We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kings Cross Backpackers
Ranked #47 of 150 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

No lights in the showers. No lights in the room- instead we had a uv light. Squeakiest bed I've ever slept in. No stairs to the top bunk- just get there yourself. Really bad water pressure in the showers which run hot and cold continuously. Road works immediately outside the window four days straight. Cockroaches in the 'living area'. The people living here are either off their face on drugs or talking about where they can get drugs. Worst hostel experience of my life.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

Awful hostel! Cant think of one good thin to say about it! Cockroach in the kitchen, dirty linen, disgusting shower rooms...the 12bed dorm was so dirty, couldn't see the floor! Had booked 2 nights but definitely can't handle the second night

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This hostel has a fabulous location in the midst of all the bars and clubs and a short walk to downtown Sydney to see the sights, however; its pretty freaking dirty. They do include breakfast of cereal and toasts every morning along with free dinners (usually of the bbq variety) 3 nights a week. But if you are into partying and don't mind the smell then you're in the right place. While we were here people were partying loud and obnoxiously every night into the early hours of the morning. Most of them were completely belligerent with no regard for anyone else. We were woken up by screaming partyiers every single night and I dont know what reception was doing but they made almost the entire hostel switch rooms one night for no apparent reason saying there was "booking issues" but that made no sense. Overall it seemed pretty un-organized but definitely a good place to party, again if you dont mind the mess.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wackytabacky09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I was able to rendezvous with my boyfriend who had been travelling in AU while I went to NZ. I found the Kings Cross Backpackers excellent. Like the Rapahoe Bay one in NZ this place had lots of people who were easy to get along with, wanted to have fun and keen to explore the cross, shop down William Street, look around heritage buildings and drink at local cafes. The only negative was that cockroaches scare me a bit, but the place was clean and the owners very friendly and obliging. Given the low cost I think it was very good value.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanje_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Listening to the positive reviews on here really sets you up for a fall.

To start with the good points the hostel has a good common area with lots of films to choose from and is in a good location if you like to go out. It is also cheaper than other options.

The hostel is filthy. The cleaners are backpackers who are all hungover so only really seem to do the bare minimum, for example we were in room 4 where a cup of tea had gone mouldy and it hadn't been moved by the time we left, and there was so much clutter in there from longtermers you couldn't see the floor. The bathrooms were poor quality and when the only light bulb in there went out it was never replaced so you had to take a torch to the bathroom as it was pitch black.

Cockroaches were crawling everywhere, and when we raised this to a member of staff she laughed and said 'yeh you get them'. Now I understand this is a hot country and you do get them but this place was filthy so it attracted more than normal and to be honest I have been in plenty of hostels in hot countries that didn't have them crawling around in the kitchen.

I have read on here that the hostel is cliquey, although a hostel can't help the guests that it gets but we tried multiple times to talk to the guests, I think only one responded with a smile, the rest were too busy partying. They also had no respect for anyone who may be asleep, many times we felt like we were intruding on someone else's student house.

This hostel made our first few nights in sydney a misery, we didn't feel like we could go back there as you were made to feel so uncomfortable!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank VickiM1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The hostel is very dirty, there were lots of cockroaches both in the dorms and the kitchen. The kitchen was small and it would be difficult to cook at peak times.

At check out we were asked to bring the bed sheets down which meant the staff didn't actually have to go to the rooms and clean it meaning there was a huge build up of rubbish and clutter e.g. There was a jar of masala sauce under my bed along with some old shoes, sunglasses and general rubbish.

The bathrooms were terrible. Two showers, two toilets and one sink on each floor. The two showers had a see through divider giving no privacy.

The worst thing about this hostel is the atmosphere.It is incredibly cliquey and we found it very difficult to talk to people. It seems like the long termers run the hostel, they take over the dinning area when ever they feel like going out making it impossible to cook. At movie night it was discussed between themselves what would be watched. No one seemed interested in meeting new people because they had already formed their group.

All in all, we felt extremely uncomfortable. It felt like we were staying in someone's house uninvited and we were miserable every time we had to go into the hostel.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sebastian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

If you're backpacking to have fun, this is the place. The people who are staying here all seem to genuinely want to meet people/have a great time in Sydney. And yh, the roof top parties are awesome!!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank Pakyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#8 of 150 in Sydney
305 reviews
Summer House Backpackers
#14 of 150 in Sydney
122 reviews
Kings Cross
Hump Backpackers
Hump Backpackers
#46 of 150 in Sydney
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zing Backpackers
#37 of 150 in Sydney
136 reviews
Maze Backpackers
#21 of 150 in Sydney
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Cross Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Cross Backpackers

Address: 79 Bayswater Rd | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (Formerly Backpackers Headquarters Hostel)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 150 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: £17 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kings Cross Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Cross Backpackers is a friendly, modern and fully renovated Sydney Hostel. 4, 6, 8, 10, 12 and female only dorms are available. Warning: Kings cross Backpackers is a super friendly small hostel with all guests becoming great friends. This is not a boring 500 bed hospital/jail hostel which all true travellers learn to hate. Kings Cross Backpackers is quickly becoming the top rated and most social hostel in Sydney. With an almost cult following it is mainly filled with repeat visitors. Unfortunately most guests cry when they leave. All rates include free breakfast, free WIFI, free cable TV, free nights out and access to a beautiful rooftop garden with a panty dropping view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Kings Cross Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing