We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westend Backpackers
Ranked #104 of 143 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Reviewed 23 June 2014

where to begin?! myself and a friend booked into the 32 bed dorm for a week. it was a wee bit smelly from someone's shoes but i think that pretty much was the worst of it. just open a window or the door for a while and no bother. the room was always quiet to allow for those who slept at different times of the day. the beds were clean with fresh linen received on arrival. a bit of a bugger was climbing up to the top bunk but im small so i suppose its not much of a complaint. the cleaners were in everyday to hoover and just keep the place in line. on the day we were checking out they were doing a deep clean so reassuring to know they keep on top of things. ive read many a review giving out about bugs and stuff and this is not true! well ok i had to squish a cockroach but honestly it was at the side stairs (and it didnt freak me out and i hate bugs!) ehm the bathrooms were grand. clean. no issues there. showers the same. good, plenty of hot water, clean. the kitchen i admit i didnt use much but there was always someone there cooking and i think just need to find a time to cook when not everybody else was because it gets crowded. the common area was big and spacious and there was always a laugh to be had. they had a tv area too and that was pretty cool. always looking to see what people wanted to watch. on movie night they provide free popcorn. who can argue with that! and every night there was always something going on. the staff were awesome always trying to get everyone involved so no1 felt left out. there was always free goon on the go for the organised nights (try if you dare) spoke to staff at mad travel desk to organise a trip along the coast and they were ridiculously helpful and try make sure you get the best deal. the rest of the staff are fantastic! they go above and beyond and just really make it work. they have great enthusiasm and energy just good people! wifi there was a good deal. cheap for a week of unlimited access. the hostel itself is in a great location. close to everything. this place was so great we went there after travelling up to brisbane and no doubt if and when i go back to sydney this will be the place i stay.i definitely recommend this whether you're a lone traveller or with friends, whether you are passing through or staying to work, whether you are they for a wild party or to take it easy. this place has got it all and you'd be a fool to stay anywhere else especially when this place is for a bargain price too!

Room Tip: if you are looking to make new friends, go for the 32 bed dorm or "the church" as they cal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magaggie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nomads w, Manager at Westend Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thanks for your detailed feedback, We loved reading about your stay with us ! we pride ourselves on offering more then just a bed and en experience to suit any type of backpacker. Thanks again I guess we will see you soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

262 - 268 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

The hostel is cheap, but you get what you pay for. We had a private room, not the nicest but it was ok. Clean sheets and all. But the bathroom was across the hall, witch sucked, beacuse we still had to get dressed to go to the toilet at night...
One thing we really didn't like was that we saw one of the cleaners (tall, black girl with long hair) doing her hair in our bathroom. We thought she just fixed it a little while cleaning, but when we came back nothing was cleaned. Still paper on the floor and stuff. So why she was even in there i don't know. I don't like strangers hanging out in our private room with our personal stuff. Its a reason we booked a private room.
Apart from that, the people in reception was amazing! Very friendly and very helpful! :D

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Tonje V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nomads w, Manager at Westend Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thanks for leaving your review with us :) We understand that the external bathroom can be frustrating at times but its better then no bathroom at all :) We do offer an ensuited private room for just an extra $10 per night :0. We apologise for the disruption of your privacy and for your information This particular staff member is no longer with us and we thank you for leaving your review with us, See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Nomads Sydney is in a pretty good location along with a few other hostels, with about a half an hour walk to the harbour and main attractions and huge shopping malls and convenient stores on the door step. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the travel information and facilities were really good. However the building is very cramped with not many windows at all and a really faulty and temperamental lift serving all the floors. The room itself was very small and not cleaned very thoroughly, so as we were staying there 6 nights this was increasingly difficult to deal with. The wifi had to be paid for which we thought was a bit off considering what you're paying for this hostel, but the kitchen facilities were really good. I'd suggest perhaps looking elsewhere, but it could be worse.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nomads w, Manager at Westend Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thanks for leaving your review. Our secondary lift currently out of order definitely affects us and unfortunately its not an overnight fix. We apologise for any inconvenience but We are glad you were satisfied with the staff and other aspects of the hostel :) See you next time :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I stay in private ensuit but someone come in my room and stolen my perfume. Toilet light broken. I ask staff to get someone to fix but none. My family have to took shower in the dark. When see one of staff at reception, he saw me but I have to wait him about 3 mins until he turn his face up to talk with me.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kittikorn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nomads w, Manager at Westend Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thanks for leaving your feedback. It's horrible to hear that you felt there was a theft in your room and that the staff were unhelpful. we pride ourselves on customer service and this is exactly why we love feedback. We wish it was brought to management so we could of actioned this problem ASAP. We hope the rest of your travels are fantastic :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My friends and I recently stayed at this hostel. Upon arrival everything seemed okay, the staff were friendly and it looked like a fun place. When we got up to our rooms, we instantly began getting ready for our night out. First thing we noticed was that our bathroom was very dirty, it looked like it hadnt been cleaned from the previous people. We didnt really take notice of the room and went out. When we arrived back at 4 in the morning after having a great night we realised that we didnt have blankets so we asked the people at the front desk for some blankets. They were extremely rude to us and told us that they didnt care and that we should have said something during the day. We apologised and said that we didnt realise but they still did not care and did not give us any blankets. This night was freezing, it was the beginning of Winter. Saturday the 7th of June to be exact. We did not get any sleep because we were freezing our buts off. Then at about 6 in the morning some random person accessed out room. I asked who the F*** they were and they just walked out again. The security was bull and if this was a staff member, they could have made themselves known to us but still should not have been in our room at 6 in the morning! My friends and I were really unhappy with the service and would not stay here again or recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kateokop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nomads w, Manager at Westend Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thanks for your review, It was absolutely horrible reading about your stay with us at Westend backpackers. We pride ourselves on providing an experience and outstanding customer service and it makes me sick to hear that our staff treated you this way. We are looking into this issue to ensure this doesn't happen again. Linen is something provided and we would offer you as many blankets as you need to ensure you were warm and comfortable. I would love to get more information from you in regards to your stay, please email alex@nomadsworld.com with any information you have . We Apologise for the inconvenience and wish you well. Thanks again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I went to OZ alone on holiday and I've travelled up the east coast, staying in a lot of hostels along the way but this was by far the best. The staff were amazing and the free pasta and rice daily helped as well. You would not find staff like it anywhere else. The rooms themselves are a bit ragged (which is to be expected in a building so old). What the rooms lack the staff more than make up for.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom_1992712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nomads w, Manager at Westend Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thanks for your feedback, Were glad you enjoyed your stay and we love you just as much as you love our staff :) This "old" building will be going through some changes and we cant wait to combine our outstanding staff with a beautiful hostel. Until next time . Safe travels :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I had a three-night stay in a private room with "ensuite" which was actually a separate room across the corridor. But that's OK. It's no big deal - since it is exclusively mine to use. I can live with that. This was cheap, so I didn't expect 5-star service and comfort. But..... this was not only cheap, it was cheap and nasty!

There was no "wardrobe" as such in my room. It was more of a "hole in the wall". No drawers, no bedside. Nothing to put my small stuff on. A table and a chair would have been nice. Actually, even just a chair would have been nice. At least the air conditioning works. I had it on all night (yes! in MAY) to combat the musty smell of the room.

The staff were friendly and enthusiastic and always ready to help, but the reception area constantly smells of sweat, body odour, musty carpet and wall, and alcohol. One of the lifts is still broken (I think it has been mentioned in other reviews for many weeks now?)

Worst of all - the "en suite". The shower head that didn't stay up and no soap tray - well.... those are annoyances but not life and death matter and I worked around them but - see attached photo, note the black mold and mildew spreading up the screen. The close up photo shows the bottom of the screen. I think there is enough caked on matter there to grow a small mushroom garden!
That shower screen would have been declared a health hazard of epic proportion. If a health inspection was to be carried out tomorrow, I have no doubt the place would be closed down on the spot.

I have stayed in other places of similar price but none of them were dirty and smelly like this. There is NO EXCUSE to allow the place to get this run down. Your customers could actually get sick from this environment!

I am not staying here again and will NOT recommend this place to anyone until a major, MAJOR upgrade and clean out is done.

Room Tip: Choose any room - from a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phi_Ngaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nomads w, Manager at Westend Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thanks for your review, It was absolutely gut wrenching to hear about your stay with us at Westend Backpackers. Our Budget doubles are currently in the process of being refurbished along with there bathrooms. It's an older building but will look brand new in the coming months and we cant wait for the final result. Our secondary lift is in the process of being fixed, unfortunately its not an overnight process. Were glad you found the staff helpful and its unfortunate the rest of you stay was not upto standards. Wishing you safe travels :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Maze Backpackers
#29 of 143 in Sydney
701 reviews
790 on George
#55 of 143 in Sydney
206 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#10 of 143 in Sydney
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Summer House Backpackers
#16 of 143 in Sydney
118 reviews
Central Business District
Base Backpackers
Base Backpackers
#22 of 143 in Sydney
728 reviews
Inner West
Wake Up! Sydney
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 143 in Sydney
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westend Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westend Backpackers

Address: 412 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Footprints Westend)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 143 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: £14 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Westend Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westend Backpackers is located right in the center of the CBD, just a stone throw from Central Station and right in the hub of Sydney's' best restaurants, shops and Bars . We're also only a 15min walk from the Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge! Our aim at Westend Backpackers is for you to have a brilliant time and to leave with a smile on your face and a bounce in your step. We have dorms of all sizes ranging from private rooms to our infamous 32 bed dorm "The Church", as well as excellent facilities and legendary staff whose job it is to ensure you have a wonderful time. We focus on providing you with more than just a bed with daily and nightly activities organised for you. There's never a dull moment during your time here , whether it's partying VIP style with us at multiple bars or enjoying a chilled movie night whilst stuffing your face with free popcorn in our tv lounge, there's only one thing you won't want to do while staying at Westend, and that's leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Westend Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westend Backpackers Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing