We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Free wifi but not good place to stay.”

City Central Budget Accommodation
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
City Central Budget Accommodation
Ranked #78 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Free wifi but not good place to stay.”
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

No air conditioning and my room was sooo hot & smelly all the day. It was not clean, of course I saw cockroaches. There were only 1 bathroom and 1 small toilet in this backpackers. People used to sit down on the stairs because there were only 6 chairs in common area. Internet was free but couldn't use in my room. No lift and all rooms are in upstairs.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swimer34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    4
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
3
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

It's a small hostel, good location near central station and a lot of markets round the corner. You get free wifi and a free shuttle bus from the airport. If the shuttle bus is too busy, they give you the money for the train ticket (which is about 16 dollars!!!)
The kitchen is way too small and the rooms are very very hot and noisy from the street and surroundings. And only 2 showers (both with toilet) and 2 single toilets. No washing machine but a laundry service (about 8 dollars).
Because the kitchen is so small, you have a fridge in every room.
TV in every room but not a good signal quality.
Everything is very clean but a few small bugs are in the rooms. Not too bad...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InesGermany1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

I stay at the City Central Backpackers every time I go to Sydney. The first time I stayed there, friends stayed in the dorm rooms across the road and had a less than ideal experience (the lift smelled, not clean and so on). However, a friend and I stayed in the private rooms and were very pleased.

We were even more pleased on our recent trip to Sydney to find out that due to having closed their dorm building, they have been able to refurbish the 'nicer' building. The floors had been redone, there were new beds and mattresses in every room and it was just generally nicer. The staff were also more friendly.

The bathrooms leave a little to be desired, but you have to remember this is a backpackers, with shared bathrooms, and what you get is fantastic for the price.

The location is also great, only a few blocks from Central station, and located just a few minute walk from a shopping centre.

The backpackers also has free wifi and computers for use with free internet. There is a well equipped kitchen facility.

If you're after budget accommodation in Sydney then you can't go past this place.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank becsterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Oh the experience I had here! Admittidly I have only stayed at about 3 hostels but wow, this place was disgusting. The place was more like a prison than a place to stay, it was filthy, stunk, there were cockroaches, no air conditioning meaning sleep was hot and mostly non-exsistant, even the toilet door was missing meaning you had to close the whole bathroom! It seemed to get a quick mop each day and that was it, hair balls in the corner, dead bugs on the floor. Seriously, I would not reccomend staying there!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trinabeans2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#96 of 174 in Sydney
939 reviews
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#62 of 174 in Sydney
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oaks on Castlereagh
#73 of 174 in Sydney
602 reviews
790 on George
#45 of 137 in Sydney
198 reviews
Darlinghurst
Nates Place Backpackers
Nates Place Backpackers
#39 of 137 in Sydney
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Central Budget Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Central Budget Accommodation

Property: City Central Budget Accommodation
Address: 707 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your City Central Budget Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing