We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Ranked #23 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

On the good side: very quick and pleasant check-in, nice bathroom, nice view, good location, free wifi, comped a few snacks from the minibar on checkout which is cool, 11 am checkout.
Not-so-good: Some very tatty/worn furniture, tiny TV, no Cable, no bonus or discount from booking via Wotif "lottery".
Overall would recommend but had a weekend at the Sheraton recently which just felt a notch above....but then they grab money at every opportunity which is horrible, I really liked that when I checked out I wasn't charged 30 bucks for some Pringles....very convenient to Wynyard Station, Supermarket and shops, Circular Quay....great for the location. Maybe not the most luxurious room but a great location and good service.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Seagram2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9,220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,411 - 7,417 of 9,220 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

It was a good experience overall. Great breakfast and nice rooms. If you like a wide pillow this is the hotel for you. Good location especially for business purposes. I will be returning in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Odektion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

5 star rating is currently over-rated. However, at the completion of renovations it may be worthy of a 5 star rating. The location is good, the staff friendly, service is good. I may visit again. Thank you


  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mirella F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraJamisonEAM, Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2014

Dear Mirella F

Thank you for taking to time to write a review on our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and friendly staff and good service.

I would be happy to discuss your comments with regards to the 5 star rating in more detail. If you could please email me on darryl.healey@sydney.amorahotels.com I would greatly appreciate it.

Kind regards

Darryl Healey
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Had never been there before but I must say it is very classy. Had a great view of the city from my room, looking down towards the CBD.
Great rooms and facilities, would recommend it to people for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank D_Ruse2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraJamisonEAM, Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear D-Ruse2014

Thank you for staying at the Amora Hotel Jamison, the "Hidden Gem" of Sydney.

Its great to hear that you had a first class stay with us, and enjoyed our great rooms and facilities, and we would like to thank you for your positive recommendation of our hotel to others.

We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Kind regards

Darryl Healey
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed for Business. Good location.Overall a great experieicne. lovely service and comfy bed. Delicious breakfast. Dreadful lighting. The hotel needs to spend a bit more on bathroom amenties ****************

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank joakssssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We booked this hotel on a wotif mystery deal and were pleasantly surprised. We had a large well furnished room with a large bathroom at a very reasonable price. The free wifi (for multiple devices) was VERY much appreciated. We didn't try the hotel restaurant but there are many good eating places within a short walk.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allblacks99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Great location, good rooms and friendly service. A perfect spot for a getaway or business trip being close to the harbour, the bridge, and the city. Will definitely stay at The Amora the next time I am in Sydney



  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PeterMay571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#21 of 186 in Sydney
2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#22 of 186 in Sydney
6,424 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#31 of 186 in Sydney
4,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Address: 11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: £129 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the Sydney's well kept secrets, Amora Hotel Jamison is quite simply the place to be. Whether you are staying in one of our Deluxe Rooms or Suites, attending a Conference or Gala Dinner, unwinding at Amora Day Spa, or indulging in our Afternoon Tea in GALLERY Lounge Bar, you will experience genuine traditional personalised service. Superbly located above Wynyard Station between George and York Street, within walking distance to all major iconic attractions, Amora Hotel Jamison is renowned for spacious and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travelbag, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing