We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westend Backpackers
Ranked #108 of 145 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I must start this by saying we did only pay around 60 dollars for a double room with a private bathroom, so please take that into account.

The staff were really nice so that's a plus.

The hostel was awful. The worst hostel I have ever stayed in. The reception area smelt like a overflown nightclub toilet. You have to wait about 5 minutes for the elevator to get the ground level and then it's like a chance of luck that you don't die in it. The room itself was really basic but the carpet grossed me out and so did the bed. I really felt like I was going to catch something in it. The bed itself was the most uncomfortable mattress I have ever slept on. It's worse than a prison bed. The private bathroom was not joined to the room, it was across the hallway and the door was pretty much just slats with a shower curtain over it.

The window has an aircon in it but the sounds from the street below travel right through it.

If you can afford an extra 20 bucks go somewhere else because is not even worth the cheapness of the room

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Lana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

275 - 281 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

I stayed here recently for a night with three friends whilst making a stopover in Sydney and it was the perfect location to do so. The location is excellent, within walking distance of the big landmarks and shopping locations. When we arrived the staff were very helpful and friendly, which I had also found when emailing them about my friends and I being put in the same room. There was a let down when we found there was only one lift (which was quite slow) for 12 floors, as the other one was out of order. This won't be a problem for those who are patient and it didn't bother us that much seeing as you can exit the hostel via stairs and we were out of the hostel a majority of the time anyway. We shared a 4-bunk room which was very clean and has a nice view of the city below. The bathroom look a bit grubby and to be honest none of us showered during our 24hrs there as it didn't look all that appealing. If you are staying for longer you might want to take this into consideration. We arrived back at the hostel quite late at night with no hassle and felt quite safe there. There was a fair bit of city noise going on outside but for younger/heavier sleepers this shouldn't be a problem, it wasn't for us, just part of the experience. We didn't get to see much of the party/social scene and didn't really use the kitchen at all so we can't comment on that, but if you're looking for an affordable place to crash for a night or two I would recommend giving Westend a try.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank htrame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

great staff, good people, good area, good times, central to train stations, markets centers, various cultures, many restaurants, museums, lots of random shops for a good a buy, safe area, very old part of australia.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Great central location, a lot of partying, easy to make new friends (great place for people travelling on their own) free rice and pasta!
Not the best option for tidy people and families though as rooms are a bit messy and it's quite noisy as well.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank TamiNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nomads w, Manager at Westend Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thanks for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and wish you safe travels :) see you next time :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The overall experience was terrible. The shower didn't work properly. The housekeeping just came in to your room, so no privacy. Also the elevator takes ages to go up and down. At night you get at least 6 times an intercom about drunk activities. When we decided to travel further and our bus leaves at 6 pm, the staff wouldn't let us storage our bags upon checking out. For 30 dollars a night you expect more.
Staff unfriendly, room and bathroom wasn't clean, many rude drunk people, elevator doesn't work proplerly. This hostel I don't recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Maloe2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nomads w, Manager at Westend Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thanks for leaving your feedback. It was horrible to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us at Westend backpackers. Our Housekeepers do have to access shared rooms daily to ensure the rooms are cleaned for new guests arriving however they will always knock prior to entering, this is a standard process for all hostels in Australia. We offer free luggage storage for guests arriving and offer ($4 for 12 hours) private locker hire for guests departing. It breaks our heart to hear that our staff weren't anything short of amazing and we will be looking into this issue. We hope you travel safe and enjoy the rest of your time abroad :) :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Worst hostel I've stayed in!
Common areas, room & bathroom were dirty, a cleaner does come through the room daily however all that is done is a light vacuum and spray the toilet with spray & wipe. There was mould on the walls in the bathroom and the floor and walls of the shower were absolutely filthy and in need of a good scrub. Suspicious looking white stains on the sheets too. The cooking area is much too small for the amount if people and as such myself and most of the people I spoke to refused to use the kitchen and ate out most nights. There's 2 fridges which are packed full so you cannot fit anything in there, and the pigeon holes are the same. There's only one lift for 13 floors and it's incredibly slow so takes ages to get anywhere. The wifi is only $4 a day however doesn't reach all rooms so I couldn't use it in my room or the common areas.
On the plus side, the location is great as it's very central and walking distance to Coles and the staff were fantastic (except for the cleaning staff!) nightly activities are also great.
Overall I would not recommend staying here, there's so many nicer & better value hostels in Sydney!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dardy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nomads w, Manager at Westend Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thanks for leaving your feedback :)

To start with our cleaners Deep clean the showers, basin and toilet daily to ensure they are up to standards however we will look into this . No one like suspicious white stains, if this was brought to our attention i'm sure we could of serviced this for you. We are also in the process of phasing out our sheets and replacing them with brand new ones :) Our kitchen boasts 10 gas cookers and 4 double door fridges and often compensates for the amount of guests we have however we do apologise if you did not feel this way and will look into that issue. Thanks again for your feed back :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I think this hostel is underrated on TripAdvisor. There was something wrong with one of the elevators and the other was very slow. I stayed on the 6th floor, so this was a big problem, but other than that, I had a comfortable stay there.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank misocutlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nomads w, Manager at Westend Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thanks for leaving your feed back on trip advisor and for staying at Westend backpackers :)

Unfortunately during your stay our secondary lift was out of order which meant the primary lift was working overtime and did unfortunately take its time to access all floors, We apologise for the inconvenience but stoked that you enjoyed other aspects of your stay. See you next time :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
790 on George
#56 of 145 in Sydney
207 reviews
Maze Backpackers
#23 of 145 in Sydney
725 reviews
Summer House Backpackers
#14 of 145 in Sydney
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zing Backpackers
#36 of 145 in Sydney
136 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#10 of 145 in Sydney
421 reviews
Kings Cross
Hump Backpackers
Hump Backpackers
#42 of 145 in Sydney
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westend Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westend Backpackers

Address: 412 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Footprints Westend)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 145 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: £18 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Westend Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westend Backpackers is located right in the center of the CBD, just a stone throw from Central Station and right in the hub of Sydney's' best restaurants, shops and Bars . We're also only a 15min walk from the Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge! Our aim at Westend Backpackers is for you to have a brilliant time and to leave with a smile on your face and a bounce in your step. We have dorms of all sizes ranging from private rooms to our infamous 32 bed dorm "The Church", as well as excellent facilities and legendary staff whose job it is to ensure you have a wonderful time. We focus on providing you with more than just a bed with daily and nightly activities organised for you. There's never a dull moment during your time here , whether it's partying VIP style with us at multiple bars or enjoying a chilled movie night whilst stuffing your face with free popcorn in our tv lounge, there's only one thing you won't want to do while staying at Westend, and that's leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Westend Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westend Backpackers Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing