We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Aussie day!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kings Cross Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kings Cross Backpackers
Ranked #50 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Aussie day!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Got invited to Kings Cross backpackers for a roof top Australia day party. It was an absolute blast as the boys had awesome beats pumping w triple J top 100, an inflatable pool and free BBQ. Great vibe w great people from all over the world! Cheers boys!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ob_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    16
    23
    13
    20
See reviews for
Families
0
20
46
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Me and my friend stayed there for two nights in December. We arrived at the reception at 10am ish and were able to check in straight away which was pretty cool. The room was in a mess but later on there was a lady came in to clean it up. We were given only sheets(no real blankets), so at night we were basically freezing. The bathrooms were terrible (broken taps). The kitchen, dining rooms, lounge rooms were a bit cute. We liked the rooftop it was pretty cool.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pariyaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Having just spent a month sleeping in a campervan I was looking forwards to sleeping in a proper bed, however the super squeaky metal bunkbeds in the dorm meant that I could hardly shift a muscle in bed to get comfortable without fear of waking up the entire dorm. The hostel did have many positives however: a clean well laid out communal area, decent kitchen, friendly staff who arranged pub crawls and stuff which as a solo traveller was great and a pretty good location.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

At first, I was devastated to come here - the rooms are very dirty (probably the yuckiest I've seen)and I'm not sure but it looked like mold all over the windowsills. However, the common areas are nice - the rooftop has beautiful lights and thousands of bats fly over your head every night, the basement has a large TV and the foodarea is nice. What I lacked was some privacy, but the lack of privacy also made people socialize more and the atmosphere was Great. I met so many nice and interesting people there, that I had probably never even talked to if I stayed at a larger hostel like YHA. Breakfast was nice - toasts with a variety of marmelades and peanutbutter. The hostel also has some kind of event every night which is nice - like free hot chocolate or free nachos - yummy!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amathildah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

A sunny and pleasant common room area - free breakfast was a lovely way to meet people. The tea and coffee all day was fantastic!

Our dorm was all girls and got wifi in it (not all do) which was decent enough if you get on at antisocial hours.

It's a walk to the CBD but two minutes to Kings Cross where there's clubs, bars, supermarket and a wonderful market at the weekend.

There was one shower that worked on our floor for quite a few people which at the busy time would perhaps be annoying but generally the hostel was clean and trustworthy (large lockers in room which I was able to fit all my belongings).

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Gille6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

This was my boyfriend and I first stop in Sydney, we got the free shuttle from the airport here which was great we stayed here for a total of 2 weeks starting 1st August whilst looking for work in the city. First we stayed in one of their 4 bed dorms which was great huge lockers and pretty quiet but thats all down to who you room with. The corridors are a tad noisy at night but only due to all the doors being firedoors. After this we stayed in room 11 which was a 12 bed dorm. We did this purely for cost cutting and it was okay. Again you cant help who your in a room with. If thats 12 girls from Essex and northern England then you know your in for a lack of sleep. The room was divided into 3 with 2 bunk beds in each room which worked really well and helped with light and noise issues.
That aside the wifi was alright, didnt work in the rooms most of the time which was a pain. The common areas were great for meeting people but not good for sitting for long periods as they only have wooden benches which do your back and bum in after a while. Kitchen couldn't really fault it, everything you would need to cook anything to be fair. Pretty clean for a communal kitchen and they had a brilliant free food shelf where people could leave odd things they didnt want often leaving you with a free meal! Score.
Bathrooms were always clean what more can you ask for really? They also have xbox and dvds along with a free toasty night on Thursdays along with other going out events during the week. Overall we loved our stay here and were very sad to move on but sadly we found a flat share which worked out to be much cheaper and quieter!! Never had anything stolen and lockers all very secure overall loved it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraCollins93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and it cost us $124.

Good points:
* helpful staff
* opportunity to meet lots of people
*secure attitude - although sometimes some of the rooms were wedged open on occasion, I felt my stuff was safe
* policies were adhered to vast majority of time (see above) which meant that everyone respected the hostel boundaries - esp. in terms of the kitchen - overall not too bad, everyone washed own plates up etc.
*location is pretty central - Sydney CBD and Bondi Beach are both in close proximity
*staff were cleaning everyday and quite throughly too - hoovering/mopping communal areas etc.
*lots of hostel activities

Negatives:
* most of the people staying there are people who have lived there for several months so can seem a bit 'cliquey' at first
*guests are put in the same room as the long term people so the room we were in was a complete tip/stuff everywhere
*likewise the kitchen and fridge space taken up by people who live there
*no lift and a LOT of stairs if you have a suitcase
*not much to do in Kings Cross itself
*only a shower curtain in unisex and single sex showers - looked flimsy and fell down once.
*hostel activities seemed dominated by people who lived there e.g. film night - a group of the regulars chose it instead of seeking a majority.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonty86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Kings Cross
Mad Monkey Backpackers Kings Cross
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#8 of 136 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kings Cross
Hump Backpackers
Hump Backpackers
#35 of 136 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Jackaroo Hostel
#23 of 136 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Cross Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Cross Backpackers

Property: Kings Cross Backpackers
Address: 79 Bayswater Rd | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (Formerly Backpackers Headquarters Hostel)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kings Cross Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Cross Backpackers is a friendly, modern and fully renovated Sydney Hostel. 4, 6, 8, 10, 12 and female only dorms are available. Warning: Kings cross Backpackers is a super friendly small hostel with all guests becoming great friends. This is not a boring 500 bed hospital/jail hostel which all true travellers learn to hate. Kings Cross Backpackers is quickly becoming the top rated and most social hostel in Sydney. With an almost cult following it is mainly filled with repeat visitors. Unfortunately most guests cry when they leave. All rates include free breakfast, free WIFI, free cable TV, free nights out and access to a beautiful rooftop garden with a panty dropping view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kings Cross Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing