We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hyde Park Backpackers
Ranked #19 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasent Stay”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The Hyde Park Budget Accommodation was real value for money. The landlord, is a very nice gentleman, he does the cleaning and keep up the condition of the room very well. The type of people who stay there messes up his property. I feel at times very sorry for the landlord. There are people who have been living long term . I stayed there for nearly 2 weeks and I felt safe and like my home. The landlord lives in the property and he will attend to your needs any time. For budget middle age travels , this place will be suitable and ideal for you. For those youngsters , probably a proper backpackers will be suitable for you as you guys don't spoil the area and environment and pollute the place with beer bottles and rubbish. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Segar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    29
    1
    4
    11
See reviews for
4
23
55
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2012

I have recently had to stay in Sydney for work and needed accomodation on and off for a total of 2 months. After long winded searches for accomodation that wouldnt do on and off or charged through the teeth, or looked absolutely horrible/dodgey I finally found Hyde park backpackers. I couldnt think of a better place to stay. The owner is lovely and does everything he can to ensure you are comfortable, its nice and quiet so good when you need to get up early for work the next day but on the other hand there is also always someone friendly to chat with in the common area. Not to mention the location, walk to central station, Sydney Habour, china town anywhere its right in the middle of everything! I would definately stay again and recomend to any friends needing to stay in Sydney!

Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank caitlin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2012

This has been a great hostel. I stayed for 2 weeks in a 7 bed dorm. It is clean, quiet and I really felt at home here. The facilities are nice, the price is reasonable and the owner is a really cool guy. He even sang and played some guitar one afternoon in the lounge. If I come back to Sydney I know that I will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Very nice place to stay highly recomend it its clean, quiet so can easily sleep at nights, good vacilites its also in a great location in the city.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Euan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2011

I have been in Australia almost 2 years and stayed in Sydney for a long time. Always when I was in Sydney I came back to this place. It is nice, quiet and comfortable. I made many friends here in this place from all over the world. The last 2 month I stayed in a single room which was nice and the price was fair. The owner is very patient, fair and human.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2011

I stayed in the girls dorm for 6 nights, the room was clean and the bed was comfortable, the wireless internet was very useful, and the manger was very friendly. The location was very convenient as it was in the center of the city and in general I enjoyed the staying there :)

Room Tip: i recommend the girls dorm as it was very clean affordable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malabo, Equatorial Guinea
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2011

Good facilities, bagage storage and free wireless internet. Perfect location

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gina v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Sydney Harbour YHA
Sydney Harbour YHA
#2 of 139 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 139 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Jackaroo Hostel
#26 of 139 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#9 of 139 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#8 of 139 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 139 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyde Park Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Park Backpackers

Property: Hyde Park Backpackers
Address: 90 Wentworth Avenue, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hyde Park Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing