We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people, Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Parrot Backpackers
Ranked #7 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great people, Great stay!”
Reviewed 4 March 2011

The hostel itself was nice and homey. I especially liked the staff who were VERY friendly and helpful with anything you needed.
It was generally clean, and couldn't really complain too much about that. I had no issues with the bed or the room I was in. All-in-all, a great experience and highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djagula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    53
    21
    7
    6
See reviews for
2
12
186
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

Ive stayed at the Blue Parrot a few times and it combines a nice hostel, Great atmosphere and run by the best Cypriot family to make it my number 1 hostel in Oz, look no further get yourself booked in. xxxx

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micky197705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

The Blue Parrot Backpackers is located in Potts Point, one of the most expensive areas of Sydney, but is only a few minutes walk from the nightlight of Kings Cross.

This hostel is one of the most sociable I have stayed in and has a very relaxed and friendly atmosphere. During my stay I stopped in two rooms, one of which was much brighter and nicer than the other, so it would be worth asking to view before paying.

Free internet is reliable, ample fridge space is available and the hostel itself is very secure.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank britingermany789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

After 6 months of traveling on West Coast, Centre, East Coast of Australia - Blue Parrot was my last backpackers before the end of my OZ-trip. I can only recommend staying there. Very friendly staff, clean rooms, bathroom and kitchen. Staying at Blue Parrot is like being part of a family. The city centre is within walking distance and since the hostel is located in Kings Cross - Party people will be happy. Hav fun and enjoy Sydney staying in Blue Parrot! 8-)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misterpat15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We stayed at this hostel for 3 nights in a shared dorm room. The room was very clean and the linen nice. No bedbugs etc here. The bathrooms were another story, I only took 1 shower and made it quick. They are showing their age and need renovation. The front desk staff were excellent at giving directions on what to see in do in Sydney, that's the best part of the hostel. Common room was full of people who were not particularly friendly or talkative. I agree with a previous reviewer about the attitude that they 'own' the place. I would definitely not go back as I did find this hostel to be pricey, even for Sydney. The location is about a 20 minute walk to the opera house which is great.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skittles_2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novato, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

I stayed at the Blue Parrot for a very long time. I just loved it there. I originally check in for three days, and could never get myself to move on. I ended up staying there for four months the first time. But I was not the only one like this. Everybody ended up staying much longer than intended. Its much cleaner than other hostels. And so easy to meet people. Everybody is very friendly, and would all cook together, go out together, and just hang out if you want. The common room is also very nice, with three sofas, and a very nice flat screen. Free internet is also provided, provided that all the guests respecte the rules set by the hostel. I would deffinately recomed anybody interested in meeting a lot of really great people to stay here, especially single travelers.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica32797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

This is not a big hostel,only a small amount of rooms which are packed with bunk beds. There were only a few bathrooms, so there was quite often a queue. It was a busy hostel full of mostly working travellers who tend to feel like they own the place... Apart from that the owners were friendly.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiltonj87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 179 in Sydney
1,232 reviews
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 140 in Sydney
747 reviews
Inner West
Wake Up! Sydney
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 140 in Sydney
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Sydney Harbour YHA
Sydney Harbour YHA
#2 of 140 in Sydney
1,056 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#8 of 140 in Sydney
407 reviews
Sydney Central YHA
#9 of 140 in Sydney
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Parrot Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Parrot Backpackers

Property: Blue Parrot Backpackers
Address: 87 Macleay St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Parrot Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Parrot Backpackers is located in the most cosmopolitan part of inner Sydney City (akin to Soho in London and East Village in NYC) and is only minutes walk from the heart of the city, offering vibrant nightlife, clubbing, trendy cafes, bars, restaurants and all the tourist attractions. A friendly hostel run by sisters Effie and Sasha, known for its social atmosphere and warm welcoming staff where you can easily meet other travellers, especially if you're travelling solo. Guests can relax in the large outdoor courtyard or the indoor lounge area, the perfect places to socialise. Blue Parrot is 5 minutes walk from Kings Cross train station. The City Centre, Royal Botanic Gardens, the Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge are less than 20 minutes walk away. To make your travels easier reception can organise exciting day trips to the Blue Mountains, Surfing lessons, Skydiving, Whale watching, Wine tasting and more .... AGE RESTRICTION: Adults only 18-35 years old in dormitory rooms. ___________________________________________________________ PROPERTY FACILITIES: FREE Wi-Fi ! Available in all areas and is free of charge. Close to Train Station - Courtyard - BBQ - Tour desk - Luggage storage - Lounge/TV - DVD - In-house movies - Playstation - Wii - Photocopying/Scan - Computers - Kitchen - Laundry - Non-smoking rooms - Designated smoking area - Airport Shuttle bus (surcharge) Popular with solo travellers! Best price guaranteed! No booking fees! No deposit! Additional Information about Blue Parrot Backpackers Price Range: $39 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Bed) Number of rooms: 8 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Blue Parrot Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Parrot Backpackers Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing