We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs proper cleaning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westend Backpackers
Ranked #108 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
“Needs proper cleaning”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

At very first opinion, this hostel is awful.
There is a strong stench coming from the lobby, that after the first day I though would have gone away but it seemed to just get worse.
There are 2 lifts, though for the 6 nights I was there only 1 was working, a lot of waiting time just to get up and down.
The staff seemed friendly and helpful enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 480Kasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    48
    50
    80
    204
See reviews for
21
64
157
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We chose this Hostel for a couple of days in Sydney and we booked a double room with private toilet. We usually travel sleeping in Hostels but we never had such a bad experience. The room was quite wide and close to the city centre, stop. These are the only good things. The room was really really dirty, with fitted carped, with no opening windows or air conditioning, no working plugs and a lot of beetles! 14 floors with just one working lift. It was really lauded. The common dining room was well equipped and clean.
If you want a cheap but still acceptable place to stay, don't go there!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luca Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Room is very dirty especially underneath the beds, left over potato chips and some rubbish.
Beds are very dirty, full of hairs from previous and stain bath towels. Room is constantly damp and smells really bad.

Very disappointing with super low water pressure in shower.Cold overrides hot water, unable to maintain a warm temp with adequate flow. Flow rate is unacceptable more like dripping water out of showerhead instead of water flowing out steadily.

very very noisy in the middle of night from other rooms. No recommended for staying

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sk W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The location is great, but we got off train station and walked past 5-10 other hostels so do no need to stay here just for that reason! The staff seemed lovely and had good group/ free activities on but this is where my compliments end. It is dirty, and smells quite bad. It is advertised as 'private bathroom' which sounds good until you realise there is 1 toilet/ disgusting shower between 6 and no other communal ones! The lift is a complete NIGHTMARE!! One for whole building and no stairs to use- it takes a good 10 mins to come down but always people queuing so we gad to wait AGES!! Would not stay here again. We paid 4 dollars for a day wifi and it was fast so no issues there. They also moved us room so we could check in early which was brill.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LylieJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This place is DISGUSTING. DO NOT STAY HERE. Do not even visit this area. It's night life is a waste. We came from beautiful friendly Melbourne for the weekend and what a complete waste of money and time. The double room is constantly damp, you must have shoes on your feet the entire time, there is a dripping notice coming from the broken aircon. Beds are squeaky and uncomfortable.
We had a few cockroaches in our room and asked the night staff for big killer and his response was he couldn't assist at 3am.. Everyone else's negative feedback is the complete truth. I've never seen such an unlivable place in my life.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirs10maree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Wifi is slow and in some rooms can't even reach. Elevator skips floors and is unpredicible. Coacroaches everywhere. Dryer don't dry cloth proper. There is 2-3 plugs in every room, where 1 is for aircondition.
But the staff is nice

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mads K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nomads w, Manager at Westend Backpackers, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Hi Mads, Thanks for the review! We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels! The Nomads Westend Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noumea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The staff here were very friendly and nice. They seem to do the best they can with what they have to work with, which is a rather old, cramped feeling building. In March 2014 only one of two elevators was working nd the wait was very long. The hallways and rooms smelled of mold, which was fine for three members of our party. The fourth suffers from allergies and though she is not terribly sensitive, she barely got by by taking medicine until we could find an alternative. That said, the staff was very understanding and gave us a refund when we cut the visit short. The kitchen is clean but there is hardly any silverware, and the beds were OK if not great. Bedding very clean. The location is fine: you can reach Circular Quay on foot in about 20-25 minutes, and there is a supermarket right around the corner.It is fine for the money - but once we got the chance to move to the YHA at The Rocks (an incredible place in an incredible location, for the same price), we jumped on it. I would recommend other travelers try elsewhere first but you will do OK with Westend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nomads w, Manager at Westend Backpackers, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Hi Nadine, Thanks so much for the review. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. The
Nomads Westend Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Maze Backpackers
#27 of 139 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
790 on George
#43 of 139 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Central Business District
Base Backpackers
Base Backpackers
#22 of 139 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sydney Central Inn
#58 of 139 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#8 of 139 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Railway Square YHA
#12 of 139 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westend Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westend Backpackers

Property: Westend Backpackers
Address: 412 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Footprints Westend)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Westend Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westend Backpackers is located right in the center of the CBD, just a stone throw from Central Station and right in the hub of Sydney's' best restaurants, shops and Bars . We're also only a 15min walk from the Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge! Our aim at Westend Backpackers is for you to have a brilliant time and to leave with a smile on your face and a bounce in your step. We have dorms of all sizes ranging from private rooms to our infamous 32 bed dorm "The Church", as well as excellent facilities and legendary staff whose job it is to ensure you have a wonderful time. We focus on providing you with more than just a bed with daily and nightly activities organised for you. There's never a dull moment during your time here , whether it's partying VIP style with us at multiple bars or enjoying a chilled movie night whilst stuffing your face with free popcorn in our tv lounge, there's only one thing you won't want to do while staying at Westend, and that's leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Westend Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westend Backpackers Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing