We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Ranked #17 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Recent Stay”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Great room, very comfy bed but room service food quality was less then I expected of a quality hotel in Sydney. Staff were very friendly and the food in the Gallery restaurant for breakfast and lunch was good.


Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,225
    2,824
    780
    217
    106
See reviews for
1,318
3,391
419
2,091
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Stayed for 5 nights and staff everywhere, check in, room service, restaurant and bar were very friendly and efficient. Absolutely loved the room and the views from it. Stayed on 3409, thanks to Jarrad

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DilipPallapothu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraJamisonGM, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear DilipPallapothu,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff, room service and restaurant and bar. I am delighted that Jarrad was able to provide excellent service and we will make sure to recognise him for that.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Kind regards,
Arpad Romandy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Met with a smile and empathy and surprised with an upgrade, lovely!. Service was great, room was perfect, views amazing and the food very good. The bed was really comfortable as was the assortment of pillows. Bath was luxurious!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Caarons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Went for our anniversary and birthday trip. Brilliant hotel, fantastic location, upgraded room, complimentary wine, exceptional staff. Overall very happy with our stay. If we had any complaint, the bed was too comfortable and we didn't want to get up each morning.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank LeightonGroeneveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraJamisonGM, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear LeightonGroeneveld,
Thank you for choosing the Amora Hotel for your special occasion. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The new Amora Luxury beds are very comfortable indeed.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Arpad Romandy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2014

All staff are very friendly with big smiles and always willing to help, location is handy to Darling Harbour, dinner and breakfast is good quality, the bar has a nice feel for drinks after work, beds are very comfortable and slept well

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Be careful outside the entrance in the rain - very slippery. Otherwise well appointed room in a good location. The in room continental breakfast was very good. Conference facilities are adequate for medium sized businesses.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraJamisonEAM, Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Bernard D,

We're glad to hear that you had a good stay with us, and enjoyed our Room Service continental breakfast plus our central location.

The granite foot paths around Sydney can be a little slippery in all the wet weather we have been experiencing in Sydney - so we have placed large no-slip mats at the street entrance to the hotel, as our guests safety is of the utmost importance to us.

We hope to welcome you back when next in Sydney.

Kind regards

Darryl Healey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Hotel has a lot going for it but watch the charges and book well ahead as they will try to sting you hard when they have a high occupancy rate. As a business traveller I want to be able to trust my supply partners and with this Hotel I cant trust them to be consistent with their rates and the processes of checking and double checking changing rates for Fri, Sat and when they are busy is to much in this day and age. Seriously how can the same room cost me $300 on Friday, $430 on Saturday and $700 on Sunday? Its the same room and service you are providing. Be thankful you are busy and stop preying on your customers. Drop the $25/day Internet charge, in this day and age even a 12 year old knows that $25 buys you a months coverage at 5 times the speed you currently provide.
Lastly your service on Sundays.......Im strongly suggesting the average visitor to your hotel has no desire to have someone knocking on their door early on a Sunday morning enquiring if we need our room cleaned and returning every 30 minutes to check again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Steven O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraJamisonEAM, Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Steven O,

Thank you for your comments and for choosing to stay with us again on your recent visit to Sydney; however we feel you have confused our hotel for another in your review above - as we do not charge for Internet. Its 100% FREE at the Amora for both WiFi and Cable internet in both the rooms and public areas. Yes, other hotels in Sydney do charge $25 a day for internet - some even charge $25 per device - but we most certainly do not.

We agree with you 100% that in this day and age Internet is a basic amenity (Necessity) expected when travelling and should not be charged for, and that is why the Amora provides this value added service for free to all our guests.

We have also checked your booking for the room charges, as the prices you mentioned surprised us.You were at no time charged $700 for a Sunday, nor $300 on a Friday, nor $430 on Saturday, mind you we'd love to be able to charge those rates. Your room folio shows that you paid a flat corporate rate and stayed from Monday to Friday night, with a Saturday check-out.

Hotels prices across the globe are generally based on simple demand and supply pricing models. Its exactly like an airline - the price for your airline ticket changes based on the demand for that flight and the time of day of the flight - but its the same seat that you are buying, its just that the price changes based on the demand for that seat - and the same applies to hotel rooms.

Lastly your comments on the service on Sunday - we totally agree with you that this would not be acceptable at any hotel - however as you did not stay at the Amora on Saturday night, our staff could not have repeatedly disturbed you on the Sunday morning. We feel that you must also have experienced this at another hotel.

We do hope that you will chose to stay with us again when you are next in Sydney, as we very much value your patronage over the years.

Kind regards

Darryl Healey
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#18 of 178 in Sydney
5,614 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 178 in Sydney
4,275 reviews
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#27 of 178 in Sydney
6,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Property: Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Address: 11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the Sydney's well kept secrets, Amora Hotel Jamison is quite simply the place to be. Whether you are staying in one of our Newly Refurbished Deluxe Rooms or Suites, attending a Conference or Gala Dinner, unwinding at Amora Day Spa, enjoying Spanish cuisine in CHARR Restaurant or indulging in our Afternoon Tea in GALLERY Lounge Bar, you will experience genuine traditional personalised service. Superbly located above Wynyard Station between George and York Street, within walking distance to all major iconic attractions, Amora Hotel Jamison is renowned for spacious and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travelbag, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing