during your stay. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you experienced due to the faulty Air Conditioner, In-room entertainment system and the out of order Spa on level 3. The team and I strive to give each and every one of our valued guests the best Amora experience when staying with us and unfortunately we have failed on this occasion.

Mr. Porcaro, I would like to assure you that all the above incidents are taken very seriously and have already been shared with the specific departments for immediate rectification.

The team and I would like to be able to redeem ourselves from you previous experience and we would be delighted to be able to welcome you back to the Amora Jamison Hotel Sydney in the near future to truly enjoy the Amora experience.

Kind Regards,
Abhishek Sinha
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,689)
There are newer reviews for Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,969 - 6,975 of 8,690 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stay was awesome. Right in the heart of the city, within walking distance from almost anywhere. Beautiful hotel. Blockout blinds help get rid of the city lights late at night and the bath looks out into the city. Lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel is in an excellent location, right above a train station, walking distance to Circular Quay, Darling Harbour, the Rocks and at the start of George Street for shopping. We made use of happy hour, which was a nice way to start the evening. There are heaps of restaurants and bars nearby (both expensive ones and cheap eateries). I have to recommend a great little French Restaurant nearby called Bistro Papillon. The hotel room itself was fine, it suited the price point. A bit more lighting in the room wouldn't have gone astray, although lighting in the bathroom was fine. Check in and out was easy and staff were very pleasant.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

For those who want to be central to the cbd and reliable free internet access this might be the hotel for you however there're no ceiling lights (only lamps around the bed area) which could be frustrating for those who are on work trips.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank maxycooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Perfect location
Beautiful service
Amazingly fantastic pillow!!!!

I stayed with my boyfriend
Was amazing Sydney view and nice bed and pillow. I wish i had that pillow!!

I would love to stay again!
Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank nicelovelysky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Recently stayed in this motel for the Sydney Boat Show.

Rooms are very tidy and well maintained, although rooms could do with some modernisation.

TV reception was poor.

All-round was a fair stay, probably more of a 4-4.5 star than a 5.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank steveF0085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Have stayed at the Amora a few times now and find it very comfortable and value for money. As most of these stays were for Business, I have found the location to be excellent. I have not eaten at the Hotel so no comments here. Overall very good.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#21 of 178 in Sydney
5,925 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#16 of 178 in Sydney
1,879 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#20 of 178 in Sydney
1,306 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Address: 11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: £130 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the Sydney's well kept secrets, Amora Hotel Jamison is quite simply the place to be. Whether you are staying in one of our Deluxe Rooms or Suites, attending a Conference or Gala Dinner, unwinding at Amora Day Spa, or indulging in our Afternoon Tea in GALLERY Lounge Bar, you will experience genuine traditional personalised service. Superbly located above Wynyard Station between George and York Street, within walking distance to all major iconic attractions, Amora Hotel Jamison is renowned for spacious and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing