We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont stay there!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodduck Boomerang Backpackers
Ranked #84 of 142 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dont stay there!”
Reviewed 25 March 2009

We booked a double room with ensuite as we saw the flyers in Brisbane. The flyer stated that the double rooms are short walk away and that everything is new. We walked to the hostel in scorching heat only to find out that the double rooms were back at the train station 15min walk- where we started! so we walked back only to find out that reception was shut until 4.30pm- it was 1pm when we got there. Also, that building was under a different name!There was no map of where double rooms are on the website and no indication of reception opening times. once the reception was open, the staff had no idea of our booking, eventhough i had an email of them confirming it! i had to lod into my own email to show them! the room was filthy, old, and had cockroaches! we went to find another hostel and found WAKE UP, which for 15 dollars more was fantastic! please dont stay there, its terrible!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LejlaKevric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodduckSydney, Owner at Woodduck Boomerang Backpackers, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
This review was written before the Hostel changed name and ownership. The property has since undertaken renovations and upgrades with new management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    10
    7
    13
    16
See reviews for
Families
0
14
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2009

I stayed here for seven nights over the New year period. Rooms were not cleaned once, toilets and showers were very dirty. Eight people were staying in my room, which should only have held four max...there was no place to put clothes or rucksacks, therefore the floor of the room was covered in clothes and other items. Literally everyone in this hostel gave out about the conditions and indeed the price we were paying. My advice to anyone...don't stay here!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Very dirty hostel
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tony121London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodduckSydney, Owner at Woodduck Boomerang Backpackers, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
This review was written before the Hostel changed name and ownership. The property has since undertaken renovations and upgrades with new management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Sospel
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2008

How can someone says the service is fine? They don't clean the floor of your room, you have 8 seat and 5 cooker places in kichen, for maybe more than 50 guests, and it's so dirty! I don't speak about the toilet. No facilities as described on the website (lockers, free video DVD... only laundry machines), during the breakfast (8 until 9 am only!) you have to ask several times the receptionnist to refill bread or cereals.
There were some works when I was in, the owner was here everyday and never bow to one of the guests.
To conclude, each backpacker who was gone in an other hotel of King Cross said that it was really nicer than the Boomerang.
Why did I stay here? Because I booked in for 4 weeks, from France, the website was nice and gave a good opinion...
There are other backpacker in the same location for the same price, you have the choice.

  • Liked — When I'm gone...
  • Disliked — The Boomerang Backpacker
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cousotrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodduckSydney, Owner at Woodduck Boomerang Backpackers, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
This review was written before the Hostel changed name and ownership. The property has since undertaken renovations and upgrades with new management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2007

Loved this place, very clean and the rooms were a generous size with TV. Kitchen and lounge area great as well but what i loved most was the rooftop terrace with great views of the harbour bridge. So nice sitting up there at night seeing Sydney lit up.
Staff friendly and great location, practically in the kings cross area and a ten/fifteen min walk into the main city area and to the opera house and harbour.

  • Liked — room size,cleanliness,locations and views
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed June 2005, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nicip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 January 2006

Was awful place, very dissapointed.
Was dirty and smelt, room was only supposed to hold 6 and was 8 beds in it, couldnt move, bed bugs too! Had to sleep with backpack on the bed as no where to put it. staff unfriendly and unhelpful, no pick up from bus station even though said they would. Checked out 5 days early and lost a lot of money as had to pay beforehand but was not spendin christmas there! Im not just moanin for the sake of moanin- spoke to many people who thought was awful too- just wanted to warn people!!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodduckSydney, Owner at Woodduck Boomerang Backpackers, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
This review was written before the Hostel changed name and ownership. The property has since undertaken renovations and upgrades with new management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2005

An excellent hostel located in a great location near the city centre and Opera house, Fantastic views of the harbour bridge from the rooftop. Very helpful staff and the Free pickup from the airport was a great help.
Very comfortable rooms with a clean kitchen and TV room, Free breakfast every morning was nice too. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessontheblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 November 2004

I booked a triple room over the net found that all aspects of the service were fine.
The room was tidy and adequate and the location was great.
Any one who wants a good centrally located hostel close to kings cross, this would be a good choice.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Darlinghurst
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ibis budget Sydney East
#118 of 178 in Sydney
661 reviews
Darlinghurst
Medusa
Medusa
#85 of 178 in Sydney
173 reviews
Darlinghurst
Sydney Boutique Hotel
Sydney Boutique Hotel
#100 of 178 in Sydney
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar
Darlinghurst
Nates Place Backpackers
Nates Place Backpackers
#43 of 142 in Sydney
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodduck Boomerang Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodduck Boomerang Backpackers

Property: Woodduck Boomerang Backpackers
Address: 141 William St | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 142 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Woodduck Boomerang Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing