We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hostel, pretty out of the way, needs a refurb!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Village Surry Hills
Ranked #91 of 143 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Just another hostel guys really......pretty average price for Sydney i guess, but really needs to have a bit of a revamp!

The staff were ok, and they gave some assistance with local places etc, but that was about it.

The hostel has central heating for the winter, but they dont use it! We had to ask for a heater for the room and extra blankets, but this was provided.

Central station is very close to the hostel, which gives great access to other areas such as Bondi.

Overall yes its very basic, but if you are not too bothered about that, and its a short stay, then i am sure you will like it!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2010

Overally a decent hostel for the price. The location is not great, its a bit of a walk into town however, if you make it down to central station there is a free city loop bus.
The kitchen was a good size and there is a nice outside eating/sitting area! The rooms were in need of a make over which includes getting rid of the funky smell! The beds were also
super creaky if you moved a tiny bit it would wake most of the room up! The staff were friendly and we received a 24hour wirless internet card free each which saves alot of
money as internet is expensive in Australia! I'd recommend it for the price but there are other hostels closer into town that are better!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

Good value and the management tries hard, but the wireless Internet just does not work.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denisgwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2010

stayed here a few days before heading to South Australia. Accomodations were clean. Hard to get a hold of anyone in the office.

Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
Thank KimberlyB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

quite good location, very helpful staff, sometime too noisy

Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
Thank samcadlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2009

We have stayed in Alfred Park for 2 nights in a 4 ppl ensuite room.
Room : Spacious, clean, clean towel provided, high positioned power socket is hardly reachable for battery recharging
Bathroom: Clean
Internet access: complimentary free internet access for a certain duration of time, sufficient desktops provided in lobby equipped with earphone.
Hostel staff: Friendly and patient in providing guidance/assistance.
Safety/Security: Although the hostel is few minutes walk away from Central station through a park, no worries on safety as there are people playing basketball/tennis in the courts till late at night.
Hostel environment: The hostel management strongly advise hostel guest to adopt quiet environment after 11pm to avoid disturbance to other guests who wish to have a good sleep after day tour.
Recommendation: Recommend this hostel to those who wish to have a quiet place to sleep at night out of the hustle bustle in the city but yet still within walking distance to the city area.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sgtgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

I stayed here on 3 occasions, over the Christmas and New Year holiday and really enjoyed my stay. I stayed in a 4 bed room first, which I had to myself for 2 nights (a nice surprise) with ensuite and a TV. Room wasnt huge, but nice enough. I also stayed in the loft room on another occasion, which was a 6 bed and was huge, and a smaller 4 bed room on New Years Eve.
The kitchen facilities were great, and there was a small, but pleasant area outside. Staff were really helpful and there was free internet for all new guests as well. Quiet hostel as well.
Location was good, as it was right near Central Station, but it was possible to walk into the centre of Sydney as well.
Good security as well.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ju23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Maze Backpackers
#29 of 143 in Sydney
701 reviews
Newtown
Billabong Gardens
Billabong Gardens
#1 of 2 in Newtown
150 reviews
The Village Broadway
#69 of 143 in Sydney
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jackaroo Hostel
#26 of 143 in Sydney
287 reviews
Glebe
Glebe Village Backpackers
Glebe Village Backpackers
#80 of 143 in Sydney
110 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#10 of 143 in Sydney
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Surry Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Surry Hills

Address: 207 Cleveland St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2016, Australia (Formerly Alfred Park Accommodation)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 143 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: £11 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Village Surry Hills 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village Surry Hills is located smack-bang in vibrant Surry Hills. We're just a 5 minute walk to the city and Central Station, and a quick train or bus ride to the beach. Experience living like a local in a popular and trendy neighbourhood, while having Sydney's most iconic sights at your fingertips! Our quality accommodation is in a heritage building with modern renovations and a touch of industrial style. We've got a range of dorm and private rooms to suit every guest and budget, and a friendly vibe that will have you feeling right at home! Our modern and comfortable communal areas are the perfect place to meet fellow travelers. Cook up a storm with new friends in our communal kitchen and eat alfresco in our dining area. Sit in the courtyard and soak up the sunshine, or chill out and watch a movie in our comfy TV lounge while you plan your next adventure! We offer weekly hostel events including BBQ's, Movie Nights and more, as well as a free breakfast provided daily to start your day the right way. Our friendly staff will ensure that you enjoy your stay, and will happily their local knowledge and tips about the best places to see! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your The Village Surry Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfred Park Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing