We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kings Cross Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$270
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
56
19
23
13
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
19
23
13
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfastkings crossfridge spacecleaned dailyhuge lockerscinema roombed dormcommunal areasroof terracenoisy at nightgreat place to staywe've stayedgreat facilitiestwo nightshostelps4netflix
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I really rate the quality of this hostel. Nice communal areas and kitchen! The rooftop was also a really chilled out area! Free wifi and breakfast which is always a bonus in Australia! The hostel was mostly full of long termers so the dorms were quite messy and people tended to stick with their own group of friends, so it was hard to meet other backpackers. Good location, a 5 min walk from Kings Cross station and the bars/ shops! Nice hostel, but lacks the backpacker atmosphere!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatieNelson_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Booked a week but left early as we really did not enjoy our stay in this hostel.

Other guests were unfriendly and most were long termers so did not make the effort to chat to us. They treated the hostel like their own home and we felt very unwelcome at times. In our room there was no space to unpack due to the amount of clothes and other items left about by current and previous guests. It felt like staying uninvited in someones (very messy) home. There were no ladders on the bunk beds which made climbing to the top bunk a mission! Doors to bedrooms were left open and unlocked so anyone could and did walk in.

There are three floors of rooms with toilets and bathrooms on each. These were cleaned daily but never felt clean! The showers had no doors only a curtain, and there are no hooks or surfaces to leave your things whilst showering.

The shared areas are ok. Kitchen is a bit on the small side for the number of people who could stay at one time. We spotted cockroaches in there so were put off cooking. Again, there was hardly any space to store food in the cupboards or fridges. The free breakfast is good, cereals and toast. The downstairs basement with a tv is ok, bit cold. Every time we went there we would find people lay on the sofas leaving no room to sit. Wifi is only really available in the downstairs area. Roof terrace looked nice but as our stay was during winter we had no reason to use it.

The area is ok, even though it is the red light district the street where the hostel is not as busy as darlinghurst road. The train station is a 2 minute walk or would take 20 minutes to walk to cbd.

Overall I would say that for the price you could probably get a more central location with better facilities. Our stay couldve been much improved if the atmosphere was better and if the management were a little stricter in enforcing their rules. The long term guests got away with a lot! I would not recommend this hostel if you are only in sydney for a short while as it played a big part in us deciding to leave sydney earlier than planned.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wg1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

This was the first place we stayed in Oz & it turned out to be great value for money in relation to other places. Free wifi & breakfast (toast & cereal), cool rooftop with comfy seats, cool TV/pool/basement room. Girls loos out of order for a while & lots of crack heads/sleazy bars outside, but felt safe in the hostel & good location not far from the sights. Recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coatesy1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

When we first arrived (10am) the reception staff seemed quite harassed and it felt like we were putting them out to get checked in. In fact we left our luggage and returned later on when she wasn't so busy! It transpired a few days later that we'd been put in the wrong room although they managed to move other peoples bookings around rather than have us pack up and leave.

The rooms are extremely basic although the lockers are good quality and quite large. The beds themselves are cramped and uncomfortable. It gets very noisy at night with people banging doors and shouting all the time.

Our floor had only one toilet for the girls and often looked mucky, although to be fair someone cleaned them everyday.

The downstairs "den" and roof top terrace are really nice and relaxing, lots of squishy sofas. They also have large TV's and a pool table.

The facilities in the kitchen are pretty good although it can get cramped. The main problem was the cockroaches - they seemed to be everywhere! Disgusting! One good thing is that people do tend to wash and put away their own pots here and the kitchen does get cleaned regularly (unlike other places we've stayed).

The main thing that put me off this hostel was probably the other backpackers. The hostel seemed to attract holiday visa types who hung out in large groups and made you feel really uncomfortable if you happened to sit nearby. I really liked the rooftop but unfortunately had to share the space with people who sat around smoking weed and bragging about their other drug habits... Felt like we couldn't mention it to the staff as they seem to live there also and are part of that group.

The hostel is in a good location but we were happy to move on.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shelly_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Excellent location, and i imagine good for meeting other travellers. (Though I got the impression a lot of the travellers were actually living there on working visas)

Rooms however are poorly cleaned and only one female toilet for entire floor which was not clean either (always seemed to have toilet paper on floor). Kitchen too small for amount of guests.

All staff seemed young and careless only seemed to be interested in nights out getting drunk. During my stay shower light broke so had to shower in near darkness. Went swimming in local pool just to get a decent shower! Very poor facilities

Has potential to be a good hostel due to location but falls down on the details of cleanliness, service and facilities

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucy1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews